We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“19th Anniversary”
Review of The French Room - CLOSED

The French Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$95
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown Dallas
Cross street: Akard
Transit: DART and DART Light Rail (Akard Street Station)
Description: Editors at Bon Appetit, Gourmet, Travel & Leisure, Conde Nast Traveler , and Fodor's have consistently included The French Room on their annual lists of superlative restaurants. The Zagat Survey of America's Top Restaurants ranks the dining room No. 1 for food, decor, and service, and it's only one of nine restaurants in the United States to have achieved a near-perfect food score. Texas Monthly and D Magazine list The French Room among the best restaurants in Dallas. It is now the only dining room in Texas to hold the AAA Five Diamond Award.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First, Carlos was excellent. He talked to us about our marriage and his marriage....just very personable. The service was certainly 5 star.

The meal was excellent. However, we did have to question the crab cake. It was almost like gelatin. We will be going back to Lawry's for the best crab cakes. We also like Old Warsaw for some of the most awesome escargot which was not an option at the French Room.

Overall, service was absolutely 5 star, food selection was a tad more limited then we would have preferred. However, we would go back again for the excellent experience.

Thanks!!!!!

Thank carrbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

You are most welcome.

Carlos was so pleased to read that you are impressed with his service. This means so much to all of our staff.

Thank you for your gracious and constructive critique of the food. Rest assured, it was shared with our executive chef. The menu changes with the seasons.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 326 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's formal, romantic and transports you to a more genteel time and place. The service, the food, it is all simply perfect. After a wonderful meal, they send you home with a tasty treat for breakfast. We've been several times and it is consistently good; I can't say that I have tasted everything on the menu; I can say that even in larger groups everyone is delighted. It's a rare gem of a restaurant for those who like to make an evening special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank watchfulone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

What a charming review.

Thank you for capturing the essence of The French Room and its consistency, which is rare in restaurants today (as you know).

We are delighted that our staff impresses you, time after time.

Cordially,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The atomosphere in this restaurant is really beautiful and elegant. The service is perfect and the food is excellent. The restaurant is expensive, but it is worth it for the service and the ambiance. It is one of the few places left where men still have to wear a jacket. Once you step into the Adolphus Hotel you will automatically feel the atmosphere which is so lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cornerdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

You are most kind.

We appreciate your praise for both The French Room and The Adolphus.

Thank you, too, for understanding our restaurant dress code, which virtually all of our guests embrace enthusiastically.

Warmest regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had dinner there for the first time, in March 2014, having lived in the DFW metroplex for 14 years. All I can say is: elegant style, impeccable service and delicious food - expensive but priced reasonably for what you get. For that very special occasion, The French Room will not disappoint.

1  Thank Serioustraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your compliments and high praise.

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers.

All the best,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Solid fancy French fare but nothing mind-blowing except the service. Scallop appetizer was delicious, entrée of Branzini a large portion and very good, white chocolate soufflé (although again, huge) was bland and a bit of a letdown. I loved the amuse bouche, bread basket and palate cleanser. $80 three-course menu is plenty of food and a good value if you consider the service and overall experience. (But my friend's cup of decaf was $6, ouch.) My birthday was acknowledged several times and I was presented with the complimentary chocolates and macaroon on a birthday plate with a candle at the end of the night. Service was what you expect from 5-star dining and I loved the elegant, old-school décor.

The overall evening was wonderful, but my food was just very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FebTwoThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at The French Room, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to share your opinion. Your compliments and criticisms are both invaluable in helping to guide the restaurant.

Thank you for choosing The French Room for your birthday celebration. It is an honor to be part of these ceremonies of life.

Wishing you every happiness,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing