We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So we never forget...”

Dallas Holocaust Museum
Ranked #23 of 239 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Dallas Holocaust Museum/Center for Education and Tolerance offers a core exhibit that exposes three key events that occurred on "One Day During the Holocaust". A special travelling exhibit, video graphed eyewitness testimonies of survivors, and artifacts offer visitors a well-rounded understanding of this horrific part of world history. Visitors leave the Museum with answers to the question, how could this happen? Due to the somber topic and graphic historical photographs in the exhibits, the Museum is not recommended for children under the age of 10. However, parents should note that this Museum hosts more than 30,000 school children each year. The audio guided tour teaches the differences between bystander and Upstander behavior and the value of choices.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So we never forget...”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Very well done. Somewhat interactive and easily understandable by younger people. Went with a school one time and got to listen to a survivor. Excellent experience.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PonyMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    116
    41
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never forget”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Brilliant, simple exhibits that were easy enough for non-experts to understand but still thorough.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's An Experience.”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I visited along with my family and we all enjoyed it and cried. We are given a device so that we can just punch in the photo number and it describes it. The museum is based on one day in the Holocaust. We truly were moved by the experience. We did meet a survivior and had first hand information. There is a small gift shop which sells video and books. Very inexpensive

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank botis626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Very Moving Experience”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The exhibit is very moving and educational. Something to vist more than once to get all of the details. Definitely worth seeing and experiencing.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2011glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

but not great. Small venue, which looks at the events of the Holocaust through one day. Having been to some of the camps in Poland as well as the US National Holocaust Museum in Washington D.C., this museum while respective and well put together doesn't really examine the events in enough detail. About a half hour is sufficient to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttaylo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dallas Holocaust Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing