We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Turkish food !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Istanbul - CLOSED

Cafe Istanbul
Price range: US$12 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Inwood Rd.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Turkish food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Zero complaints. This place is fantastic. Had the humus to start, then a salmon sandwich that was absolutely perfect. Then finished up with the Pear Delight dessert and a Turkish coffee. The waitstaff was super friendly and the atmosphere is very authentic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenJMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We live close to the cafe and we tried it for the first time last week. Wonderful food and service. The hummus and falafel were the best I have had in Dallas. If you have not tried it do yourself a favor, go today!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natshelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
190 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Taste of Turkey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I don't think there are many Turkish restaurants in the area and this is good. There are some similarities with other Middle Eastern foods such as dolmas and hummus but the Turkish variety is it's own. Try the kebabs, they are really nice!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We visited this restaurant with some friends. We started out with the appetizer platter that had the dolma, babaganoush, humus, and tabouleh. For dinner we had the Istanbul donar, falafel, lamb chops, and the chicken kebobs. For dessert, we had the Turkish flan, baklovah, stuffed apricots, and Turkish coffee. Everything was freshly prepared and delicious. We would definitely go back.

That being said, the waiter we had was not good at all. He did not know the dishes, spices, etc. He forgot to bring out my wife's falafel, and when dessert came out, the coffees were not served until we were almost finished. We asked if he was new and he had been there a while. What woudl bring us back is the way we saw the others servers working.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B26Marauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Turkish Food at it's Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We have been enjoying Cafe Istanbul for more than 20 years in Inwood Village-and now on Legacy in Palano. The food is so fresh and so good for you but better yet, delicious! Start with a selection of appetizers, humus, dolmas and babaganoush and their out-of- this world bread and continue with kababs of lamb, beef, chicken or shrimp with fluffy rice pilaf and fresh vegetables. They have pizza & sandwiches...and did I mention BELLY-DANCERS that really give a good show? Great for the whole family or a speical evening!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chichicastenango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing