We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy food.”
Review of Cafe Istanbul - CLOSED

Cafe Istanbul
Price range: US$12 - US$20
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Inwood Rd.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greasy food.”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I'm originally from the Mediterranean area and I'm familiar with what Turkish food should taste like. What we had in Café Istanbul is not it! We shared a platter of different BBQ meats (chicken, beef, lamb), with white rice. Everything was soaked in grease. The only thing I could eat was the chicken breast skewer. My husband felt sick all night (heartburn).
The owner/manager was very unpleasant. We asked to see the menu before sitting down and he acted like it was a big bother. We will not recommend this place. The Rise n 1 (across the street) is a better option with a better service.
Oh, and it is OVERPRICED.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibtissem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Turkish food !”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Zero complaints. This place is fantastic. Had the humus to start, then a salmon sandwich that was absolutely perfect. Then finished up with the Pear Delight dessert and a Turkish coffee. The waitstaff was super friendly and the atmosphere is very authentic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenJMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We live close to the cafe and we tried it for the first time last week. Wonderful food and service. The hummus and falafel were the best I have had in Dallas. If you have not tried it do yourself a favor, go today!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natshelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
195 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Taste of Turkey!”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I don't think there are many Turkish restaurants in the area and this is good. There are some similarities with other Middle Eastern foods such as dolmas and hummus but the Turkish variety is it's own. Try the kebabs, they are really nice!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place and Great Location”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We visited this restaurant with some friends. We started out with the appetizer platter that had the dolma, babaganoush, humus, and tabouleh. For dinner we had the Istanbul donar, falafel, lamb chops, and the chicken kebobs. For dessert, we had the Turkish flan, baklovah, stuffed apricots, and Turkish coffee. Everything was freshly prepared and delicious. We would definitely go back.

That being said, the waiter we had was not good at all. He did not know the dishes, spices, etc. He forgot to bring out my wife's falafel, and when dessert came out, the coffees were not served until we were almost finished. We asked if he was new and he had been there a while. What woudl bring us back is the way we saw the others servers working.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B26Marauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Istanbul also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing