We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for drinks and appetizers”
Review of Cafe Istanbul - CLOSED

Cafe Istanbul
Price range: US$12 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Inwood Rd.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Went for drinks and appetizers”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went on a Friday afternoon and had drinks and delicious appetizers. I'm not sure how much everything was, because I arrived late and I didn't pay the bill. The server was attentive and quick to refill our empty wine glasses. Very accommodating to my 3-year-old son.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margieandbrian2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love it”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Do not miss this restaurant. Unique flavors in every course. Start with an appetizer sampler, move to a salad and don't miss the lamb. Make surf to have the bread. Everything is fresh. The staff is glad to explain any food you don't understand, so no need to be intimidated. Family, date, business -- good for all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RjbGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you are looking for the true Mediterranean restaurant experience with great food and excellent service, you will want to try Cafe Istanbul. We sat outside with friends in beautiful weather and were still able to enjoy the belly dancing. A very fun place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food, atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Really great atmosphere, food, and service. I would definitely recommend to those looking for quality Mediterranean/Turkish

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graimbergweg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greasy food.”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I'm originally from the Mediterranean area and I'm familiar with what Turkish food should taste like. What we had in Café Istanbul is not it! We shared a platter of different BBQ meats (chicken, beef, lamb), with white rice. Everything was soaked in grease. The only thing I could eat was the chicken breast skewer. My husband felt sick all night (heartburn).
The owner/manager was very unpleasant. We asked to see the menu before sitting down and he acted like it was a big bother. We will not recommend this place. The Rise n 1 (across the street) is a better option with a better service.
Oh, and it is OVERPRICED.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibtissem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Istanbul also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing