We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Downtown Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #17 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fairmont. Great experience, Nice rooms, Very Friendly Staff, Location was within ten minutes to different areas of town. We will stay there again. Be prepared to valet park at $25 per night.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorbackgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    559
    200
    88
    50
See reviews for
267
444
87
803
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willis, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at the Fairmont for a friend’s wedding. We really enjoyed the stay. To put the review in proper perspective, we were really just looking for a nice relaxing weekend. We caught a movie, enjoyed room service and just enjoyed the break from the proverbial "hustle and bustle" of our typical days.

Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. We opted for the "Romantic Option", rose petals, champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. When we checked-in, we found the room just as requested and were treated to a beautiful sunset.

We went ahead and used the valet (recommended due to the location) and had several trips in/out of the hotel. They always had the car ready and opened/closed the door for my wife (I appreciated this). Tony even made sure we buckled up.

We used room service a few times and found them to be very prompt and kind, no matter how late. We also found the food to be very good. My wife was impressed with the pizza.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a "City View"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

A long time mainstay of convention business and businessmen for downtown Dallas, the Fairmont Dallas has undergone a massive renovation and shines like a new penny. (Or should I say gold coin since this is Dallas?!) The bar is beautiful with lots of buzz. Rooms are large with comfortable beds and incredible views. Staff is over the top friendly despite being the go to hotel for every weekend event in Dallas. Prices for weekend stays are ridiculously affordable.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky8319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I have been here before, in fact joined the President's Club. This trip will be my last at the Fairmont. To make the story short- checked in at 2:00pm. There was a dog barking continuously in a room down the hall. At 4:00 we told the manager and was told he would check it out. This poor dog barked non-stop. We left for dinner at 7:00 and still barking. Came back from dinner at 11:00pm, still barking. Whoever owned this poor dog should be arrested for animal abuse. We asked to change our room. So at 11:30pm we packed up and moved to another floor. I don't know what went on after that but that was over 9 hours of torture for that poor dog. The manager was not taking care of this. And why should WE have to ask to move our room? The dog and it's owner should have been moved! The management should have contacted the owner! Their pet policy is- the pet is not to be unattended. We have dogs and I have no problem with dogs staying in the hotel but this was handled so poorly. I'm sure the carpet looked a little different when housekeeping came to clean the next day!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. Per hotel policy, pets cannot be left alone in guest rooms. It is my understanding that our management team attempted to reach the pet owner but was unable to make contact. We regret that the situation was not addressed in a timelier manner. I have shared your experience with our hotel leadership team to ensure that these issues are properly addressed, and again we truly apologize for your experience. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Super nice. Clean, and a great view. Right in the heart of everything. The best part was the doorman. He was super nice.

Parking? $25 PER NIGHT! Really? The very first day they just took my car and never mentioned the fee. I am already paying a pretty penny for a stay here, $25 per night is stupid.

All in all, I didn't let it ruin my stay.

Room Tip: Get something high!! We were on the 22nd floor and loved the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you had the chance to experience our city-center property and that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that our hotel colleagues provided warm service. I would like to kindly note that our valet parking is priced competitively with hotels in the downtown area; however we regret that this pricing did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very nice hotel in the heart of Downtown Dallas. Take the trolley up to Mckinney Avenue to great restaurants or bars. We stayed here for a little staycation for our anniversary. The room was very nice with a great view from our window looking out into downtown Dallas. We were able to book a discounted rate through a travel site which made this a great value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDPatterson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are truly delighted that you chose The Fairmont Dallas for your special anniversary staycation. As our hotel is located in the heart of the Dallas Arts District, we are ideally located to explore restaurants, nightlife and culture. As you mentioned, the McKinney Avenue trolley is a great way to explore surrounding areas including Uptown Dallas and West Village, and it is free to ride. I am pleased that your guest room was to your liking and that you enjoyed the views of downtown Dallas. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hotel di ottimo livello, sia per il personale che per il cibo. Cortesi e sempre disponibili verso le esigenze dei clienti. Excellent hotel and food, allowing for a great time for the whole family, inlcuding a 2-years old baby. GREAT!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LivioLamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,965 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#20 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing