We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved the Fairmont” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #17 of 196 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Loved the Fairmont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for 2 nights. The location was fantastic and we found it easy to walk to all of Dallas' downtown attractions from her (6th floor museum, pioneer plaza, west end, etc.). More importantly we felt safe walking in the vicinity of the hotel at night which is something we hadn't felt at other locations in Dallas. The hotel itself was beautiful and felt very luxurious. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnalovescheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    544
    194
    88
    51
See reviews for
264
435
85
789
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My fiance and I were in Dallas for her work conference held at the Fairmont. I had high expectations based on the reviews I read and research that I did before arriving. I am happy to say that not only were my expectations met, they were exceeded from the moment we checked in until we checked out.

We arrived around noon to check in and the woman at the check-in desk informed us that since they were still cleaning the rooms, our king bed room wasn't available at that time. She gave us the option of waiting or she could assign us a queen sized bed room. We decided to wait for the king and she took our cell number and promised to call as soon as the room was ready but then said "Let me check one more time" and found us a king room. She did all of this with a smile on her face and a great attitude. She also gave directions to local attractions and places to eat and was more than happy to answer our many questions.

We arrived at the room, which was nestled in the corner of the hallway, and found the room to be clean and spacious. The bathroom was good sized but only one sink but since my fiance and I were on different schedules, that wasn't a problem for us, though it might be for other couples. A desk with two chairs was convenient as both of us brought our laptops and needed to work at the same time. A mini bar refrigerator and plamsa HD TV rounded out the room.

Heading out to lunch, we encountered a doorman/bell hop that asked us if we needed help. That was the theme of our stay: all employees were pleasent extremely willing to help. He directed us to a great BBQ place and gave us tips for getting around Dallas.

Overall, our stay was great. The bed was comfy, housekeeping did an excellent job keeping the room clean. The staff was helpful and available.

The only complaint I have is that the prices for drinks at the gift shop were outrageous. Ten dollars for a water and soda. The drinks at the bar were pricey too but I expected that. However, those are minor complaints and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

The hotel is close to the DART rail system, the West End district, the Kennedy Assassination site, American Airlines Arena and the Dallas Art Museum. There are several restaurants within walking distance as well so it is very centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeZimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ny, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two days while in Dallas for business. As a President's Club member I was given the option to upgrade to a suite for a nominal fee, which I happily accepted. Also, anyone who is a President's Club member (free to enroll) receives free in-room internet access--so it is very worthwhile to sign up! The room was clean and spacious, on a high floor overlooking downtown. Since I was on a Gold floor, I had access to the Gold Lounge where I was able to have breakfast as well as light snacks, and coffee and other beverages throughout my stay. This was one of the most comfortable and more high-end stays I have had while traveling on business. I will certainly be returning to Dallas and look forward to staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qnstrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

The Fairmont is an elegant hotel with friendly and helpful, staff. The rooms are spacious and have extremely comfortable beds. There is a very nice terrace with swimming pool, shady seating areas and a herb garden - this was the highlight of the hotel for me - the perfect place to relax.
The hotel is situated in the Downtown area of Dallas and is convenient for the Dart train and the McKinney Trolley - making visiting different areas of the city easy. The historic area and arts district are in easy walking distance - including the JFK museum which is well worth a visit.
The hotel breakfast was quite expensive but the YMCA round the corner did a good burrito, freshly squeezed juice and delicious yoghurt smoothies. There is also a Starbucks on the corner of the hotel.
There are few shops and cafes nearby because of the nature of the business area and this was the only slight downside to our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

A friendly staff greeted us. The hotels was super clean and in a prime location of Dallas. Shopping and attractions were near the hotel and good food was all around. Soft pillows and a soft bed as well. I highly recommend The Fairmont Hotel. Price paid for 1 evening $130

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank normychu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Great personal service and friendly staff. I would gladly come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

The hotel was very nice! It had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. The only problem with this hotel was the waiting staff at the lounge, which I was basically forced to eat at due to lack of restaurants in the area. Every single time I ate at the restaurant, the wait staff did not get my order right. The people at the front desk were not really on top of things either. As we were to have a special group rate for our business conference. When we checked in they didn't even know what we were talking about. It was a lovely hotel but don't expect anyone who works there to know anything and order the simplest food that couldn't be screw up. Although they did screw up a hamburger and fries....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffanyls84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,744 reviews
The Adolphus
#16 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 196 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#19 of 196 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing