We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very attentive staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #17 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, very attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

I've stayed here numerous times, and I must say I've never been disappointed in the staff. They are well trained, courteous, and prompt. The hotel is always clean and well organized, and the food is excellent. The only thing that I think would improve it would be some updating, as some of the rooms are looking a little tired.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDallas, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I am thrilled to hear that on all of your visits you have received excellent service from our staff. We are absolutely dedicated to providing our guests with experiences that are authentically local and engaging service.
While there are no plans in the immediate future for renovations, we are continually making improvements to the property.

Thank you again and on behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    559
    200
    88
    50
See reviews for
267
444
87
803
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simmesport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed here for a short weekend getaway and this was by far the best hotel that I've been too..The service was 2nd to none..Every aspect of this hotel is great from the beds to the bar!! Its location is also great..It is located next to many of Dallas's attractions..(Mckinney Ave., Historic West End, American Airlines Arena).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bralossus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

The accomodations were lovely and the beds were especially comfortable. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Also, the hotel's restaurant was wonderrful!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieTravelsAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I went to Dallas this past July for business. The Fairmont was highly recommended. The hotel was great but a little outdated. The rooms could use some updating. I was able to spend some time by the pool which was great. The location of the hotel was perfect. A few steps from the hotel is an M-line stop. The M-Line is a free trolley service. I used it almost everyday to go to uptown. The service at the hotel was great. The only thing that I didn't really like about the hotel was its fancy restaurant. The food wasn't that great and it was very pricey. Overall when I go back to Dallas I am going to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenmarley36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Hotel staff leaves room service carts in the hallways overnight, so I guess it should be no surprise when a Texas-sized roach ran into my bathroom. Pretty grossed out and couldn't sleep that night. Location is convenient but cleanliness is more important.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnalovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontDallas, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced at the hotel. What you experienced is not representative of our property; we take this feedback very seriously and have addressed the issue with our housekeeping manager as well as the In-Room Dining staff. Both teams are aware of the situation and will be sure to ensure this does not happen in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We strive to provide service that excels guest expectations and will work hard to make sure that is exactly what we deliver.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for 2 nights. The location was fantastic and we found it easy to walk to all of Dallas' downtown attractions from her (6th floor museum, pioneer plaza, west end, etc.). More importantly we felt safe walking in the vicinity of the hotel at night which is something we hadn't felt at other locations in Dallas. The hotel itself was beautiful and felt very luxurious. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnalovescheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

My fiance and I were in Dallas for her work conference held at the Fairmont. I had high expectations based on the reviews I read and research that I did before arriving. I am happy to say that not only were my expectations met, they were exceeded from the moment we checked in until we checked out.

We arrived around noon to check in and the woman at the check-in desk informed us that since they were still cleaning the rooms, our king bed room wasn't available at that time. She gave us the option of waiting or she could assign us a queen sized bed room. We decided to wait for the king and she took our cell number and promised to call as soon as the room was ready but then said "Let me check one more time" and found us a king room. She did all of this with a smile on her face and a great attitude. She also gave directions to local attractions and places to eat and was more than happy to answer our many questions.

We arrived at the room, which was nestled in the corner of the hallway, and found the room to be clean and spacious. The bathroom was good sized but only one sink but since my fiance and I were on different schedules, that wasn't a problem for us, though it might be for other couples. A desk with two chairs was convenient as both of us brought our laptops and needed to work at the same time. A mini bar refrigerator and plamsa HD TV rounded out the room.

Heading out to lunch, we encountered a doorman/bell hop that asked us if we needed help. That was the theme of our stay: all employees were pleasent extremely willing to help. He directed us to a great BBQ place and gave us tips for getting around Dallas.

Overall, our stay was great. The bed was comfy, housekeeping did an excellent job keeping the room clean. The staff was helpful and available.

The only complaint I have is that the prices for drinks at the gift shop were outrageous. Ten dollars for a water and soda. The drinks at the bar were pricey too but I expected that. However, those are minor complaints and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

The hotel is close to the DART rail system, the West End district, the Kennedy Assassination site, American Airlines Arena and the Dallas Art Museum. There are several restaurants within walking distance as well so it is very centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeZimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,950 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
The Adolphus
#16 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing