We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less Enthusiastic on My Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria
Ranked #59 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Less Enthusiastic on My Second Visit”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel still is way above average. But, when you check in at midnight, you want to go to sleep. First, my room key didn't work. Next the air conditioner was struggling to cool the room.

But the main irritant, last visit and this, was the lack of any electrical outlets near the bed. Actually, the outlet is located squarely behind the bed. As before, in order to plug in my CPAP, I had to pull the base of the bed away from the wall, crawl over to the middle of the bed, unplug the alarm clock, plug in my cord, reposition the bed, remove the down comforter that is hardly needed in a room that is not cool in Dallas in July, and then remind myself that my plan was to get some sleep.

Then, like some sort of wake-up call, the A/C shuts off automatically around 8:00 am.

Breakfast was great and the staff was helpful. Getting to the hotel still is a bit like driving through a war zone, but they can't help the road construction.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny V, Manager at Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Tim D,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review. I am happy to hear our staff is friendly and helpful and that you chose our hotel for your visit. I apologize for the electrical outlets, we do offer alternatives at the front desk. We provide the comforters in the room to ensure we are catering for all sorts of sleepers as some of our guests enjoy a more snug sleep!

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you make your way back to Dallas I hope that you will again choose our hotel, and if you want to reach out to me prior to your stay I will personally ensure the success of your visit.

Sincerely,

Manny Valadez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    221
    102
    41
    27
See reviews for
119
112
44
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was nice and comfy, and as a bonus I had a view of amazing fireworks from my room. The beds were nice and clean as was the bathroom.

Great workout facility. Pool looked nice but didn't use it.
Food was good, service kind of slow even though the bar wasn't busy.

Beware of the far left elevator. I got in it and it shot right up very fast to the top floor even though I had pressed my floor. It was scary so needless to say I walked down from 15-6. Mentioned it to the front desk in the Am and he's said oh ya it should be blocked off.. Oops guess they need to put a sign up.

Overall a fine comfy stay on July 4.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny V, Manager at Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Luluflies,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review. I wanted to take a moment to apologize for the problems that you experienced during your stay. I also apologize that the elevators were not working, we are working closely with our elevator company to correct issue promptly. I am happy to hear the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed was comfortable and that the rooms were clean.

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you make your way back to Dallas I hope that you will again choose our hotel, and if you want to reach out to me prior to your stay I will personally ensure the success of your visit.

Sincerely,

Manny Valadez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothschild, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I simply stayed here because the conference I was attending was at the hotel. I was not overly impressed. At first I got the run around on room prices and was hoping to get the rate my conference was offering. They could only guarantee that for the 1st night and then the rest of my stay I had to pay their, which went up by more than $150/night. I hesitated and booked the room. I then went to an online booking site and found rates much cheaper and ended up cancelling my initial reservation and using the online booking rate instead and saved more than $250 for my stay. I noticed as I was checking in and at other times when I used the front desk, they were giving guests that same run around.

The room was satisfactory; I was to have a king and they gave me a queen. I had been going round and round with them on my reservations before even getting to Dallas, and by then I was sick of fighting. I just kept the queen room. The bathroom was quite small; had to shut the door to even sit on the toilet. I was on the freeway side on the 7th floor and it was noisy at night. I thought being the last room in the hall next to the ice machine was going to be noisy, but the freeway noise was much worse.

The pool area was okay; but it is on the other side of the fence of the parking lot for the apartment complex next door and again, the freeway is right there as well. I found it a little quieter in the evening to take a book and do some reading. It was always clean at least.

Since breakfast was included with my room, I did have breakfast one morning, which was okay. The selection was large and I'm glad I was paying $14 for this. If you chose to not have your room cleaned daily, you received a $5 voucher to use in the small bar/restaurant area. This came in handy for my last evening's meal.

The hotel itself is not close too much. They say there is a concierge on their website, but I never saw on at the desk. I asked about a tour of Dallas and the staff simply did a Google search (I done a TripAdvisor search of tours before leaving for Dallas and was glad I had done so!); I was hoping someone would have a personal recommendation. A cab downtown costs $35-40 one way. They do have a shuttle service that will take you within 3 miles of the hotel and come to pick you up as well. We did this to have dinner over off the Belt Line which has close to 100 different restaurants. The Galleria is a nice mall and has a nice restaurant, the Grill, which is more upscale and pricey, but the food was fantastic!

If I travel to Dallas again, I'd definitely stay downtown as there is more to see and do there. If I were at a conference again, I'd consider a different hotel as there were a couple others in this same area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alecia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny V, Manager at Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Alicia S,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review. I wanted to take a moment to apologize for the problems that you experienced during your stay. I also apologize that the we did not have the group rate available when you arrived and we apologize for the room issues you encountered. I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the Make a Green Choice program. We do offer a shuttle within a 3 mile radius which includes the Galleria Mall, over 150 restaurants, and 3 different movie theaters.

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you make your way back to Dallas I hope that you will again choose our hotel, and if you want to reach out to me prior to your stay I will personally ensure the success of your visit.

Sincerely,

Manny Valadez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were visiting family and found the location perfect for getting to and fro. We visited the Perot Museum, the 6th Floor Depository and the Aquarium in Dallas and also traveled to Mesquite for a rodeo.The construction was a bit scary at first but no real issue once you understood the layout.

The breakfast buffet had an excellent variety of both hot and cold selections plus fresh fruit, good coffee (with "to-go" cups available). The friendly gentleman who greeted us each morning was excellent!

We had a King size room. It was quite comfortable and we had no issues with it. We also did not experience any problems with outside noise - we were on the 7th floor and our stay lasted 5 nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaBPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Beds was Great. The Staff Great. elvators did not work and when they was it was slow. Our room was on the 11 th floor and we had to to take stairs. Everything was extra bottled water in the room was $4.00 dollars. The pool was like swimming in a parking lot and was painted BROWN. It even looked worse than I can make it sound. No Hot Tub. Only place to eat at the hotel was not to be found until the last day I found it and the Breakfast was GREAT and was $14.00 dollars. Never ate there after that because I was checking out at noon that day.
Out of the way Hotel nothing to do but watch the interstate....

Room Tip: go some where closer to downtown
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycled plastic/cans but the hotel is old and they allowed you to have no housekeeping daily and would give you a $5.00 coupon to use in the hotel ONLY
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny V, Manager at Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Marl P,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review. I wanted to take a moment to apologize for the problems that you experienced during your stay. I also apologize that the elevators were not working, we are working closely with our elevator company to correct issue promptly. I am happy to hear the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed was comfortable and that the breakfast was great. We offer one complimentary bottled water and the larger bottle is $4.00, additionally we have complimentary bottle water available at the front desk. Our pool area is brand new, with a beach sand bottom to provide a natural feel for our guests.

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you make your way back to Dallas I hope that you will again choose our hotel, and if you want to reach out to me prior to your stay I will personally ensure the success of your visit.

Sincerely,

Manny Valadez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
755 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. There was a large convention going on but the service was satisfactory.
There were problems with the elevators
The room was comfortable. we were upgraded to a deluxe room.Breakfast came with the room and was ok with lots of choices but no deviation during our stay.
The Club lounge was not really worth the extra cost and food offered was minimal.There was free wine 5-7
Beds were comfortable and AC worked well
The location is right off the expressway and near the Galleria Shopping Center

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny V, Manager at Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Bradyboy2,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review. I wanted to take a moment to apologize for the problems that you experienced during your stay. I also apologize that the elevators were not working, we are working closely with our elevator company to correct issue promptly. The Sheraton Club Lounge has a upgraded continental breakfast with one hot item, a cappuccino machine, soft drinks, and complimentary beer and wine. I am happy to hear the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed was comfortable and that the A/C worked well.

Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you make your way back to Dallas I hope that you will again choose our hotel, and if you want to reach out to me prior to your stay I will personally ensure the success of your visit.

Sincerely,

Manny Valadez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was in a Queen size room which was tiny by all standards. The breakfast room was crowded with kids due to some soccer championship. The shower was not working properly. But still a four star because I was there just for a sleepover using my SPG points and had no expectations. The staff was friendly and the view of the Galleria from my room was a good way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aayushrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny V, Manager at Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Aayushrivastava,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review and using your SPG points to stay with us. I wanted to take a moment to apologize for the problems that you experienced during your stay. I also apologize that you were not pleased with the room size, the shower not working properly, and the breakfast area. We have followed up with our staff to ensure these items are corrected and they do not happen again. We take our statement of service very seriously and although frustrating, thank you for bringing this to our direct attention.

We hope to welcome you back for a much better experience on your next visit to Dallas.

Sincerely,

Manny Valadez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Dallas by the Galleria
0.5 mi away
Hilton Dallas Lincoln Centre
3.1 mi away
The Westin Dallas Park Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas-North
Hyatt Place Dallas-North
#45 of 201 in Dallas
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doubletree Dallas Near the Galleria
0.3 mi away
The Westin Galleria Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria

Property: Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria
Address: 4801 Lyndon B Johnson Fwy, Dallas, TX 75244-6002 (Formerly Sheraton Dallas North Hotel by the Galleria)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dallas
#28 Business Hotel in Dallas
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refreshed after an extensive $17 million renovation, The Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria offers a contemporary space with upgraded amenities and a welcoming design. Located three blocks away from the Galleria Mall, our hotel is surrounded by more than 200 Fortune 500 companies in the heart of the North Dallas business corridor.Warm and comfortable, our guest rooms will make business and leisure travelers feel right at home. Great standard amenities such as High Speed Internet Access, a working desk, and an ergonomic chair will keep you connected to what’s important.After a busy day, you can relieve your stresses with a little exercise or relaxation in the state-of-the-art fitness center and outdoor pool. Or if you’d prefer to explore the city, we offer complimentary transportation to and from nearby locations—including the Galleria Mall, where you’ll find Macy’s, Saks Fifth Avenue, Nordstrom’s, and over 400 specialty shops and boutiques, as well as an indoor skating rink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Dallas Hotel by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing