We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #127 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Nice centrally located hotel near some good restaurants. We arrived at the same time as a few more groups of guests and the staff was very quick to open more lines to minimize the wait. Donna helped me and was very friendly and professional. I was very pleased with the room which overlooked the pool and the Dallas skyline. The a/c was set to 68 but the room stayed at 78 until late in the evening. I guess 98 degree days are a bit much for it to cope with. I called the front desk and was told someone would be right up. Either they forgot or I dozed off because I never heard from them. The next day I shut the drapes when I left and when I returned the temp was closer to 73. Nice sized room with digital wall safe, fridge, microwave, etc. This room also had a sliding door which opened to a small balcony. The door didn't have a lock and I would have been concerned if my small children were traveling with me. Another poster commented on the pool party which has a DJ and extremely loud music. If you want to use the pool with children or wish to sleep between 1-9 on a Sunday you may look elsewhere. Overall it was a good experience and the concierge Joe is great, very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boudreaux519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    293
    267
    134
    129
See reviews for
174
243
110
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Hotel was okay but expected much more for being a Crowne Plaza. The $12 Breakfast Bar was a joke and everything was the same for the 3 days I was there. They did have really good television selection and room stayed cool. Bath amenities were nice but room was worn out and definitely needed some (PM) in the public areas. Also no bellman??????

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Rusty T,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the room condition and with breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Room was spacious and clean (stayed on the 17th floor). Had a double queen bed room overlooking the pool area. Hotel was clean, quiet and with a good location (close to Dealy Plaza, JFK museum). Did not eat the breakfast. Had a small problem with our hair dryer that was quickly fixed by the management. Laundry machines on the 9th floor worked well, although you need a lot of quarters so make sure to get change at the reception because there's none to be found on the 9th floor. Carpets felt a bit dated but I liked the general look of the hotel. Wifi worked great and no problems checking out around noon. Having read some of the other reviews that discussed bug encounters I must say that I did not see a single bug inside the hotel, however the next day walking around the back of the building the large AC outlet facing that street had plenty of cockroaches laying around. I'm no expert but I'm inclined to agree with some previous reviewers, this place might have a bug problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNormands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Swedish-Kristofer,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Management made a choice: allow private pool parties and make more money at the expense of their paying guests. They must figure that they would make more money than what they will lose by turning off existing customers. I know that I will never return to this hotel so they have lost my business, as well as those I can influence through Trip Advisor. Also, as a Platinum member, I am about done with Holiday Inn properties and going forward will put my business travel with another chain. I have had 3 straight poor experiences at Holiday Inn properties, which tells me that corporate management has lost control.

The details of this experience are as follows: This was a family vacation, and we structured our limited time in Dallas to allow for visiting the museums with some planned down-time at the pool. However, they have a private pool party from 2-9 PM on Sunday, so my family and I could not use the facilities. Then on Monday morning, it was closed until 1 PM. So we re-arranged our schedule again and I asked for a late checkout. At first I was told they would charge me an extra $50 for it but then I asked for a manager. He then went out of his way to tell me that they would allow it only because no one else was going to be in the room, not because they felt they owed their guests the use of the facilities.

Again, management made a choice. They lose my business. Hope they got enough drunks on Sunday to make up for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear candl20,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum Elite member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the level of service you have received during your stay that did not meet your expectations. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dallas hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Overall this hotel wasnt bad for the price. The roof pool is pretty nice, the bed was comfortable, & it's in a convenient location.
The A/C in the room was noisy. There's a fire station close by that stays very busy so hopefully you're not a light sleeper. There's a private party at the pool every Sunday from 2 to 8:30. Management says guests are welcome, but the people throwing the party charge you $20. There were a slight few mishaps w/ our room, one being quite significant. However, the manager was a gentleman about it & agreed to upgrade us to a better room; so I wont mention the specifics.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonestar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

We, at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown, appreciate your comments, suggestions, and the fact that you stayed with us. We are currently going back through and touching any reviews that we did not respond to, just to let you, our valued guest know, that we do look at them and appreciate them. We also want all of our guests past, present, and future know that we will address any concerns brought forth, as we attempt to improve our property in every way possible. Thank you all again for your patronage and taking the time to review us here on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Brian Angerer
Front Office Manager
Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I had a terrible experience with this hotel. I arrived at 11:45pm on Saturday 5/18/13. Twice, I took the elevator with all of my baggage only to find that both rooms were already occupied. The first one was full of 5 men playing cards and drinking alcohol. I went back down to the lobby and switched rooms. The second room was dark and a man was inside. The third room that they finally gave me had cockroaches in it and no lock on the sliding door that led directly to the pool deck and open to all guests, meaning I didn’t feel safe. I called downstairs and the facilities person didn’t come up until 2:30am.
I asked for laundry services which I paid for. When I arrived home in Los Angeles I realized that they had not returned my pants. I called the hotel and 2 different employees (Gerald and Billy) promised that they would investigate the situation and call me back. They never did. After a week, I called and spoke with Ashley who also looked into it. She found that the pants were still missing, and offered to pay for a new pair of pants. I sent her a receipt the next day on 5/30, and Ashley replied stating that they had found my pants and would send them to me in addition to reimbursing me for my new pair. After nearly two weeks, I had not heard anything. I called Ashley on 6/10 and she was surprised I hadn’t received anything. After looking into this situation again, she emailed me stating that they would either reimburse me OR send me my old pair of pants, but not both. The only reason I bought a new pair of pants was because they lost my first pair. I was also billed for the laundry services!!! I was very frustrated with their service at which point Ashley stated, “I ‘m no longer going to help you because you’re so upset”. I’m incredibly disappointed in the services provided at this hotel and I would like for someone to get in touch with me. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChubbyFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna G, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear ChubbyFranklin,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have shipped your pants plus $40 to help with the ones you had to buy. I will be trying to contact you in person Friday, June 14. Donna M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Started with them not delivering a roll out until 5 hours later, saturday night. Then around 3 am my room was filled with smoke on the 14th floor. The visual when we looked out was that of a building on fire. Heard no alarms at first, called front desk was told to come to lobby. While evacuating my family we knock on doors to warn other family's becuase we noticed everyone else was asleep. Once arriving to the lobby we were met buy a night club aftermath of drunks and speed cars out of the parking exit. In an attempt to get information and instruction, over the sound of partying people and firetrucks. I find a security guard seemingly confused as I am, instead of taking charge of the scene he pursues to get offended by my question of WTF. I think both your security that night was understaffed and/or undertrained. I was then threatened with arrest, and after I told him he could @ Him self he had no legal grounds, then he threatened eviction I said ok sat down to wait my turn to speak with the manager on duty (michael). Sometime between time Michael concluding with Mrs. Longoria, the guard decided his threats may have been misguided and said we would be allowed stay.....wohoo at this point. I had to be moved to another room cuase of the tiresmoke smell. I awoke 3 hours to my bill slide underdoor....the down graded me durning the 3am move and didnt adjust pricing.... (Jaclyn 5 star smile your company should thank you for your job well done on making up for your other co workers down falls and 5 star to Joe for the excellent attitude and help fullness. We really enjoyed your knowledge of dallas area and culture.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna G, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Michael H.,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. I am sorry for the discomfort that you and your family felt all due to a Thrive guest burning his tires out in the attached parking garage that unfortuneately we do not own. We appreciate your time and helping us learn where we can improve.
Donna M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing