We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who's the guest and who's the employee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #129 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It is extremely difficult to distinguish a guest from an employee at this tired old dump. The worst are the two women who man the "lounge" and think they are professional bartenders but instead hassle their patrons instead of catering to them. The next is the repairman who thinks you are one of his helpers. They all think that you are there to serve them instead of the other way around. They are extremely condescending and aggressively remind you whenever they can that they are in fact the master and we are their subjects. Worst of all the owner(s) classify this third-world hostel as 4-star. All in all this place is cruel and unusual punishment for the client.

Room Tip: If you want a good room you will not find it at this hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gLoBe-HoPpErMaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for reaching out about your experience here. It definitely sounds like we dropped the ball on the service front, and I hope you'll accept my apologies for that. I'd love to get more information from you so that I can follow up with my team in regards to your comments. Would you be willing to reach out to me directly? Thanks again and I'll hope to hear from you soon -- we'd welcome the opportunity to make a better impression.
Best,
Armando, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had a reservation at Crowne Plaza at market center, but had the number to Eim st location. when i drove into dallas from Houston at evening rush hr i started calling hotel for directions. I must have called 6 or more times frantically giving exits i was passing. I believe the most patient clerks names were Aaron,Dale, and Jeff. I hope the names are correct. They were so kind staying on the line givivng me directions. After i arrived at the hotel they said no my reservation was for other location. I was beside myself, i had a concert to attend ,and now had to find the other hotel. those guys printed out directions,and one even went as far to go out to street with me to give me more directions as what lane to get into to assure I would be pointed in right direstion. Next time I`m staying at Elm st location! They went out of their way to help!! Thank all you!!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank vicki a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

I'm so happy to hear we were able to get you to your concert on time, Vicki! We know how frustrating it can be to find your way in a new city, so we're always glad to help. You can be sure I'll pass along your kind words to Aaron, Dale, & Jeff! Thanks for the review and we'll hope to see you the next time you're in Dallas!

Take care,
Armando, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had planned an overnight stay-over in downtown Dallas with my fiancee, and Crowne Plaza was the first hotel I found that fit into my tight budget. For the price, I expected modest hotel accommodations with no big issues, and Crowne Plaza delivered. It wasn't until after I booked the room that I read the many negative reviews on this site, so I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. Fortunately, I was not disappointed.

It's true that it costs an extra $14/day to park in their garage. If that's too much for you, there is ample parking at street level for $5-6/day. If you're driving a large pickup, you should probably avoid the garage altogether because it felt tight for my full-size sedan, and I'm pretty sure I'd scrape the sides of a crew cab pickup.

It's also true that Crowne Plaza charges an extra $11 for the breakfast buffet, which is the typical breakfast fare (scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, waffles, etc.) that's typically included in the price of a roadside motel. We weren't extremely hungry, so we opted for coffee at McDonald's across the street.

As others have stated, the hotel is in an older building and the decor seems dated. But the hotel was very clean, our room smelled fine and looked neat. It appears they have improved security in the building, because now you need a room key to access any of the guest room floors via elevator.

Our room was on the 15th floor with a lovely view of the industrial district, oh well. The location of the hotel was key, and it's an easy walk to Uptown, Downtown, the Arts District, etc. During the day, the vicinity is home to business suits, blue-collar workers, students, and even a couple hobos; basically no different from any other downtown district. We got back to the hotel at 1:00 AM Friday night, and the streets were basically empty. It appears that the cops are patrolling around the hotel well at night, keeping the vagrants and miscreants away.

The room accommodations were better than adequate. The bathroom was quite small, but clean and well-equipped with no noticeable problems. We didn't watch TV while we stayed, but we did have a rather large one available. The pool seemed clean enough and there were people swimming in it. Crowne Plaza is small-pet-friendly, although they charge a $25 pet fee.

So in conclusion, I would probably stay here again if I didn't have the $300/night it costs to stay in one of the five-star downtown hotels. It cost a bit more than the roadside hotels, which is what I expected from the prime location. This hotel is a decent choice for the budget-minded who wish to stay in downtown Dallas. And I don't have a hotel horror story to report, sorry.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further away from the hotel bar and other street noise. You can save a few dollars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrackingWise99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here! It sounds like our hotel was just what you were looking for in your weekend getaway. I hope you got to enjoy some of the great attractions close to us -- Dallas has so much to offer on the art & culture front! Hope to see you again the next time you find you're way to the Big D!

Take care,
Armando, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

took my family to Dallas for the Mavs for the season closer. we wanted a hotel located near the AAC and this hotel is the perfect location not only was it walking distance to the game but game us many choices for moderately priced restaurants and great shopping. our rooms were clean and fresh and offered everything we needed during our stay. thank Walter for your help in scheduling our weekend and Stacy for friendly service! we would absolutely recommend this hotel to friends & relatives!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luz l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Your recommendation means a lot to us, and I can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience, Luz. Hopefully the Mavs were able to pull out a win while you were here! See you next time!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Randy at the Crown Plaza went well over and above in his assistance with a problem that I had. I have traveled the world and have yet to be treated as excellent as I was by Randy. I will tell every one in the future of this place and the service.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Your recommendation means a lot, Shawn -- especially from such a world traveler like yourself. You have my word that I'll pass along your compliments to Randy. He'll be thrilled to know he made such a difference. We'll look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Dallas!

Take care,
Armando, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were very happy with our stay! Everything was so clean, our room had amazing views, and the breakfast was awesome! Stacey as well as the rest of the staff were so very kind! Highly recommend this place! We will be back! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyrusLuda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for this lovely review, Cyrus! It sounds like our location was perfect for you when you were in Dallas -- that view just can't be beat, can it? Thanks for the kind words and we'll hope to see you again soon!
Best,
Armando, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Dallas Downtown on a business trip and was very impressed by the service I received. The welcoming courtesy and the efficiency of the lady at the reception Stacey McVickers was very refreshing after a long day of work. The hotel is located conveniently in down town and is very clean with a handy car parking. The room and the bedding was very comfortable. I look forward to going back there soon on my next business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

I'm so happy to hear that your visit with us left you impressed, O! I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Stacey -- she'll be thrilled to know she made such a difference. We'll look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Dallas!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#25 of 206 in Dallas
4,085 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 206 in Dallas
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 206 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range: £89 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing