We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs...red bit marks on legs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Ranked #128 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs...red bit marks on legs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at the Crown Plaza over the 4th of July weekend and I actually really enjoyed my stay. The room was nice. The staff was pleasant and the location was great. I wouldn't have had any complaints except during the later part of my stay my legs became very itchy. I didn't think much of it, but as it persisted for several days I became worried. It became worse as time went on and when I got home I noticed that there were a pattern of red bumps that had now scabbed due to my incessant scratching. I called the hotel this morning to report the problem and they told me to leave a message with the manager. No one has bothered to call me back.

I'm extremely disappointed and grossed out by this as this has never happened to me before. I was only in the hotel for 3 nights and that was a week ago and these bites are still driving me crazy. I will have to take off work to go see a doctor tomorrow, as the bites aren't getting better. I'm now worried that I will have to throw my belongings away or that I have already brought these bugs home with me :-( I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a king bed and a double bed, seemed larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chissy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I'm incredibly alarmed to hear this, Chissy! First, let me apologize for the lack of communication. That certainly should not have been the case, and I want you to know that I'll personally follow up with my team about this. As far as the bites, I hope you won't be too quick to jump to conclusions about where they came from. Texas in the summer is host to a number of pesky insects, and it's entirely possible these could have come from an outside source. Either way, we'd definitely like to look into this, so would you mind getting in touch if you get a definite diagnosis? Thank you for reaching out about your experience and we'll hope to hear from you soon -- we'd welcome the opportunity to clear this up!

All the best,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    287
    262
    129
    126
See reviews for
168
237
108
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Our shuttle driver, Taylor, was awesome - he totally took care of us! We needed to make a stop at the liquor store, and he immediately said he would take care of getting it back to our room and in the fridge. He dropped us off at the House of Blues - where we had a great time - and our beverages were nice and cold when returned to our room. We saw him the next morning when checking out, and he asked if there was anything he could do for us. Excellent service!! We will absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHall14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Well after a fun night out on the town, you just have to have a cold beverage to come home to, D! So happy we could help you out with that. I'll be sure to let Taylor know what a difference he made. Hopefully we'll see you in Dallas again soon -- we hear the House of Blues has some great shows coming up!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corsicana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza! Each staff member I came in contact with were amazing!. Especially the shuttle service drivers! Very polite men who were complete gentlemen! I had to use this service multiple times during my stay and each time I did it was better than the last! Big shout out to David btw! Never a dull conversation :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We feel incredibly lucky to have such great guys on our team, and I couldn't be happier to hear that you were just as impressed with them as we are on a daily basis, Khlos! I can't wait to pass along your kind words to David. Hopefully he gave you some good insider tips on where to go/what to eat in the city -- there's always something new to see!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Bed very comfortable, good quality sheets, in the middle of town within easy walking distance of The Grassy Knoll. We got to the Book Depository around 4.45pm which was just enough time to do the tour (closes at 6.00pm and takes between 1hr to 1:30 mins) Swimming pool at the hotel was good and clean with plenty of cover. The staff were very attentive on check-in and check-out and they have a bar on site for a late night tipple. I was surprised how quiet downtown Dallas was/is. Good value for money, lost a point because we had a room with 2 double beds, would have preferred one queen or king bed but can't complain too much because at the price we paid that was the only room available. Would stay there again

Room Tip: If you want the cheapest price, you may not get a balcony room...fair enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HairyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Dallas is quite a long way from Australia -- you all must have been tired from your trip, but it sounds like you really made the most of your stay in our fair city! Thanks for the good word and we'll hope to see you back in Dallas again soon!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I live in Dallas and needed to a place to stay during a bit of an emergency. Upon arrival, Bradley thoughtfully listened to my needs and together we worked to make it happen. This made the week here personal and elegantly tailored. I thank him for that.
Excellent and professional staff all around. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool side view was fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We know that finding a room in a pinch can be a bit tricky, so I'm thrilled to hear we were able to make it so quick & easy for you, Audrey! I can't wait to pass along your kind words to Bradley -- he'll be thrilled to know he made such a difference. We'll look forward to seeing you the next time you need a room downtown!

Take care,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for four nights in June and was very impressed with the hotel. I was on my own and had not been to Texas before and the reception staff were very helpful and made me feel very settled. The room was very big and clean with high comfortable beds in. There was a large TV with loads of channels and a coffee machine. The bathroom was very clean.

The location of the hotel was brilliant, it was local to the historic district and the Main Street where the restaurants were.

I would stay here again if I ever went back to Dallas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMikeReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
So happy to hear we were able to help make your first visit to Texas a hit! We know that it can be tough to travel to a new place, but we're always here to make you feel right at home. I"ll be sure to let me team know what a difference they made. Hopefully you'll get another chance to visit the Lone Star State -- we'd love the opportunity to host you again!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have to say that I did not feel the Southern Hospitality at this hotel. It was fine... not awful. Everything just took a little longer than I had hoped. The shuttle was very busy. It took three calls to the front desk to find out where I could find a pharmacy that was open 24 hours. It took 20 minutes to get a cab from the hotel for the airport.

It is very convenient to the Convention Center. I also think the hotel needs to be updated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMBelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I appreciate your candid feedback here, KM. We're always looking for ways to better your experience and if ramping up our shuttle capacity is a way to do that, you can be sure we'll keep it in mind moving forward. Of course, I hope you'll keep in mind that holiday weekends can be a bit busier than others on the shuttle and cab fronts. While we'd like to get you to where you need to be in no time, sometimes it's simply out of our hands. If you have any further feedback on how we can kick it up a notch, we're all ears!

Cheers,
Armando, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Dallas
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
Hotel Indigo Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Dallas
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Downtown
Downtown Dallas
SpringHill Suites Dallas Downtown/West End
Downtown Dallas
The Westin Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown
Address: 1015 Elm St, Dallas, TX 75202-3126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of downtown, the Crowne Plaza® Hotel Dallas - Downtown provides travelers a home base with a short walk to the Dallas Convention Center and just six miles from Love Field Airport. Contemporary decor, elegant furnishings and signature Crowne Plaza® amenities provide a haven for business and leisure guests alike.Corporate and professional travelers enjoy easy access to the West End, Bank of America Plaza, Uptown McKinney Avenue, Renaissance Tower and Earl Cabell Federal Building. 30,000 sq. ft. of meeting space for up to 600, and perks such as a Crowne Meetings Director, a two-hour RFP response and a Daily Meeting Debrief. Our facility is certainly "The Place to Meet" among hotels in downtown Dallas, Texas and a great place to host a wedding, banquet or reception.Leisure guests also appreciate our hotel's convenient downtown locale. Dallas attractions, such as the West End district, American Airlines Center and the House of Blues, are less than a mile away, so you can easily walk to some of the major Dallas destinations.The Crowne Plaza® hotel Dallas - Downtown meets the needs of our guests with quality amenities, including 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers, an outdoor pool and our THRIVE Restaurant & Nightclub. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle and sleep well with Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas West End Hotel
West End Hotel Dallas
West End Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing