We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves a purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Dallas Uptown
Ranked #114 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serves a purpose”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

If you are looking for a budget hotel very close to downtown Dallas, then this hotel serves that purpose. However, it is outdated in many ways. The rooms resemble more of a older apartment than they do a hotel/motel room. We stayed 1 night to break up our trip as we made our way down to Galveston and will probably not stay here again if we are passing through the same area. The breakfast was lacking, but the location is close to other food venues so I suggest finding breakfast either at the Denny's next door or just drive 5-10 minutes to some other restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oeshpdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    87
    74
    52
    38
See reviews for
113
61
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

If you need to be in this area and this price range, options are limited. I wouldn't even waste time looking at the Best Western down the road. I've never been there nor heard anything about it but the staff at the La Quinta are above the rest and I'm sure there is no comparison. Basic clean rooms, convenient location, quiet, and most of all GREAT service. Greeted by name, provided with extra towels, coffee and creamer without any issue or problems, given directions and suggestions of where to go. What more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaChilanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We recently stayed at the LQ Cityplace and loved the convenient location to downtown activities, restaurants, bars and businesses. Although only there one day, we were pleased to enjoy speaking with each employee -- the security guard that patrolled the lot at night, the maintenance man sweeping up early in the morning, 2 desk clerks (check-in and during the stay) and the manager, Kristie. Each encounter left us smiling...it's refreshing to be able to say that about ALL employees at ANY business these days! From the reassuring wave from the security guard twice during the night (we were visiting a greyhound adoption event, and had two-in-tow that had to go!) to the maintenance man early the next morning who greeted us with a perky "Good Morning!" made us feel we had made the right choice with this LQ property. We originally arrived a little early and the desk clerk joyfully took our cell phone number, directed us to a nearby park (dogs..remember?) and gave us a call as soon as the room was ready. Making waffles in the morning, I bypassed the instructions, and the on-duty desk clerk came out and helped solve the problem of the beeping waffle iron, as I'm sure she has been doing for years, but she still made conversation and showed me exactly how it all worked! The room was very clean (it's an older LQ property...I think I even stayed at the same location over 20 years ago), and the remodeled room was perfect. We stayed in a 2 room, 3-double bed corner room...which would be great for a family, or several business associates traveling together...as each room had its own TV, dresser, alarm clock, etc. Like with all La Quinta properties, this one had a great work desk, free internet and wonderful waffles & muffins in the morning! Being located right on the Central Expressway, traffic noises were heard 24-hours a day...but we found leaving the A/C or fan running blocked all, but the loudest noises. While mentioning the A/C...you should be warned...it gets COLD fast (no complaints here...we were visiting Dallas in July and loved every chilled minute we stayed in the room!) There are many, many, many restaurants a short walk or drive from the motel -- even some great little pubs right around the corner. Since we were traveling with dogs, we appreciated the nice, clean dog-walking lawn...it was park-like! With the complimentary "waste disposal" bags right there...it was nice and clean...and "land-mine" free! We have stayed with the dogs at other LQ properties, where the grass was not watered, and it was nasty...definitely NOT the case here. Like I mentioned, it was park-like (and well maintained.) There is a nice big swimming pool that we can't wait to try out on the next visit. Being an older property, we expected a not-so-wonderful experience...but, it was so nice, that we are already planning return visits to this La Quinta real soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I recently stayed at the hotel as I had a one night layover before heading back to Atlanta. I asked if the hotel had a shuttle to and from the airport and the concierge said yes prior to me booking. Since I was literally just staying at the hotel for the use of a bed and shower with a quick layover, price and comfort was important.. I arrived into Dallas, TX at around 11:20pm to find out that the hotel stopped shuttle service at 11pm and to pay a $24 cab ride to go 2 miles to the hotel. To make matters worse, when I checked in, I found out that the shuttle to the airport only runs once every hour at the top of the hour. Well since my flight was at 8:55am I had to catch the 7am shuttle along with miss the free continental breakfast which started at 7am - What kind of service is this for an airport hotel when there are tons of hotels to choose from? Unhappy guest...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank customer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dallas hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This place was great. From the day we got there reception staff were very friendly and did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. The rooms are spacious, clean and the best thing was, coming on a cold night, our rooms were already pre-heated! The rooms have great heating for the chilli nights we had, it even got HOT! Only thing i can kind-of complain about, the cleaners pretty much break down the door as of 9am to clean the room, so remember to place the 'do not disturb' sign if you dont want early morning interruptions. Other than that, great place, great location (if you have no car, everything is pretty much a $10 cab ride to either downtown or lower greenville and a comfortable 30-45 minute walk to West End Village if you wish to walk), many restaurants are less than a block away (reception can also give you discount vouchers for a number of restaurants), and a statbucks just a short stroll. You MUST try to the sushi on McKinney (i believe its called Sushi on McKinney, only 5 minute walk! Amazing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leaburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Friendly, efficient check-in. Clean rooms. This is a slightly older La Quinta property, but is well-maintained. The parking lot is tight. Breakfast is typical La Quinta. It will fill you up, but it won't leave you with a great feeling of satisfaction. For those interested in a little variety there are many restaurants nearby, and the Uptown area is just a few blocks away. There you will find just about anything in the way of food and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

We stayed here one night. We drove up Thursday morning & once we checked in, headed to the King Tut exhibit. (Note: while there may be a bus stop nearby that will take you to the Mockingbird Station, the easiest thing to do is walk or drive down the access road to Mockingbird to get there; then take the red or blue line to St. Paul Station & walk up Harwood to the Museum).

The room was clean, the beds new. I did notice the noise of the freeway, but it didn't bother my sleep (I was very tired). There are some neat-looking local places to eat about a block away on Henderson.

The staff was very friendly & helpful. We left too early to try the breakfast, though. :(

  • Liked — The friendly staff & clean, comfy room
  • Disliked — No bus stop--but that's not the hotel's fault
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WolverineDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas North Central
3.1 mi away
HYATT house Dallas/Lincoln Park
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Market Center Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities
2.7 mi away
Best Western Market Center
1.5 mi away
The Lumen
The Lumen
#30 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Dallas Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Dallas Uptown

Property: La Quinta Inn Dallas Uptown
Address: 4440 N. Central Expressway, Dallas, TX 75206-6525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Dallas Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Dallas Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Dallas Uptown Hotel Dallas
La Quinta Dallas
Dallas La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing