We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice SMU Area Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities
Ranked #22 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Hudson WI
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice SMU Area Hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We rolled the dice with one of the discount travel websites trying to get in the Uptown area. We ended up getting the Holiday Inn Dallas Central. I was a little nervous with the area but this hotel worked out great. Arrival: Free parking and a fast check in. Rooms: Modern, well appointed, and clean. Service: Great cleaning crew and friendly shuttle drivers. Location: One block off of the Mockingbird light rail line and just across the highway to SMU college. Food: The hotel offers food at the hotel, (for a fee) but with all of the options around the hotel we didn't bother.

We did not use the pool or gym and we did not visit the bar during our stay. While I can't speak to those areas I can say that we had a great stay. The area around the hotel has some really cool bars and places to eat. The "spicy goat" at the Twisted Root Burger is a must do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjp644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Hey jjp644,

Thanks for the review! We love the Spicy Goat as well and we're glad you got to experience all the great things our location has to offer. We're glad you took a chance on us and we're glad that next time you stay with us, it won't be a roll of the dice.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    176
    91
    26
    27
See reviews for
174
82
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very difficult to rate this hotel. At check-in, we were assigned to the wrong room type (had confirmed "executive level"). When approached, the clerk insisted it was correct. The standard room was, to say the least, not impressive. The manager, Kim, got involved and solved the problems, in fact she went out of her way the entire stay to make sure our entire party was happy. If not for her personal efforts, all the rating would have been either 1 or 2. I believe she is fairly new there and hope (think) she will eventually straighten out the rest of the property.
We had breakfast two mornings in the restaurant. The food was edible - which is the best I can say for it. They charge $10. for the buffet, plus additional charge for coffee. The food was worse than the free breakfast at most other hotels . I would recommend this property if you reserve and receive an executive level room and if you can find somewhere else to have breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdubdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear jdubdal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and are relieved to know that the issues you have encountered have been resolved in a timely manner. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed several times before and during the hotel renovation. Glad to see it finally complete and they did a wonderful job. Plenty of parking and it so convenient to everything. So many awesome restaurants that are close by.

The rooms have great amenities wi if, desk, great pillows and refrigerator. This hotel is just across the freeway from SMU. You can see the stadium from the room window!

I personally prefer the upper floors and the views.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay. Your feedback and great comments are appreciated and welcomed ! We hoe we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a great centrally located place to stay....the staff was most accomodating and very friendly. The rooms and hotel are clean and the bed allowed for a nice nights sleep. This location is very close to North Park Mall and Whole Foods grocery whcih was a plus for me. Right behind the hotel is an open air mall with great shopping as well.

I would stay here again when traveling to the Dallas area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gabbygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay ... I'm glad you found it to be a great place to stay.I truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We traveled to Dallas for Southern Methodist University's Family Weekend. Despite making reservations two months in advance, the hotel had no more available rooms with 2 queen beds. The staff did their best to accommodate us by upgrading us (at a higher nightly rate) to a room with a king-size bed and a small couch. We were told that there may be a possibility for a roll-away bed, but since they were first come/first serve, they could not guarantee that one would be available. When we arrived we were told by a very friendly desk clerk that there were no roll-away beds left for that night, but they would try to get us one for the next night. The staff brought bedding for my daughter to use on the small couch. Unfortunately, we didn't get a roll-away bed on any of the 3 nights we were there. Despite this glitch, the room was clean and comfortable. The location was ideal for our purposes, since it is right across the freeway from SMU.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay. I do utilize the comments to better prepare our team to ensure we are exceeding our guest expectations. My deepest apologies for not getting the rollaway that you needed. Again , we use the feedback as training topics and I have met with my team internally to revise how we do things to again ensure guest request are met.
If I can be of any further assistance feel free to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a nice hotel that we enjoy very much each time we stay. Shuttle service to within 5 miles gets you to SMU, North Park mall and many other POI's. Mockingbird station within walking distance can get you downtown and west end very easily. Other enjoyable restaurants and shopping within walking distance of hotel also. Overall GREAT location. Hotel staff very good although front desk is easily frazzled. Shuttle drivers and bar staff are superb. Exercise facility limited but fine. Rooms are crisp and clean (although in-room a/c units are a tad noisy). I highly recommend this recently renovated property as a solid three star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the recent post about your stay. We certainly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our daughter, who is a freshman at SMU, this past weekend at Holiday Inn Park Cities. Our freshman attempted school work at the hotel on Saturday but could not because Wi-Fi was not available in our corner room. I was told "corner rooms" do not have reliable Wi-Fi and the hotel could not move us because the hotel was full. The rooms are not equipped with landline connections either. When we checked in, the reception desk did not indicate our room was a corner room without Wi-Fi. If we had known, our daughter would have made other accommodations for school work. Due to this Wi-Fi problem, our student returned to campus to do school work and our family plans over Parents Weekend were pushed to late Saturday night. Unfortunately, this was not the only problem encountered. When checking out on Sunday, I noticed the room rate was $14 higher per night than the rate on my email confirmation. The front desk indicated my email confirmed rate was the SMU student/faculty rate. Reception did not ask for my daughter's school ID at check-in nor did they tell me the rate was changed. When my daughter presented her SMU student ID at check-out the hotel changed the rate back to the reserved rate. This hotel is in a fabulous location within easy, safe, walking distance to SMU. The lobby is charming. Rooms are clean. I feel the absence of Wi-Fi is not acceptable in 2013 for any business class hotel, and the hotel has an obligation to ensure reliable Wi-Fi (or a landline) is available in every room in the hotel....or disclose on their website this enormous deficiency.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cccccc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay. I will further look into the rate and contact you directly if that's acceptable by you.

We have met with and continue to meet to upgrade our Wifi connectivity. This is something that I'm directly involved with and we will see improvements here over the next few weeks.

Thank you for your busy as I truly do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Highland Dallas
The Highland Dallas
#11 of 203 in Dallas
332 reviews
4.4 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Dallas Downtown
3.0 mi away
Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Lumen
The Lumen
#28 of 203 in Dallas
381 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dallas - Campbell Centre
9.6 mi away
Omni Dallas Hotel at Park West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities

Property: Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities
Address: 6070 N Central Expy, Dallas, TX 75206-5202 (Formerly Holiday Inn Dallas Central - Park Cities)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities 3.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Dallas-Park Cities reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Dallas
Dallas Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing