We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, stately”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Ranked #13 of 201 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas area
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Elegant, stately”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Melrose for one night. This hotel is so elegant and stately. It was built in the 1920's and has undergone a complete renovation in recent years. We stayed in a corner room/suite with a king size bed. The room was HUGE... full sitting area, desk and bed were in one very large room. The bathroom, closet area is in a separate room and again the bathroom was HUGE. 'Just absolutely gorgeous. Luxurious bedding - glassware (including wine glasses) - a coffee table with top tier local magazines - floor to ceiling drapes. The staff were friendly and offered excellent service.

100% no smoking.

'Only valet parking and they charge $24.00/per night! Even though the neighborhood is probably not one in which you would want to park on the street, this exclusive/expensive parking policy always takes me back a bit. But what does one do? The Melrose is not doing anything that other downtown hotels in other cities do but it still seems like a rip-off.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ls1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    237
    67
    42
    19
See reviews for
160
331
82
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

As a former 12 year resident of Dallas, I know where to go, and where to avoid.

When my trip to Dallas was being planned, the Warwick Melrose was my hotel of choice.

From the charming structure, with all it's lovely architectural details, to the fantastic location & welcoming staff - once I arrived I knew I had made the right decision.

My room was spotless, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. My special instructions for breakfast by room service were followed without fail. The staff made me feel welcomed, important, and accommodated my every request, cheerfully. Even sending a housekeeper to steam my shirt at the last minute, before I scurried away to host a very special dinner.

The property maintains a very nice SUV, which gladly dropped me off, as well as picked me up, several times around town during my stay; an immense convenience.

I travel often, always staying in the finest hotels, and would stay no where else. The Warwick Melrose is my hotel of choice in Dallas. And that's saying a lot, in a city with so many upscale properties to chose from.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juptown74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This fabulous old hotel was welcoming and comfortable, I couldn't have been happier to have the DMC book me here! Our room was spacious and spotless. The bed was wonderful and the room is beautifully appointed. We enjoyed the dining facility and really loved The Library bar. The staff are friendly and anxious to please. The convenience of having someone drive you somewhere for dinner and pick you up is amazing. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengalcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The old Fabulously Maintained building and the Super Convenient location are the reasons we chose this hotel the first time (late December 2011). The STAFF (including general manager, head chef, front desk personnel, the restaurant, the bar, the piano players, the valets, etc.) are the reasons we will never need another hotel in Dallas. The service rivals the Four Seasons but they made us feel like family. I have just returned home from my second visit and have reservations again in February.
BREAKFAST, LUNCH & DINNER there are several wonderful dishes to choose from. There's a driver who will take you anywhere else (3 mi radius I believe), and lots of places within walking distance. There is NO SPA, but you can order in a masseuse or catch a ride over to The W and be pampered at Bliss (I did). The EXERCISE ROOM has cardio equipment and free weights. BEDS are very comfortable with good pillows and yummy linens LOVE the LIBRARY BAR and live PIANO. There is a category for POOL here, but I never looked for one...can't comment on so i left it blank
If you stay please take extra tip money....these people take such good care of you you will want to return the favor. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place was so not what it was cracked up to be. Yes, it's historical and that's about it. The most upsetting - you arrive and you have no option to self park and valet is 24/night. Crazy. Internally, it feels like a haunted hotel, beetlejuice - the people are all librarians looking like they are half dead and hate their jobs. Very cold atmosphere. There is one person at the front desk and she is annoyed when you ask a question or has to service you. The rooms are spacious but stink, dirty, the hallway is terrifying, no security and loud. I love gays but it's definitely a gay hang out, probably not the best place for families. I can't imagine anyone providing a great review for this place.

Pros: Good internet rates, conveniently located for business, reasonable bar prices, gay dating/travel.
Cons: Unfriendly people, high prices for in-room services, valet only option at 24/night, cold people, historic but old and stinky, not customer service driven (at all).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrnskm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is an older property but it is clean, comfortable and the staff members were extremely friendly during my recent two-night visit in January 2012. The desk in the room conveniently had three electrical outlets for plugging in laptops or other mobile devices. There's a 24-hour Walgreen's across the street for any on-the-road items or medications. This was my first visit to the Warwick Melrose, but I certainly would stay there again on a future visit to that area of Dallas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnPearlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Fantastic staff. Well maintained hotel. Very nice room but maybe a bit on the small side. Good location. The car service comes in handy for dinner and a few drinks, The on site bar (Library) is very cozy and friendly. My only complaint (if it is one) is that the clientelle is considerably older. We had a great rate and our room was super quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bathos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#5 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,079 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Dallas
#18 of 201 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 201 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas

Property: Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas
Address: 3015 Oak Lawn Ave., Dallas, TX 75219-4134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#7 Family Hotel in Dallas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#24 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Melrose Hotel Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Melrose Dallas
Warwick Dallas
Dallas Warwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing