We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CJ's Coffee Cafe

CJ's Coffee Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Denison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to CJ's Coffee Cafe in beautiful downtown Denison, TX! We're the former Country Java, and we've still got the same stellar customer service that our long-time patrons have come to love. If you're a newcomer, you're sure to love our famous oat wheat bread and rolls, which we bake fresh in our ovens every morning. We use only fresh ingredients, and we use locally-roasted coffee.What are you waiting for? Come in and have a cuppa!
Pottsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

CJs serves the best coffee I have ever had and I am a coffee lover. Their lunch sandwiches, soups and salads are excellent. The staff is always friendly and the establishment is clean and has a wonderfully casual atmosphere. I eat there as often as possible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GJB105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great laid back joint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This cafe in Downtown Denison has thrived while other businesses on Main Street have not done so well. I think it is because of the simple delicious food & laid back atmosphere. The staff is friendly and cheerful and the restaurant is clean with a warm and inviting atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
162 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

This place has remodeled twice since I started going here, and personally I liked the first permutation better. But it's still a pretty good place. Only tried a few of the sandwiches, but they are decent. The coffee is OK, too. It's located in, if memory serves me well, what was the old bus station before Greyhound consolidated their Sherman and Denison stop into one place. The place now has more room for dining, but some of the atmosphere has been lost from the older more cramped place, if you ask me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WinthropJQuiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I have not tried the coffee concoctions, but the Chicken Club is delicious. I need a coffee visit to try some of their drinks.

Helpful?
Thank irlsufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Baked Oatmeal! Out of this world!ut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Don't knock it if you haven't tried it! We were driving through Denison @ breakfast time & looked at the Trip Advisor app for help. We weren't disappointed. The CJ (as they call it) is in downtown Denison & although a limited menu (no eggs & bacon) their baked oatmeal was outstanding along with their "cinnamon roll bites!" We had the plain coffee but it was brewed to perfection. Well worth a little side trip through historic Denison (birthplace of Dwight Eisenhouer)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CJ's Coffee Cafe also viewed

 

Been to CJ's Coffee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing