We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was packed!”
Review of Old West Cafe

Old West Cafe
Ranked #3 of 380 Restaurants in Denton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“This place was packed!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went for a late lunch and the place was packed at 1:30 p.m. although their sign posted that they closed at 2 p.m. Almost everyone there was having breakfast. The pancakes looked huge! We had half portions of our lunch choices and it was plenty of food. Most definitely will be back to try breakfast!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    90
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, service, and atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had breakfast here only. Would love to return for lunch. Breakfast was great, Servings were huge. Well worth the money and the wait. Service was great and friendly. That Saturday morning it was full of the college kids. They obviously eat there a lot. Good value. Will return again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dimas, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I'm not normally a fan of breakfast but Old West Cafe has changed my opinion. Hubby had Eggs Benedict topped with smoked sausage and served with grits; I had the Stagecoach, which is an open-faced biscuit topped with hash browns, sausage gravy & 2 scrambled eggs with cheddar & jalapenos. Both meals were delicious -- so flavorful! Way too much food, only ate half. Will definitely look for Old West Cafe next time we're in Texas. Server was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATorres439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place is very unhealthy for the most part

I got the chicken fried steak with creamed corn... And some rolls/biscuits... SO GOOD!!!!

The prices here are super inexpensive!!!! Check it out. It is very, uhm... country like but a must see nonetheless!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Tx
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing homestyle cooking”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The only negative thing about this restaurant is that it is not open for dinner...closing at 2pm each day. Just looking at the building makes me hungry because I know that a great meal is just inside! I recently indulged in their French Toast and it was off-the-charts good. The toast was light and fluffy with a perfect crusty edge. Though the potion was huge I was almost sad as I savored the last bite. Whether having lunch or breakfast, I have never had a disappointing meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old West Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing