We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to return...”
Review of Abbey Inn

Abbey Inn
Ranked #19 of 376 Restaurants in Denton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: British American casual dining featuring traditional favorites British favorites such as beer battered fish n' chips, bangers n' mash, cottage pie & Scotch eggs. Also serving, great burgers, tender steaks & terrific Reuben and Monte Cristo sandwiches. Full bar with great selection of import beers & 29 degree draft beer. Brunch on Saturday & Sunday.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not to return...”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Atmosphere fair, the food soo very greasy with huge portions. Service was really way to slow for number of guests. Tried it twice in one week to give it a chance. Sorry to say, second visit confirmed first visit. Sad and disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    44
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxed dinner”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Spouse and I, along with another couple, had dinner here on a Wednesday evening. Each of us had a different entree and all agreed that the food was very good.

We tried the Scotch eggs as an appetizer. Very tasty . . . as well as interesting.

They offer a well stocked bar with quite a number of beers (and cider) on tap.

About 7:00 pm half-a-dozen musicians congregated and began to play Irish music. That was a bonus we hadn't expected.

All in all, a very pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The English Experience in Denton, TX”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place markets itself as England in the US, and as an Englishman, it does an alright job. A lot of the menu items are stereotypical English items with an American twist, and most work well.
The Cottage Pie is great, and the fish-and-chips are served in English-style fancified.

A little on the pricey side, but this place is one for all your English food and beer items.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussieTexBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Stars for 25”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had 25 people for a graduation dinner. They sat us upstairs in the pub which was ok because we had room to mix and mingle like families like to do. Other than the acoustics there were no complaints. Everyone enjoyed the food. Notable appetizers included Scottish eggs, fried pickle chips, and the biscuits. Fish & chips, ravioli, meatloaf, and Gaelic chicken were devoured at my table. The minted peas were tasty. We had our own dedicated waitress and she kept up with all our demands for food and many, many beers from a satisfactory beer list. We brought our own cake and they worked with us on the serving of dessert. Comments collected after dinner confirmed 25 of 25 felt 5 stars would be the rating. Thank you The Abbey Inn for making Michelle's graduation a memorable event.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stillkc
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Okay here is a gem”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

First this is on the town square. This is a college town. I was expecting cheap food with some noise. What I found was very good English style food in a nice atmosphere. The downstairs part is the college part and worth it too.

I tried the bangers and mash with the peas and onions. Very English and done perfectly. My companion had the ploughmans lunch. Having been to the UK I can say it was as good what I had there.

Excellent beer selection with a full bar is available. The place is good for groups and families even with small kids.

I'll be back to try some other things liked the fried pickles which is more southern and the Guiness stout ice cream.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stillkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbey Inn also viewed

 

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing