We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable & learning experience”

Bayless-Selby House Museum
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Denton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The walls of this Victorian style house museum tell the story of life in Denton at the turn-of-the-century. The story of Denton County prior to 1908 is told through the music room with the E. Gabler & Bro. grand piano, the elegantly set dining room table, and the majesty of the Eastlake-style adult bedroom suite. From the moment visitors step on the garden grounds or the wrap around porch, the walls of the Bayless-Selby House museum begin their story.
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An enjoyable & learning experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Although this house had been moved and hadn't been compleetely restored to its original condition, my wife and I very much appreciated a good tour and our chance to learn more of local history.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Locked up tight.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

11:30 on Saturday the 18th of January, despite a "We are open" sign on one of the buildings, it was locked up like a drum. We walked around for quite a while trying to find a way in. The garden curator told us to ring the bell and we did. Several times. She even tried the line to the courthouse and no one answered.
What a shame- We were there with our German exchange student who was looking forward to seeing it. We were just in town for an event so I doubt we ever get a chance to go back.
I suggest you call before visiting to make sure someone will be there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyAnne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to learn some history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a terrific place to step back in time and learn some good old fashioned history. This is a free tour and the docent is especially well versed in the history of the home and the era. We went at Christmastime and loved the decorations.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

The people who worked there were so friendly! We wondered in on a Saturday just looking for something free and interesting. It was fun, educational and a great way to spend several hours. The staff knew so much more than just the basics and really seemed to enjoy showing us around and sharing with us. The garden was also a beautiful place to take photos!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The restoration work is wonderful. We really enjoyed the tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tammi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bayless-Selby House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing