We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service, food, mediocre”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #54 of 376 Restaurants in Denton
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Service, food, mediocre”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Food has really gone downhill at Outback. This used to be our go-to restaurant in Denton for "special" occasions, i.e. birthdays, holidays, after a great win in sports, etc. The steak is no longer the quality steak it used to be. Nine times out of ten, our steak (there are 4 of us eating it at one time, so we can compare all 4 at one time and know that it isn't just ONE out of the 4) will have a gristle line that runs through the entire steak. The steaks seem to get smaller and thicker as the years roll by and they are completely flavorless. Forget about asking for a medium Rare steak. It will be medium...rest assured. The sauteed green beans are barely cooked anymore and Sunday when we were there last, they were completely raw, actually still cold in the center. Staff is always friendly, but seems to be stretched thin anymore. You can ask for something, maybe extra butter or sauce and be surprised if you receive it before the end of your meal or more than halfway through. We have even ordered two sides and received only one with the entree with the promise that the second side is "on its way", only to have it delivered once the meal is more than 3/4 gone and the extra side is eaten mostly on its own instead of with the actual entree the way you had dreamt. The bread is almost always still cold in the center (we understand they are frozen loaves, but bake them thoroughly, please) and the butter that comes with the bread is generally straight from the refrigerator, so too hard to spread on cold bread. I am not sure if this is a chain wide deal or just our local operation, but it is enough for us to say, "Let's drive the extra 30 minutes to Logan's in Lewisville." now when we have a "special" occasion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanetta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awful!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I received a gift card for Outback Steakhouse, so I took my mom and my daughter to the one in Denton. First, they were late opening the restaurant, and the person who opened the door was not very friendly. Then, when we sat down the waiter handed me a menu with a bit of smashed food in it. After taking the menu back to the reception area, we got one that looked clean. Our waiter offered us bread, which was certainly not fresh maybe something they made the day before yesterday with a bit of life left in it, I don't know, but it did not taste fresh at all. When our order arrived, bloomin burgers, the onions looked and tasted like leftovers. The burgers had way too much onion salt in them or what ever they use that tastes like onion salt. The fries were scant, maybe a small handful, and also tasted and looked like leftovers: They didn't taste like the kind that sat too long, they tasted like left over fries really soft, bent when you picked them up, just awful. The restaurant had just opened, so that was a mystery to us. How could the fries be so old? We did not eat those. The waiter was not available to refill our drinks. Not only that, but there were 5 waiters/waitress's standing 6 feed away from us chatting with each other, and not one of them offered to refill our empty drinks. On the upside, my daughter said her mac and cheese was very good. I will not go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captainkate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good restaurant gone bad”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We have eaten at this establishment many times. It is generally good, but when it is bad, it is horrid. Last night was, sadly, that kind of a night. The food service was very slow -- painfully slow in fact. The appetizer we tried was the highlight of the meal -- the barbeque nachos were an interesting delight. From there it went downhill. Our glasses were empty much of the night, and when we finally got our main entrees, they were on the cold side of lukewarm. The terriyaki steak kabob was nearly inedible. Two pieces of the meat were completely impossible to chew they were so tough. The flavor was great -- who doesn't love terriyaki? But the texture and temperature of the entire entree was beyond inexcusable. Our waitperson excused it by stating that they had served a large party on the patio.

There are a lot of steak houses in North Texas. I would think that Outback would step up their game to continue competing. Location isn't everything.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Outback never disappoints.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This Outback is consistent in their food quality and service. The wait staff is friendly and helpful as my partner is gluten free. The food is always average for what you would expect from an Outback Steakhouse, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not very good.”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I normally enjoy this place. But the past few times it hasn't been good. So i felt the need to write a review. If its bad service/food etc. I try to go a few times before giving a review. Sometimes places just simply have an 'off' night. But this place was given several chances. Food was wayyyyyy too salty. Not good! The service was just average. I should have been tipped off back the lack of people there during what would normally be a busy time, dinner hours. Probably wont go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing