We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise party”
Review of The Wildwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wildwood Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Denton
Denton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise party”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife was turning 60, and I wanted to do a really special surprise party for her, and I wanted it to be really nice. We had around 55 people attend. The food, service, decor, and atmosphere was great. My wife was totally surprised, and the guests are still talking about the evening. It was perfect. I would do it all again, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Virg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    20
    8
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
58
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This little Inn is located in a residential neighborhood not far from downtown Denton. We needed a place for my daughter's graduation, and we kind of stumbled across this place since most of the name brand hotels were booked or crazy expensive. Driving into the grounds through the large front gate, it felt like we were truly leaving the city behind. It is an old "mansion" that has been turned into an inn. At first glance, it is a beautiful place: small front desk, large dining room, wooded back yard with a beautiful pool and a covered veranda overlooking it all. There are only 14 rooms, so it is quite small. The rooms themselves are spacious and well appointed. My only complaint is that this seems to be, first and foremost, a wedding venue: two per day during the weekend we were there. The staff, though nice, weren't particularly professional and only became helpful if you really, really asked them nicely. While they DID eventually come through with the small requests like hot water, a glass of wine or something for the room, they were not in a hurry.... and if something was required for the wedding set up, it always took precedent over anything else. There was no lobby bar, dinner was by appointment only and breakfast was only served between 8am and 9am.... so as to make way for wedding set ups, I presume. Any guests NOT associated with a wedding were at a disadvantage, I felt. Otherwise, it was a wonderful place, and if you need a place to stay and relax away from madding crowd.... I recommend it. If you want four star service, go find a Four Seasons.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little different, so I have only some perspective. Some have whirlpool tubs, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geronimopromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Back at the Wildwood with my wife for 4 nights. Thought I had reserved a King Suite, but somehow that got messed up. Confusing to try and reserve via the internet. All the websites look like Wildwood. Somehow we reserved a standard room via Expedia. Desk clerk seemed befuddled, but promised to address with management next day. It was addressed and we were moved to a King Suite. Only constructive criticism (and I know this is hard with college kids at the front desk) is that the night manager or desk clerk needs to be empowered to make a decision. The issue with Expedia was complicating, but a simple correction would have been to move us into the room with the understanding that there would be an upcharge. Next day, that's how the situation was resolved.

While the Wildwood is a nice wedding venue, I'm a business traveler who likes good hotels especially when I'm traveling with my wife. There aren't many nice hotels in Denton. I haven't stayed while a wedding was underway, but I believe that weddings are usually crowded, noisy affairs. If you can't tolerate that, don't stay there during a wedding. Simple enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRSlaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I got married here and I could not have asked for more! The place was so beautiful but also able to be decorated to make special for your day! I loved the staff and they were so helpful! I could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My coordinator made my wedding experience incredibly smooth. The room we rented (the bridal suite) was the perfect size for my ladies and I to get ready in the morning and the venue itself was just fantastic.
Not to mention the fact that this place was one of the best in terms of price! (cake INCLUDED, what??!?!?)

I had a wonderful time, and the pictures came out fantastic~Such a picturesque location!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back border the opening to the pool, so in the summer they can get loud...but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Great spot, rooms and service. Sunday breakfast could be a little later to allow us to sleep in more and needs bigger coffee cups. However, all in all, exceeded expectations. Rooms are very nicely done

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kpconno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The guests at our wedding loved the Wildwood Inn. It is simply a beautiful place. The staff is very courteous and friendly. Food tasted wonderful and was displayed nicely. The rooms were very pretty and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Crown Chase Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Denton
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Denton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Denton - University Drive
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denton
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Denton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wildwood Inn

Property: The Wildwood Inn
Address: 2602 Lillian Miller Parkway, Denton, TX 76210
Region: United States > Texas > Denton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Denton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Inn is a romantic retreat popular with couples looking for elegant European-style ambiance and amenities combined with today's modern technology. Wildwood Inn is a popular destination for weddings and events with cascading trees & a gorgeous pergola perfect for an outdoor ceremony. Wildwood has a beautiful private reception area with elegant tables, chairs, linens, fireplace, and more! We can host events for up to 120 guests and your guests can even stay on site after the event in one of our beautiful guest rooms. Amenities include a pool and spa in our lush garden area, complimentary full breakfast on weekends, free wireless and high speed internet, whirlpool bathtubs, fireplaces, plush robes, romance packages, private balconies, European toiletries, and fine linens. Our boutique hotel is available for reservations on Friday & Saturday evenings! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wildwood Hotel Denton
Wildwood Hotel Denton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing