We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Keiichi

Keiichi
Ranked #42 of 376 Restaurants in Denton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Was traveling through Denton, some local friends said you must try Keiichi, they were right. Great Sushi, great chef and excellent wait staff, Leza (sp) and Nicki were wonderful. They were fully booked for the night but found some space for us. What a Gem! We frequent Nobu in Dallas, we will frequent Keiichi as well. Reservations are a must.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sepstein32819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    7
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing beats Keiichi”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

If you're looking for an incredible, life-changing dinner, go to Keiichi. Everything is top-notch, including the chef, Keiichi himself. The eel, squid, sashimi platter, tuna with guacamole and especially the jalapeno cream cheese with steak roll are all amazing. Don't get too full because you HAVE to try the Tiramisu. Keiichi told us that he was a chef at an Italian restaurant, so his pasta dishes and Tiramisu are to die for. A couple next to us only goes to Keiichi for the pasta - they said it's the best pasta they've ever had. Definitely worth every penny. Be sure to make a reservation, especially for a weekend. He's booked out for two weekends already, but he did say Wednesdays are his more open days. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephydee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amaaaazing!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

You could easily drive by this little Denton gem. Without any doubt one of the best dinners of our marriage. Intimate, delicious, unique. Doesn't matter what you order, dive into the menu with adventure in your heart. Trust the chef, he will guide you. He's standing right in front of you. Making magic. Listen to the other diners seated near you at the cozy sushi bar. Take your time to savor the food, the ambience, the wisdom of the chef, the saki flight, the tiramisu. Yup! Sushi and tiramisu - Denton's little hot spot. Make reservations or you will miss a wonderful evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coco091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We went here to celebrate a special occasion. We were visiting from the other side of the country and had heard wonderful things about this place. Reservations are a must, and we fortunately had made them 2 months prior. The restaurant only seat about 15-20 people so it books up early. We saw a walk-in couple get turned away by the owner. The server told us that the chef/owner does it all himself. He knows how many people to expect that night, and shops in the morning. He does all the prep and cooking.
When we arrived it was a hard place to find. There is very poor outside lighting and signage in the dark, and we thought it was an abandoned store when we first drove by. The front entrance doesn't even have a light, so it can be a bit confusing. Once we got inside the atmosphere was nice and reminded me of sushi restaurants in Japan.
We were handed the menu that is typed up daily. We ordered the Tasmanian Seat trout with Ginger and Japanese Mint and Citrus Soy ($20), Marinated tuna Sashimi with Fresh Guacamole ($28), White Seaweed Salad ($12), Kinoko Pasta - 5 kinds of mushrooms in a creamy sauce ($16), Lasagna - yes just a regular Italian lasagna ($18) and Tuna Steak with Tomato Risotto ($38). Plus the Orange Sorbet ($8) for dessert. We were a party of four and shared everything. Everything was amazing!! One of the best meals any of us have ever eaten! Even the Orange Sorbet was better than any other Sorbet I've eaten. The chef is a food artist in both display and taste. The details of marketing and customer appreciation finesse are secondary to his objectives as a food artist. Absolutely a food destination for anyone in the DFW area. Just remember to have reservations and remember the chef is in charge. Will definitely will return if given the chance!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ampanmangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you're into sushi this is the place for you”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I came here for the first time with my girlfriend and for the record I am NOT a sushi person but she is. The chef meticulously prepares the sushi in front of you and my girlfriend loved the sushi and I was able to eat it and enjoy it even though I have never been a sushi person and still am not. As a backup I ordered another dish for myself (I can't remember which one) and that was really good as well. It's good sushi and high quality so you know what you'll be paying when you walk in but I would recommend this place for sushi people and sushi lovers. If you're not a sushi person but you're dragging along with a crowd that is then you'll be able to enjoy the rest of the food they have. Service was great as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brownspare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Keiichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing