We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good catfish plates”
Review of Smokehouse

Smokehouse
Ranked #124 of 376 Restaurants in Denton
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valley View
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good catfish plates”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Found that the Smokehouse has the best fried catfish in Denton. If you don't leave full and pleased then something is wrong. You get a good portion. Their barbeque isn't bad either. Would and do recommend Smokehouse.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poolville
1 review
“all areas”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Have been there several time, ,my favorite place to eat in Denton, ,Never had any bad experience in any areas, from food, service ,quality, atmosphere, nothing. My girlfriend and I don't smoke, and have sat all around the place and never have left smelling like smoke,, Would recommend it to anyone, Seafood and ribs have always been good. Wish ALL eating places would be deemed smoke free by law though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txscubaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, texas
Level Contributor
259 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“mediocre”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Have eaten here several times in the past, and I was quite impressed with the food. This time, however, the bbq was dry, tasteless. The side dishes also lacked flavor. Service was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Smoking allowed! :(”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

This place is a favorite treat of ours when we're in town. Great barbecue and awesome catfish! Really considering giving it up though because most of the restaurant is "smoking permitted" except along one wall. Love eating there but more hate smelling smoke the whole time and leaving reeking of smoke. Yuck!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italianice57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas, United States
1 review
“Good Food Reasonable Price, but bad odor”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We went to The Smokehouse last night as a family dinner night adn the service was good and the food was filling and great. But as we were finishing our food Some other people sat down at a table behind us and started smoking, it put a nasty taste in my mouth, nothing worse then eating Catfish with people smoking behind you... Hopefully they can get a hint and change there rules or we might not go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RConn8071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing