We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean at a Reasonable Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Studio 6 Denton - UNT
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Denton
Lowell, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

THis property formerly was a La Quinta some time ago.. It is a basic facility that does not offer breakfast (not that budget establishment offer much in the way of breakfast) or bathroom toiletries.. It is adjacent to I-35 but far away so that noise is nopt a concerm. The clmate control worked properly and there was plenty of hot water during my two-night stay. I was never able to figure out the shower operation but did not contact front desk.
There is a Greek -American restaurant next door and a hamburger joint next to the restaurant.
This motel is about 1.5 miles west of Denton Center on a moderately busy street.
THe motel. is apparently in a transition mode as there were numerous tables and chairs in the small lobby propably dating to the a Quinta period. Several very large boxes were in the lobby awainting unpacking..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dachinghwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Studio 6 Denton - UNT, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Motel 6 UNT. Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience. Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.

Sincerely,

Nick Patel
General Manager
Motel 6 UNT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    41
    18
    10
    17
See reviews for
51
19
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Of course, motel 6 is super cheap and known for their "inexpensive" rooms. I called the receptionist to book a room for TWO nights. The receptionist was obviously a non-english speaking person. He did not understand what I was trying to say at all and got frustrated when I asked him to repeat himself. Long story short, after I gave him all my credit info, I decided NOT to book with this motel just because of the unprofessionalism and rudeness of this man. I told him TO NOT book my room for me and if I wanted one, I'll just come IN PERSON to book the room. He assured me that if he even booked it, I will receive an email confirmation (in which I did not). Of course, I never ever went back trying to get a room. I'll rather spend more money elsewhere where I would receive better service.

Eventually, I noticed a charge come up on my card! I called to speak to a manager and nobody was available. Eventually, my bank got a hold of the manager and he said that he would "further investigate" and get back to me. He assured me that he did not want my money and I will receive a refund after his investigation. I NEVER RECEIVED A CALL BACK NOR DID I RECEIVE A REFUND. He also told me that I was booked for four nights! Um, no you dumb zhit, i asked for two nights because I was there on a business trip.


Rude, non-english speaking, money hungry motel and staff! No wonder they are on the BOTTOM of all the motels and hotels in the world. I've never booked at any MOTEL 6 before and this situation proves exactly WHY I will NEVER book from them or from any Motel 6!

Room Tip: Just stay away from this cheap motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Studio 6 Denton - UNT, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Ms. Julie H,

I really appreciate your taking the time to let us know of your disappointment with the no-show charges billed to you. I know how frustrating reservation problems can be and do apologize for the inconvenience.

However, we expected you on your scheduled date of arrival. We prepared your room for you and held it all night. Since the hotel was full, we turned away several other guests in order to be sure your room would be waiting for you. For this reason, we cannot credit the no-show charges. I am sorry.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,

Nick Patel,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is by far the best places I have ever spent. The service has been of top notch and its by far the most economical motels I have ever been to. The beds are so soft.. the staff has been so good and the location is awesome too. I have been to the other motel6 in denton but this one is of no comparision to any other motels in the similar price range!

Thank you Motel 6 UNT for the wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Studio 6 Denton - UNT, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the M6 Denton. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nick Patel,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Clean and comfortable at a reasonable price - I'm starting to see a pattern with Motel 6 of late. There were even pictures on the walls of our room (219), making it feel almost homey. Front desk guy wasn't particularly warm and friendly, so there's that. I don't see a reason to stay elsewhere and pay more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Studio 6 Denton - UNT, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our location and changed your view for Motel 6. I am glad that our staff was able to welcome you to our hotel, as it is one of our main goals to meet each guest's expectations. We do appreciate you sharing your good experience and we hope that you stay at our location again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

For starters, we stayed at the Motel 6 in Denton, TX and when I made the reservation on the motel6.com website (a day or two in advance), I made it for one room w/ a king sized bed w/ a microwave. Upon check in, the front desk agent informed me that there were no more rooms available w/ a king bed and that the only thing they had was a room w/ two doubles and no microwave. I asked if I could get a discount b/c that wasn't what I had reserved, especially since I gave my cc info to hold and guarantee that particular room. He said that the room rate is the same regardless, which is a joke. The least he could've done was offer me the going hotel rate, which was about $7 cheaper than what I was offered online. If I had known the room wasn't going to be available, I would've booked somewhere else. It's quite frustrating when you drive a long ways thinking that you're paying for one thing only to get the complete opposite when you arrive. My husband and I ended up taking the room b/c we needed rest. When we turned the tv on in our room, we were frustrated that FOX news was the only channel muted. You could see the picture, but hear no sound. This is how the hotel had it set up and there was nothing we could do about it. Ok, really? Does this hotel chain allow the managers and staff to run the place however they wish? I can understand that some people don't like FOX, but it's the hotel's job to be hospitable to ALL guests. When I went to check out, another front desk agent was on his cell phone the entire time and said nothing to me. I had to ask if we were done! Nice customer service! I've stayed at other motel 6's before, but this place made me think that spending a little more money at a Best Western or Marriott is worth it than dealing w/ shady service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNCfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Studio 6 Denton - UNT, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with a function recently held here. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We want our guests to have the best experience possible where every area of the hotel is clean and spacious and all services are on-time and of the highest quality. You can be confident that we will follow-up with your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,
Nick Patel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

While this property was sold from laquinta to motel 6 the upkeep and service is still very good.

The Good: staff is eager to help. pool is meticulous and partially shaded. A little diner resides adjacent to the property that serves average diner food - but its a good price and good service. Several good restaurants in the area (try Viet Bites). The beds are remarkably comfortable. The bathrooms were cleaned well (this is something I always look for in a hotel). The room was in good condition. The air conditioner is overpowered for the room and straight up could refrigerate beer if you wanted it to - so that is a huge plus. I have been staying a week now on business and there has been no late parties or anything like that so its quiet. My car has been safe in the parking lot. Maids do a good job cleaning every day.

The Bad: Ice machine is either not working or the other guests at the hotel are constantly filling up massive coolers because I can only ever seem to achieve a half a tin of ice. The guest laundry is not good - I would advise using off site laundry facilities. the pool is small. The new management does not provide continental breakfast as indicated.

Overall: this is a good location close to the colleges and the highway. If you are not looking for a stay at the Taj Mahal this is an economical, clean, well run hotel for a great price. I have no significant complaints. I would stay here again and I would suggest to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pirate_langostino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Studio 6 Denton - UNT, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 4850 Denton. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nick Patel,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I chose this place based on the LaQuinta name, paying an extra $15 a night over another option. What a mistake.

Having reserved a two-bed, non-smoking room, we arrived and were told that there were no more non-smoking rooms. The desk clerk said the woman who assigns the rooms just puts people in smoking rooms by default. After insisting on a non-smoking room, we were "upgraded" to a suite.

The rooms were filthy. Dirt on the walls surrounding the air vents, a giant hole burned in the carpet, and furniture with stains on the upholstery. And the door either didn't lock, or when it did, wouldn't open afterward. (Fire hazard!)

Midway through our three-night stay, we received a letter saying the hotel would no longer be a LaQuinta and a Motel 6 sign was hoisted into place outside. Whatever the brand, I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me.

Room Tip: No good options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subwayrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, General Manager at Studio 6 Denton - UNT, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your in not having the exact type of room your wished when you visited us. I am very sorry for the inconvenience.

I know it is important to have a room which meets your specific needs, and I know that it is an unpleasant experience to have to settle for less than you want. You can be confident that we will follow-up with your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,

Nick Patel,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denton hotels
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Denton
Days Inn Denton
#10 of 25 in Denton
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Denton
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Denton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Denton
Super 8 Denton
#14 of 25 in Denton
208 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Denton - University Drive
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Denton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 6 Denton - UNT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 Denton - UNT

Property: Studio 6 Denton - UNT
Address: 700 Fort Worth Dr, Denton, TX 76201-7137 (Formerly Motel 6 Denton - UNT)
Region: United States > Texas > Denton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Denton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Studio 6 Denton - UNT 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio 6 Denton - UNT is conveniently located off I-35E, 1 mile from the University of North Texas. Also nearby is Texas Woman's University, shopping, dining, and entertainment. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Studio 6 Denton - UNT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Denton Hotel Denton
La Quinta Denton
Denton La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing