We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quiet Hill Ranch - Fredericksburg
Nearby Hotels
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windcrest Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on Barons Creek(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$169
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
18
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
0
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was a wonderful location for our "after Christmas" family gathering. It was the perfect location for gathering as a large group as well as providing private and quiet spaces. The walking trails are safe with varied views. Fredericksburg's amazing museum and shopping opportunities were a short hop away but the ranch itself has all you need for a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Martines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had a graduation party/family get together for 35 ish. The Whatleys were wonderful, went above and beyond in every way.

Great views, wonderful wildlife, very quiet, and the stars are absolutely incredible.

This is a must stay, especially for larger groups with multiple families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We came here to get a bit of quiet time with the family and for our two young girls to get in some horse time and we succeeded on both counts.

Jim was very considerate, friendly and courteous with the girls (aged two and four) and we enjoyed the short trek through the ranch listening to his stories and discussing the life of a modern day rancher. Jim took our two year old on a short, easy ride first before we headed off on a longer ride with our four year old in the saddle. They loved it, especially our younger one who was very surprised being in the saddle on her own!

The cabins are simple but clean and functional and the beds surprisingly comfortable (although the fresh air may have had more to do with the deep sleeping). Being able to prepare and cook in the well equipped lodge kitchen is fantastic with a young family with unusual dietary needs (bring your own food (there's ample storage space in the fridge and freezer for a few days stocks), although if you're lucky you may be fortunate to have some freshly laid eggs from the chicken coup, which my daughters loved collecting).

The rooms are equipped with a small fridge (we switched it off since it was a bit noisy and we stored our food in the lodge anyway), a TV (which we didn't use, but it was a CRT one so no HDMI input for your modern gadgets... but we didn't come to watch TV!) and a small heater was plugged in which kept the room toasty when it got cold at night. There's an A/C unit but we didn't try it. As pointed out by other reviewers, the shower is a bit small but was good enough. Be careful though, the hot water in the room is very hot!

We bought camping chairs as advised, but found that we didn't really need them as the picnic table and chairs were more than adequate for our needs. If we'd sat around the camp fire then we would have used them.

There's a ton of wildlife here. We had to drive very slowly arriving at night with the amount of deer running across the unlit roads and we spotted loads of new (to us) birds without even trying to! The clear skies also make this a fantastic spot for star gazing.

The location is well out of the way... it's at least a 30 min drive to Fredericksberg and its nearby attractions, but you will drive through some wonderful countryside on the way.

Definitely recommended and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is closest to the lodge so may be easier for families with kids, although the picnic table and fire pit for this cabin are less convenient.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnymaserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Whatleys obviously appreciate and enjoy their ranch, and they want to make sure you do too during your stay. My family of 4 had a great time, from relaxing in the lodge to stargazing by a campfire – and of course the dozens of trips the kids had to make to go check on the baby chicks and look for eggs. Lil’ Dude horse ride was also a hit. Make sure you understand the amenities the different cabins offer, so you know what to expect ahead of time. You can easily day trip from there to Fredericksburg or Enchanted Rock – but I think next time (and my kids assure me there needs to be a next time), we’ll plan more down-time, just hiking & hanging out at Quiet Hill Ranch.

Room Tip: Cabin #4 is great if you want the privacy of your own small kitchen.
Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank jen850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Perfect & peaceful. Jim, the Host, was so welcoming and helpful. We truly felt like we were in our own little piece of heaven. Bird watching, enjoying the horses, chickens, and 'Snoopy' the farm cat was just the beginning of our day. Horseshoes, board games, a common pool and fireplace as well. Hiking and views were breath taking! My husband and I didn't bring food for dinner (& was planning to drive into town for dinner the first night), but I have to say a big THANK YOU to our host Jim who got on his cell-phone and made sure we had reservations at the Doss Country Store Restaurant. So sweet! We also enjoyed the surrounding towns... Clean amenities with a friendly Texas charm.... This is a "hill-country must do" for families & couples alike. :)

Room Tip: Bring provisions to eat, hiking shoes, and a good book.... and you will be set for a week of peace and quiet away from the hustle of the city. ;)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkcksoup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews