We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Trattoria Lisina

Trattoria Lisina
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Lisina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Driftwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$150
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: FM 1826
Description: Situated in the Texas hill country just outside of Austin, this rustic, casual destination, created and owned by the Mandola Family, offers a new dining experience and boasts a widely varied menu of authentic country-style Italian fare and modern takes on classic Italian dishes. We offer an extensive wine list consisting of purely Italian wines.
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our second visit. It's a beautiful facility,lovely view and tasting room. The food is well prepared and many of the menu items are different than you typiclly find. We ordered quail with a plum sauce, and the monkfish special. Both were excellent. The griled asparagus salad with goat cheese and homemade pesto sause is worth the trip by itself. When our waiter saw me hesitate over the gelato, he offered a childs portion which was the perfect size. I love this place!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliesmomTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    83
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ravioli as good as an Italian grandma.”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Attentive service in a nice atmosphere. Jett, the sommelier, made some good suggestions wine, and we sampled them before buying. What is disappointing here is one cannot buy wines from the winery anymore. Bottles and purchasing by the glass have gone up here considerably. Most are quite expensive. The Duchman Winery, adjacent to Trattoria Lisina, used to be called the Mandola Winery (the Mandola family owns Trattoria Lisina). What has happened?

As for the food, we purchased the prix fixe meal for $60.00 each. I had beautiful sea scallops in a demi-glace sauce as an appetizer, a thinner than fettuccine like pasta with truffles for the second course, and monkfish for the entree. Portions were generous. The scallops and pasta with truffles were delicious. The monkfish was also a solid course, but it sat on bed of risotto and leeks. I could have done without so many leeks. My partner enjoyed an antipasti platter as a starter, pork ravioli as second course, and beautiful beef tenderloin served with garlic mashed potatoes and a vegetable for the main. His antipasti - the marinated button mushrooms and onions were excellent. The sampling of cured meats, cheeses, and olives were also tasty. The pork ravioli was as good as my spouse's Italian grandma used to make. Homemade goodness! In addition, the tenderloin melted in the mouth and was cooked to absolute perfection (medium rare). The tiramisu was a sweet ending to the meal, but not the best I have ever tasted. Travis provided personal service and was not overbearing. Water glasses were refilled regularly. We will return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustinGal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and staff”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had a wonderful dinner. I enjoyed the lamb glazed with a balsamic vinegar reduction and my husband had pasta. We also enjoyed the stuffed artichoke heart appetizer. Staff was very friendly. Would strongly recommend. They were very busy for a Tuesday night so you may want to make a reservation on a Friday or Saturday evening.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2thfairy89410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Went here for a large party. The service and food were very memorable and so yummy. Worth the drive

Helpful?
Thank Sandy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

What a beautiful restaurant and setting!!  Most of the food is very good - just don't have the rotisserie chicken - it is way too seasoned.  They have various offerings of gelato that are so good.  And their wines are delicious too.  Great spot for a special day.  Reserve ahead!

Helpful?
Thank jegSanAntonio_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Lisina also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Lisina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing