We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great evening at T.L.”
Review of Trattoria Lisina

Trattoria Lisina
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Lisina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Driftwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$150
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: FM 1826
Description: Situated in the Texas hill country just outside of Austin, this rustic, casual destination, created and owned by the Mandola Family, offers a new dining experience and boasts a widely varied menu of authentic country-style Italian fare and modern takes on classic Italian dishes. We offer an extensive wine list consisting of purely Italian wines.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
311 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Another great evening at T.L.”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday Saturday night and had a lovely time. We've been there before with a group, and really enjoyed ourselves. But, Saturday night, I had made a reservation for a "quiet" table for four. Even though they were busy and had many people waiting, we did indeed get a table off in the back area, looking out on the bochi court, and it was as quiet as possible. Our server, Jessica, was fabulous with suggesting wines, specials, and answering questions about the menu. When we were deciding between options, she gave us good information. The asparagus salad is to die for - wonderful smokey flavor. And, the calimari were the most tender I have had in a long time with great dipping sauces. The snapper special was the favorite of the night. And, the sugar donuts (served hot with honey and pastery creme) are our choice every time we visit. This is a great place for a special occassion...or just a night out. What a hidden gem and it's so nice to get out of the city. I would call and make a reservation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zamigaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    83
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
163 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were staying in Austin, but friends recommended this restaurant. It was a surprise to us after driving about 25 miles out into the Southwest Austin hill country, we finally arrived to find that the place was full. As other reviewers stated, the place is very attractive. We had reservations for a table for four, which was ready when we arrived. We all had different entrees, which were very large, no need for side dishes. I had the lamb chops, which were large and very well prepared on top of garlic mashed potatos. My wife had some really great raviolis. Wine prices were a bit on the high side, about 4 times liquor store prices, but we enjoyed a bottle of Chianti with our dinner. Service was prompt and helpful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
261 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Wonderful 44th Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The staff at Trattoria Lisina made our 44th Wedding Anniversary a very special evening. I sent a dozen red roses in advance and asked for a special table ... this request was fulfilled to the max. A special table with white linen and the rose bouquet was set up next to the front window ... as private as possible within the restaurant. At the waitress’s recommendation, we shared a bottle of Mazzoni sangiovese/merlot blend ... an excellent, reasonably priced choice with our meals. Since my wife has a gluten and seafood allergy, we were pretty anxious about going to an unknown Italian restaurant. This was no problem at all. Although, they don't offer gluten free pasta, most of the meat dishes can be prepared gluten free and the grilled vegetables were excellent. My wife enjoyed the seasoned chicken with olive oil (Pollastrello alle Brace) and I tried the lasagna. Both dishes were beautifully prepared and tasted great ... the lasagna was almost as good as my wife’s :-). For dessert we shared the gelato with a shot of hot espresso (Affogato) … quite simply delizioso! We will definitely return to Trattoria Lisina.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
410 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Excellent view. Excellent service.”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

We drove here not really sure what to expect. We bought a voucher on Travelzoo and wanted to check it out.

Wow, was the first word I said when I saw the entry gate to this Paradise. The view is spectacular, the landscape is gorgeous and ambiance; both inside and outside is phenomenal.

The appetizers were delicious, the entrees were very tasty and yummy. The dessert was simply heavenly.

The service was awesome by everyone. If you live anywhere around here please do yourself a favor and visit. Your companion will thank you and so will your taste buds.

We have already scheduled a return trip to Driftwood at the end of August.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very well designed resturant”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Although Driftwood Tx is in the middle of nowhere I would recommend a visit to this place. If you are staying a in wimberly or austin it would be a nice drive to eat dinner. The red fish was fresh and very good. My friend had the lamb which was also very tasty. We decided to try the sugar donuts that were a great finish touch to our meal. This place is located in a vineyard that is beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bear4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Lisina also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Lisina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing