We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull”
Review of Trattoria Lisina

Trattoria Lisina
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Lisina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Driftwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$150
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: FM 1826
Description: Situated in the Texas hill country just outside of Austin, this rustic, casual destination, created and owned by the Mandola Family, offers a new dining experience and boasts a widely varied menu of authentic country-style Italian fare and modern takes on classic Italian dishes. We offer an extensive wine list consisting of purely Italian wines.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awfull”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We drove out of our way to go there. It was pretty, looked over a fountain and the vineyard. I found they tried to push 4 courses on you. I found my food inedible. My husbands lasagna was homemade. Fresh peaches over homemade ice cream was OK. Would not go there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    89
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great End to Wine Tasting Weekend”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We like to try a new winery or two every time we go on a 'wine weekend'. We were very happy to end our weekend trip with this wonderful cuisine. My girlfriend had a seafood pasta dish and I had a fettucini and mushroom dish. They were exquisite.

The venue is perfectly situated, with a vineyard out front, just beyond a tuscan-like landscape which was carefully maintained.

The waiter was polite and professional while not getting too familar, which made for a very tasteful experience. He did make a suggestion about our food choices and was knowlegeable about the menu.

For the venue, quality of food and service, the prices were reasonable. Great experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 924JohnHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Even the salt & pepper mills were Italian!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

If you want ambiance, this is the place. Ask for a table overlooking the lovely gardens. Wine menu was extensive as you would expect. Pork & lamb chops were nicely done as ordered. Salad was fresh without being overloaded with dressing. Side were enough of a change to be enticing. Tiramisu was the best I've had outside of Italy. I mean it was moanin' good. Service attentive without being smarmy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freshisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tuscany in Texas”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently went to Trattoria Lisina for a special occasion. As usual, it did not disappoint! The setting, in the middle of a small vineyard in Driftwood, TX, is beautiful and picturesque. The food is always excellent and the staff professional and friendly. They handle intimate tables and large groups with equal finesse, while the ambiance provides a feeling of comfortable elegance. On this particular night, we were also blessed with an incredible moon that bathed the courtyard and created a beautiful place to relax and stroll after dinner. I highly recommend Trattoria Lisina for any occasion. It's worth the short drive!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally…..”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have intended for probably 3 years to get out to Mandolo's in Driftwood. Spent 2 days & nites at a heavenly place outside Wimberly, and on the way back to Austin decided to see if we could get an early lunch. Since it was Friday we were in luck, and 3 hours later rolled out on our way home!
Words cannot do Mandolo's justice, whether the topic be setting, food, service, quality, or value. THIS is Italian cooking the way it should be. There is nothing like it here in the Austin area. It is well worth whatever effort is necessary - you won't be disappointed.

P.S.: Ask for Andrea as your server - enthusiastic, intelligent, knowledgeable, helpful to a fault, and eager to please. Damian - she is a first class representative of your establishment, and you should bring her with you to Italy to see her homeland.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MPR1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Lisina also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Lisina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing