We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Relaxing!”
Review of Mt Gainor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mt Gainor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Just got back from our visit - it was wonderful! When we first arrived, I wasn't sure, but fell in love with it. Rooms are very nice, breakfast is good and the owners are a plus. If you're looking for a place to relax and enjoy the quiet of the country - this is it. Love Nell the cat too. She's an outdoor cat for those with allergies.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DogRescuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Mt Gainor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2008

We stayed at Mt. Gainor Inn to celebrate our 2nd anniversary, and it exceeded all expectations. This was our 3rd B&B stay, and Laurie and Jerry are the very best. They have thought of absolutely everything. The breakfasts and the dinner in the woods (we highly recommend doing this) were delicious. I have never enjoyed meals more anywhere. The scenery, sunsets and stars from the hot tub were spectacular (we recommend Attic Room). The Pinnixes are warm, friendly, and make you feel like family. We really did not want to leave - ever.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastransplant03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

A week back from the Inn and we are ready to go back. This enchanting Inn is located 20 minutes southwest of Austin, Tx. We stayed in the "Garden Room" which had these windows with spectacular views of the Texas Hill Country. Every night we stayed, we sat on our private patio, drinking the fabulous wine Laurie and Jerry (owners) recommended and watching the sun set. One night I booked the "Romantic Dinner in the Woods" where we walked a candle-lit path to a private area on the edge of the woods. We were surrounded by candles and our overhead light was provided by the nigh sky which was heavly spinkled with stars. All ingrediants were provided by local farmers and everything organic. The best meal I and my boyfriend have had in ages!!! We both work in the Food Industry so we both have had a fair shares of good and not so good. This was better that good; it was excellent, 4-stars. If you are in Texas or going to vist, you must go to the Mt. Gainor Inn. It will be an experience you will NEVER forget!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank felizchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We stayed at this little B&B. It was nice, but really not what I was expecting from the other reviews and pictures. The country is beautiful, and it's a very nice and quiet location. We sat on the hammock and enjoyed a glass of wine from a local winery until late that night. The only thing that I didn't really like about staying here was how much more rustic our room was; it appeared much more luxurious online. Breakfast was great, but it wasn't quite as amazing as the reviews led me to believe: however the O.J. is awesome. If you love the simple country and a cozy almost cabin like experience this is for you. If you are expecting a bit more luxury for what you are paying, you might want to check out some other B&B’s locally.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maybaby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

An experience nothing short of a feast for the senses and the soul. From the songs of a variety of birds, the scent of cedar, the beautiful Hill Country setting to the delicious 4 Star breakfast served in our incredible Attic suite. Which, if we could have brought back to New York we would have. Our wonderful hosts, Laurie and Jerry, were helpful in getting us around with directions and were a delight. They made us feel right at home. We can highly recommend Mt. Gainor Inn. Elaine & Peter

Stayed: April 2008
Thank TravelingWithUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Our stay at the Mount Gainor Inn was nothing short of wonderful. The location is scenic as well as secluded, and the amenities are top-notch (outdoor jacuzzi, spacious and private rooms). Most memorable about the visit were the charming hospitality and delicious breakfast. We highly recommend the Mount Gainor Inn!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank davidb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

My husband and I spent my birthday weekend at Mt. Gainor Inn in Dripping Springs. The owners prepared fabulous breakfasts (they even shared some recipes) and we had a day to spend at the nearby Wimberly Market Days.
The Inn was comfortable, cozy, and a real delightful place to get away from everything and simply relax.
The Inn is truly in the middle of the country; you actually cross over several cattle guards to get there! We enjoyed the garden room and the privacy it had to offer. It's the perfect place to run away from all you woes and just enjoy life.
Marvin and Cathy

Stayed: October 2007
Thank Z44me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dripping Springs
17.4 mi away
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
#1 of 2 in Bee Cave
327 reviews
18.3 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
22.6 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 201 in Austin
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Lakeway
2.1 mi away
Camp Lucy
Camp Lucy
#2 of 5 in Dripping Springs
26 reviews
8.8 mi away
BellaVida Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Gainor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Gainor Inn

Address: 2390 Prochnow Rd, Dripping Springs, TX 78620-4847
Region: United States > Texas > Dripping Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dripping Springs
Price Range: £41 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Gainor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I felt like I was floating..it was so quiet, I felt my whole body relaxed and time stood still... MT GAINOR INN is an enchanting 100 year old farm house resting high on a hill with relaxing 360 degree hill country views. We invite you to take a break for a quiet intimate get away from the city or a gathering of friends and family. We specalize in women's retreats and welcome Scrap Booking, Quilting Groups, Cycling clubs, social or business gatherings and Wimberley Market Day treckers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mt Gainor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing