We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tex-Zen Dreams

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dripping Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tex-Zen Dreams
Bryan, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Refreshing”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I went for our 3 year anniversary back in June and we were very glad we did. It was exactly what we needed, relaxing, refreshing, and much needed time away together. It was the perfect distance from town, close enough to get to all the attractions and far enough to feel secluded from the business of life. Our host was amazing, made delicious breakfasts, and very helpful when it came to ideas of the best places to see. She also gave us a free room upgrade since it was available. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sardiver823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vinton, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Once again Jeff and Lorretta made our anniversary special again. Weather,scenery, and hospitality, made it especially nice. We so enjoy the local winiers in the area, and to end the day of visiting many of them, we LOVE to go back to the cottage and enjoy the bottle of wine that we tasted, and sit in the hot tub with a nice cozy fire. I suggest the end of October and first 2 weeks of November to go.The weather is perfect. As bad as the drought has been this year, there was lots of greenery and water in the creek. It was amazing. My daughter and son in law stayed in the other duplex, and was able to experience the weekend with us. Thanks for everything Retta and Jeff.

Stephanie and Paul Bingham

Room Tip: Fitness center was hiking to creek, and our swimming pool was the hot tub!! We like the bountineer r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swope58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tex-Zen for two nights in September of 2013. The setting is peaceful and our stay was quite spectacular. Ell went out of her way with friendly hospitality to make it that much more enjoyable. The cottage was tidy and comfortable. Quietly watching the sunset from the hot tub while deer walked about the property around us was so very nice.

Room Tip: We did not see inside the other cottage but the Texas room was very nice, and a bit closer to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Boutonniere room for our 14th anniversary. Ell was the perfect host, welcoming us with a plate of warm cookies and a warm smile. She made us two delicious breakfasts for our early morning trips to Pedernales Falls and the Hamilton Pool. The room had everything we needed and the B&B is close to several local attractions. We plan to visit Ell again very soon!

Room Tip: Both rooms were very, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaghorn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This little place was amazing. Ell was helpful and amazing, suggesting local places to eat and drink and just a phone call away with directions. The rooms were quiet, clean, and fully stocked with everything we needed. This romantic get away was exactly what we were looking for. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasieWettig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Bouquet room and found a wonderful, warm, inviting, quiet, gorgeous place!!! Our trip started off at a horrible little hotel and who saved it? Tex-Zen!!! We loved staying here and "L" was absolutely marvelous!!! Her morning breakfest were delicious and cooked perfectly! No requqst was too small, or too much. The Texas countryside was gorgeous to wake up to, completely peaceful and though we seemed to be on our own away from it all "L" was there if we needed her just up the road. Tex-Zen is perfectly located between Hamilton Pool and Perdenales Falls which was perfect for our vacation! No more hotels for us when we are in Dripping Springs we know to look up Tex-Zen a true Texas Experience to remember and want to have again, and again... etc..

Room Tip: Eithery room is perfect! Close to the hot tub, private little fire pit, outside private seating, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Boutonniere unit as part of a wedding weekend getaway for one of our neighbor's sons. The ranch where the cottage is located is on a super quiet cul-de-sac road about 9 miles northwest of Dripping Springs. It lies on a particularly scenic section of Texas hill country that has a mix of rolling hills and rugged wild-west foliage. We had somewhat of a challenge finding it after dark but if you use GPS or your mileage counter from key intersections you should be fine. The owners Loretta & Jeff were fantastic hosts and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The two room unit was extremely cozy and well decorated. It had a sizeable full bathroom and a mini-kitchen (including a refrigerator, sink & microwave). Loretta delivered our 3-course home cooked breakfast each evening to be kept in the fridge overnight so we could heat our breakfast in the microwave at our own leisure the next morning. These meals were fresh, delicious, had generous portions, and each meal was served with fresh fruit and juice, and all the little "extras" that make a meal special.

We particularly enjoyed relaxing in the hammock, soaking in the large shared hot tub and exploring the enhanced property down to the creek bed at the base of the hill. Unfortunately the drought has dried up the creek temporarily, but it was still fun seeing how the owners have taken great pride to add scenic structures, walkways, landscaping and even a zip line down in the valley below. Our only suggestion for improvement would be to replace the smaller room TV's with larger flat screens for evening movie watching together.

In summary, Tex-Zen Dreams is a great location for couples to get away, relax and spend quiet time together. Its location is also convenient for day trips to explore several great parks and quaint small towns with interesting shops and restaurants in the area. We are looking forward to going back there soon.

Room Tip: We were able to see both cottage units, but we prefer the one with the king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaucemanJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dripping Springs
9.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Springs
Sleep Inn & Suites Dripping Spri...
#1 of 2 in Dripping Springs
150 reviews
15.3 mi away
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
Sonesta Bee Cave Austin
#1 of 2 in Bee Cave
266 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Lakeway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
14.5 mi away
Mountain Star Lodge and Hotel
13.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn
BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn
#1 of 1 in Johnson City
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tex-Zen Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tex-Zen Dreams

Property: Tex-Zen Dreams
Address: 699 Hillview Cir, Dripping Springs, TX 78620-3375
Region: United States > Texas > Dripping Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dripping Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the scenic beauty and tranquil nature of the rural Texas Hill Country at Dripping Springs' most charming and secluded bed-and-breakfast accommodation. Couples relax in one of our two private rooms in a "Cottage-of-Dreams" bedroom duplex cottage nestled on a picturesque hillside at the center of 10+ acres overlooking Sycamore Creek, Tex-Zen bridge, and a creek-side gazebo. Groups up to four or five including children and a pet can now experience glam camping at "Camp Zen", a cozy campsite under the trees, in the comfort of a 30-foot Holiday Rambler travel trailer and most of the luxuries of home. Bike the back road to Pedernales State Park just 7 miles away. Adult road bike and mountain bike rentals are available if you can't bring your own bike. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing