We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Fort Stockton
Houston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reliable and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

On the mind-and-rear-end numbing drive across Texas you need a place to stop that is reliably clean and comfortable. This hotel has been that for us 3 separate times over the past 2 years, most recently the end of June. The rooms have a small kitchen, queen size bed, desk/dining table, and comfortable recliner. Reception staff is pleasant and efficient. And they are dog-friendly ($35 cost for the pet). There is an IHOP restaurant a couple of blocks away. We got the menu at the hotel front desk and went over to the restaurant to place the order for take out...and ate in our room. The hotel chain does not serve breakfast in the morning (they are designed for longer stays, ergo the kitchen in the room) but this property has fresh coffee, bananas and apples available. They also have a "pantry" with juices, soft drinks, snacks, that you can select from on the honor system. A few "nits" in case management is reading this: it would be nice to have 4 pillows on the bed (vs 3) when 2 guests are in the room; having an ice machine on the property would be helpful for those of us not staying long enough for the in-room refrigerator to make ice; and a reading lamp on both sides of the bed would be appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winksHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear winksHouston,
I would like to introduce myself as the GM of the Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton. Mr./Mrs. WinksHouston, It is rare to have someone take time to write such a nice survey regarding their recent stay! For this we want to thank you and appreciate you.
To assist you in answering your request, we do not have an ice machine in our hallways. What we do have are the ice makers in your full size refrigerators, unfortunately it does take an average of 7-10 minutes for it to drop. In the meantime should you ever need ice immediately we do keep baggies at the front readily available for our guest at no charge. You'll be happy to hear that we are in the process of upgrading our terry and linen in each and every room; beige to white and adding an additional pillow, making it a total of 4 pillows to each bed! Our second floor conversion begins this Monday 22nd of July.
Reading lamps along with additional counter space in our ADA Suites are something we are looking into. Beginning January 1, 2014 we will have additional clip on lamps for guest to check out during their stay along with additional appliances and games boards!
I do hope these future additions will complete your needs and requests when visiting our hotel.
Thank you again for your business!
Regards,
Paul Amaya
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    54
    24
    8
    13
See reviews for
52
42
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

As of June, 2013, this Candlewood Suites is fairly new. Intended for longer stays, it also accepts overnight guests. Under normal circumstances it might be a little pricey for me, but I happened upon a special, and selected it for one night. Everything was quite excellent: check-in, check-out, and the room was quite spacious, and the beds comfortable. Very clean and well kept, and the staff was most gracious, Melanie (I think it was) was lovely to us. We were not interested in the kitchen, of course. The bathroom was quite fine, and the lighting acceptable. There is no breakfast (since it is an extended stay hotel and you would cook yourself), except for a few items in the gift shop which may be charged to your bill. If I can score a good price, this will be my Fort Stockton hotel from now on. A great choice.

Room Tip: Book as much in advance as possible, and look for specials if you have a choice in dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reservata2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Reservata2,
First and foremost, on behalf of the Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton and its staff members, we want to thank you for the opportunity to have catered to you and your family.
Second, we appreciate the kind words, it is survey's such as yours that enlighten our days and are great to share during our weekly staff meetings.
We strive ourselves to assure that we continue to provide all of our guest the utmost professionalism and to make certain that we have and will provide a memorable experience making our Candlewood Suites "home away from home" .
We looking forward to your next visit....we appreciate you!
Paul Amaya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at the Candlewood Suites on our way to visit family in Texas 2 weeks ago. I was quite surprised to get an email a couple of days ahead of our arrival from the hotel saying they were looking forward to our stay. The hotel was really nice and clean! Full size refrigerator, electric stove, coffee pot and microwave as well as a flat screen TV. The bathroom amenities were very nice too.

We stayed at Candlewood in El Paso and the laundry room was FREE of charge - all you needed was detergent. I would imagine that this would be true at this property too.

We would stay there again while traveling across country.

Room Tip: No restaurant on the property. Several places in the area to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsittig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Jsittig,
It gives us great pleasure to learn that you and your family had a great experience at our West Texas Oasis; The Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton.
Although I did not have the pleasure of meeting you, I can only hope during your next travels throughout West Texas I will be able to meet and greet you.
As a member of the IHG Family, we are an extended stay property that has yet to saturate & educate our loyal IHG Rewards Members with our amenities. As you stated, we are happy that you will continue to use our Candlewood Suites Brand, we also have another higher caliber of an extended hotel called the Staybridge Suites, one which you will be happy to have stayed at, these are my favorite.
Thank you again!
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This property is the newest hotel/motel in Fort Stockton. It's a extended stay place but they do take overnights. The desk clerk was just great ... she explained everything and even let us see the room before we decided to stay.

Our room (suite) was large and clean and even included HGTV (which my partner just loves), popcorn in the microwave, and free wi-fi.

There is no breakfast included with the room but there is a snack-bar in the lobby with ample snacks and drinks. Fruit and coffee are free for the taking.

Finally let me say that there is a fitness center and a number of guests have stayed here for years; many have been here for six months.

I would stay here again while overnighting in Fort Stockton.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobInAustinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear HappyCouple3333,

Let me start by saying that on behalf of the Candlewood Suites Staff and I, we thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback about your stay with us.

As you mentioned we are an extended stay property, that being the reason for no hot breakfast. We do however offer the Complimentary Coffee, Fruit and Instant Oatmeal for our overnight guest.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,
Elizabeth Fabre
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on a cross-country motorcycle trip. The desk clerk was very nice, and the room and hotel itself very clean. There is no breakfast other than instant oatmeal, some fruit, and some breads. For the price paid, this is not a good value.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Gary B,

On behalf of the Candlewood suites staff and I, we would like to thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write us a review.


We are a part of the Holiday Inn Family, however our extended stay brand does things differently, although we welcome our transient customers, Candlewood suites is not for everyone due to it being for long term stay. There are other IHG brands that due offer the hot breakfast in the mornings and the expectations you seek.


We greatly appreciate your business and hope you choose other IHG properties in the near future.

Thank you,
Elizabeth Fabre
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We spent the night at the Candlewood Suites in Fort Stockton Texas. This motel is a newer building and designed for extended stays. Our room had a full size refrigerator, micro wave oven, two burner electric stove, kitchen sink and cookware. All items in like new conditions and ready to use. The bathroom is very clean and lots of thick towels, soap and all the little bottles fill with conditioner, etc. This motel is next to I-10, but you can't hear the road noise. Easy access for a quick getaway, and several places to eat within a mile of the motel. Room rates for this stay was around $90 dollars. For the money, it's priced right and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable and we got a great nights rest. No hot breakfast but they did provide snacks and instant oatmeal to take to your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglasB7988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear DouglasB7988,

On behalf of the Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton and its staff, we wish to thank you for taking time to provide us with such kind words.

I am elated to have read and know that we met your overnight expectations and certainly aspire to be of service in the near future.

As one of the leading hotel chains, IHG has many additional properties for you and your travelers to visit.

Thank you again, we appreciate your business.

Paul Amaya
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel we preferred was booked so this one was close by and available. It was just OK with no frills and no breakfast. If you are just looking for a clean room for the night (and unfortunate enough to get stuck in Fort Stockton on a drive across Texas) this could work for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaineonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Elaine on Vacation,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding our little Oasis in West Texas.

Although we may have not fulfilled your expectations, we certainly appreciate your business and the opportunity to have serviced you and your travelers.

As a member of Holiday Inn Family, our extended stay brand does do things differently, although we welcome our transient customers, our base consist is that of a different branch of 7 day stays or more.

Equipped with a full kitchens, it allows our guests the option to prepare their own dietary meals.

We have complimentary washer/dryers, lending movie library, 2 Stainless Steel Grills with a fire pit at our Gazebo/Pool area, not to mention weekly housekeeping; appreciating and allowing our guest their privacy.

To reiterate, we appreciate your business and we certainly hope you continue to select IHG Properties; many of which we have that do provide the hot breakfast and the expectations you seek.

Sincerely,
Paul Amaya
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Stockton hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Stockton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Stockton
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 17 in Fort Stockton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 17 in Fort Stockton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Stockton
Hampton Inn Fort Stockton
#2 of 17 in Fort Stockton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Stockton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton

Property: Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton
Address: 2469 West Interstate Hwy, Fort Stockton, TX 79735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Stockton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Fort Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton, receipiant of the 2013 & 2015 Excellence Award, voted for Best Hotel in Pecos Co. in 2014 The city's first and only extended stay hotel with fully equipped kitchens. FREE guest laundry, FREE DVD lending library, fitness center, outdoor pool, gazebo w/2 BBQ grill w/Fire Pit, Candlewood Cupboard 24 hrs and second to none guest services.We welcome your four legged family members! (Minimum Pet Fee).Come experience West Texas Hospitality and allow us to cater to you and your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fort Stockton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing