We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center
Ranked #79 of 111 Hotels in Fort Worth
W Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location.”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I loved the location of this hotel.
The only negative was that there are no elevators. This is NOT clear on the Residence Inn website - not even hinted at in the pictures. This should be changed. I can deal with things I know about in advance.
We stayed in a 2-bedroom loft suite. It was fairly spacious (master bath smaller than loft bath - poor plan) - had everything we needed, though it could use some updating. It WAS very clean.
But all the 2-bedroom loft suites are on the 2nd floor and you must carry luggage up very narrow and steep flights of stairs. Our suite was quickly accessible from the parking lot, but I'm not sure this is true for all the rooms.
Since it was 15 minutes to the Stockyards downtown, and 15 minutes from shopping and restaurants along I-20 and Hulen, as well as literally next door to the Zoo and cultural area, we loved the location. There are lots of restaurants close by and they offer a nice free breakfast on-site.
The pool was small, but very clean and lovely. We enjoyed a swim in the afternoon to cool off from the 100+ temps.
Might stay here again, if we need a 2-bedroom. They are SO hard to find! Otherwise, probably not because of the stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for parking near your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    158
    162
    120
    88
See reviews for
317
69
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in a two-story room with 2 separate bedrooms. Layout was fine, but room itself was quite old and worn down. Carpeting and furniture definitely needed updating. Breakfast was nice with lots of selection. Also enjoyed the outdoor basketball court. Probably won't return again without updates to rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
387 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I stayed here one night with my four kids ages 8-14 for an academic competition at TCU. Having read the negative reviews on TA, I was nervous about what our 2 bedroom suite would be like, but our rooms were fine--not as nice as most Residence Inns we have stayed at, but not the worst. Carpets are a bit worn, furnishings are a bit dated, but there is plenty of space, and everything was clean. Having 2 bathrooms is great, counter space was fine, having a desk in the master bedroom was nice. We did not use the kitchenette, but we enjoyed using the table for board games. The TV was fine, and my 14 year old slept well on the sleeper sofa. Beds were comfortable, and we all slept from about 1030pm-830am. We had requested a quiet room, and were given an upstairs suite by the river path-no one heard any street noise. The free WiFi worked well. Fitness center is small, but we didn't need it.
Service at check-in was friendly & quick. Basketballs are available to check out. Breakfast was nice, about average for Residence Inn, and better than most places-hot eggs, spicy potatoes with onions, sausage, tortillas, Canadian bacon, bacon, pancakes, and oatmeal were available along with the usual cold cereal, yogurt, continental items. There were fresh blueberries, strawberry sauce, chocolate chips, and pecans along with the usual pancake/oatmeal toppings, plus two types of salsa & cheese for the eggs. There was plenty of space to eat.
Price was reasonable for a good location in a major city. This location was cheaper than the cultural district one, plus we needed the sleeper sofa. The drive to TCU was very short, and the zoo was a short walk away. We ate a nice dinner at Blue Mesa Grill just across the street, and there were several other nonchain restaurants. We ate lunch at Panera, also across the street. The Stockyards were a 12 minute drive away, so we visited them before the competition. We would stay here again if we need to visit TCU.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Please do not base your opinion of other Residence Inns from this one in Fort Worth. It is very outdated and the bed needs replacing. The mattress is old and very firm. We went to Target and bought a mattress pad to cover the gross bed. The kitchen has appliances from before I was born, they are really old. The dishes provided are also old and didn't appear to be very clean. The bedside tables, kitchen table/desk, and coffee table all were dirty and had to be scrubed with Clorox wipes to get the caked on junk off. The linens on the bed are old and I suggest if you do stay here to bring your own bedding! The rooms are a little smaller than what I have seen at other Residence Inns. The entire room is just dated and in need of a good scrubing. The walls are dirty, the doors are dirty, the lamps are dusty. They just need a good painting and scrub down. I don't even want to think what is really on green carpet that you can't see...yuck! The shower head had a lot of build up on it and wasn't the best shower but it has water pressure, but we ran out of hot water fairly quickly. I will not stay here again. If you are needing a hotel in this area of Fort Worth, stay across the stress at the Courtyard. One plus about this hotel is the free internet and also that it looks like apartments and they are all outside units and the first floor has a little patio. Our daughter liked being able to go outside and look around and I had the comfort of knowing it's fenced so she can't go far. During our stay it was fairly quiet, we could hear the people above us walking around but never heard any traffic noise and we were near the road.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver Metro Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Have not stayed in a worse Residence Inn.

The staff is fine, but there is nothing they can do to outweigh the need for money to put in to redo the beds, the furnishings, the bedding itself, everything!

The first room smelled heavily of smoke, the second of mildew. I finally gave up and just decided to spend as little time in the room as possible.

The bedding was literally frayed and coming apart at the edges. How is that for a nice comforter to curl up with at night-scratchy and all the way across coming apart at the seam.

I have never seen rooms at a hotel so in need of refurbishing and this place is not a $60/night gig.

I love to suggest places, but this is a No No No-Don't Go!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestevaluation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Stayed here for about a month. This hotel is of the older "apartment style" Residence Inn variety. Nice in some respects for feeling like you have your own space. Some units actually have an oven, which comes in handy based on what you are cooking. Most studios are downstairs, and due to the construction of the buildings you can get a lot of floor noise from the people above you. If you are going to stay in a studio make sure to ask if an upstairs unit is available...especially on the weekends when more families are staying due to the proximity to the Zoo. The Zoo is nice, as well as the Botannical Gardens. Also there is a path along the river that leads to Trinity Park. Staff was friendly, but due to the newer hotel in the Cultural District I ended up moving over there for the remainder of my stay in Fort Worth. The Cultural District Residence Inn also has a more professional business traveler feel to it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djtimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Visited the Residence Inn Fort Worth University drive after staying at the Residence Inn in Tyler TX ... because my stay there was so good. Arriving in Fort Worth, I found the hotel to have an exceptional location near TCU, and the traditional "welcome home" feeling that many Residence Inn's share. Being an older property, the rooms are generally larger and include a living area, a fully stocked kitchen (although a hot breakfast is served daily and there are several restaurants within walking distance) and a separate sleeping area.
Adjacent to the hotel is a park along the river, and the zoo is a short walk. The staff is very friendly, and does all that it can to ensure that you feel like the hotel is "home away from home". I'll stay again on my next Fort Worth visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActSolutns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cultural District
Residence Inn by Marriott Fort Worth Cultural District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center
Address: 1701 S University Dr, Fort Worth, TX 76107-6535 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Worth University Drive/River Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 111 Hotels in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from TCU, the Fort Worth Zoo and the fun and excitement of The Stockyards, our hotel puts guests in an excellent location for enjoying Fort Worth, Texas. Guests can take advantage of our spacious extended stay suites featuring fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access. Start your day with a complimentary hot breakfast, and after a long day relax in our outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Fort Worth/medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fort Worth University Drive/River Plaza Hotel Fort Worth
Fort Worth Residence Inn
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Fort Worth/Medical Center Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing