We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to see a show”

Casa Manana Theater
Ranked #36 of 156 things to do in Fort Worth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The historic Casa Manana Theatre is the largest Broadway and Children's Theatre in Fort Worth. Upcoming Broadway shows: Million Dollar Quartet, November 5-13; West Side Story, March 4-12, 2017; Rock of Ages, June 3-11, 2017. Upcoming Children's Theatre shows: Santa Claus a New Musical, November 25 - December 23; Rapunzel, Rapunzel, A Very Hairy Fairy Tale, February 3-19, 2017; Red Riding Hood, March 17 - April 2, 2017; Disney's The Little Mermaid, April 21 - May 14, 2017. Casa Manana also offers premiere theatre training in musical theatre, dance and voice.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to see a show”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A theatre in the round setting. Good solid place with nice productions. Not the some type of grandeur as Bass Hall, but a very good venue for entertainment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rbdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cats Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to see Cats at Casa Manana in Fort Worth a couple of months ago and it was a delightful experience. We bought our tickets rather late so we were in the back section but almost center stage. However since the theater is not huge and no obstructions we could see very well. Part of the sound and special effects crew booth was in front of us so it was a bit distracting simply on a focal point distraction so some may wish to sit to either side. Had never seen the play in its entirety live or otherwise and was pleasantly surprised. The theater use to be open and in the round so it has a lot of history in itself. The performers were excellent as well as the costumes and the best Ive seen other than The Lion King on Manhattan.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank freddielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An intimate theater with stand-out performances”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first time to enjoy a performance at Casa Manana, though I've lived in Dallas for many years. We went to see the theater's final performance of "Cats"; an absolutely charming and fine rendition of the Broadway hit.

The theater is intimate; even though it has over 1800 seats available for performances. Our seats for "Cats" were in the center of the theater, row N. We could easily see the entire stage. Our only criticism was the acoustics. Some of the sound seemed to be muffled; some lyrics were not easily heard. It was almost as though the sound was too "large" for the theater.

Casa Manana is perfectly situated in the Fort Worth Cultural district, with the Kimball Art Museum, Ft. Worth Museum of Science and History and Will Rogers Coliseum all within walking distance of one another.

This is a perfect venue to introduce children to the performing arts; not too overwhelming yet not too small. I look forward to going to another performance at Casa Manana soon!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoimaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
514 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It has been years since I have been to Casa Manana. I went to the opening of Oswald last week. The author was present as was most of the Ft Worth city counsel. The acting was flawless. History came alive. I was able to escape my life and relive a portion of Ft. Worth and Dallas history. I am so glad I spent my evening @ Casa and have no plans to wait so long to return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Theater in the Round”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very unique. First class productions all the way a"round"! If you've not been to a theater in the round before, it's definitely worth a visit. And part of the year they feature children's plays, too, which are great family entertainment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Manana Theater also viewed

 

Been to Casa Manana Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing