We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lame”
Review of Stockyards Rodeo

Stockyards Rodeo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lame”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

If you are from New York and have never seen a horse maybe this will be fun for you. If you want to see really authentic rodeo with really good performers go to Mesquite. Really poorly paced (slow, slow, slow). Nothing very exciting. Poor acoustics in a really old building. Can't hear anything the announcer is saying because of the acoustics. Really expensive beer. At least the building was air conditioned!! And we had free tickets given to is by the hotel. If we had paid money it would have been a miserable experience. Free made it tolerable.

Helpful?
3 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    202
    63
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hello cowboy :-p”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

On our last vist to Texas, I visited Dallas, Arlington and Fortworth,
The rodeo was reccomended to us, and I for one really enjoyed it, great atmosphere inside the arena especially when the Texan (anthem where everybody claps hands) was played, unknown to myself there's a bull run in the town during the day, hopefully I'll see this next time, but I'd reccomended it, there's bars and restaurants aplenty near arena, opposite there a market with every wee brick a brack u would want to waste yr money on ;-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeoTheScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“"Use your outside voice!"”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a blast! It's a great venue - all the seating had a good view - and you are close to the action. In fact, we got dirt flung on us from an unhappy horse! The announcer was fun and informative - especially nice if you are new to rodeo and/or the events. The competitors are not all at the highest level, but there were some real accomplished athletes at every event! (bull riding, calf roping, barrel racing, bronco riding) We were (happily) surprised that the kids got to do a calf scramble! So, if you have kiddos be prepared with closed toe shoes! The concessions are reasonable, the pace is pretty good - a little slow for younger kids, but not dragging. They have stroller parking inside the building. Parking next to the building and across the street is only $5, but go early so you can explore the rest of the area - tons to do and places to eat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yee-haw!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a must-do on any trip to Fort Worth. Highly entertaining. Insightful as to the cowboy way of life. Definitely an experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo 03100
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was OK, we found it well organized but missing a bit more professional riders and ropers, the most exciting of the night was the barrel racing. The good thing is that it is available year round, it just needs a little more to be an exciting experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yvinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockyards Rodeo also viewed

 

Been to Stockyards Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing