We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and close to everything!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Worth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 15 Fort Worth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2010

This was our second time to stay at the Stonehouse. It takes you back in time. The rooms are clean. Sue really takes care of everyone and she serves a really good breakfast. This is definitely the place to stay.

D&D

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnd_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

Hey folks, If you want the true western authentic Stock Yards experience..Stay at J.B. Hicks "Stonehouse B&B ".You are just a few steps away from everything going on in the Stockyards with true western ambiance . You cant go wrong here folks ! It's not a big fancy hotel..but it foots the bill to enjoy the Stockyards at a reasonable price and fits with the Stockyards ambiance perfectly.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jray1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

My wife and I have stayed here before. Every room has its own theme. They go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable.
The homestyle breakfast they serve is excellent. They also have a variety of fruit and rolls served as well.

It is American owned and operated. JB and Sue do a great job.
I always tell friends about it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetrdunTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Wehad never stayed at the Stonehouse before but friends in Houston told us it is a must stay place! and they were right!
Just what you expect from an old cowboy boarding house. antiques and heirlooms of a time past. The christmas tree was already up and decorated simply with lights and poinsettas right when you walk in. The cutest thing tho, the cowboy boots hung on the stair railings and loaded with goodies any cowboy would love! Bottles of booze, (colored water) as I was told, bags or cans of tobacca and a candy cane! Oh and the tree topper? a cowboy hat of course ringed in lights, it was absolutely fitting.
We stayed in the new wolf room with a private bath and I love the little wash stand with wash basin and pitcher.
We could only stay one day this time, but we will be back! The atmosphere is home with a twist, I didn't have to cook and clean but was fed a great breakfast and had wonderfully sented sheets to curl up in after a night of dancing and drinking!
Thank you Sue! We willbe back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cara48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I've stayed at Stonehouse several times, on both personal trips and those for business. From a practical viewpoint, the location is excellent--within minutes of the interstate, Will Rogers Coliseum, the cultural district and right in the Stockyards. The rooms have always been clean, with two locks at all times on the inside and outside doors for privacy. From a more personal viewpoint, the decor is rustic and warm--very welcoming and exactly what you'd expect from the Stockyards. The staff and owner of the B & B have been wonderful, and Stonehouse is my choice for a great place to use as home away from home in Ft. Worth. They continue to upgrade the facility, and its history is part of its charm.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarketingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

This our 6th year staying in this location. The owner JB had just purchase this wonderful building with such great history the first time we stayed. We have been able to see the transformation over the years. I have read the other reviews and if you like to be pampered stay some where else. This is a gem in the rough the kind of place cowboys like to stay that is why we come back every year. Ms Sue has really worked hard this past year adding more amenities to the Stonehouse and it really shows. We are a group of friends who attend a western event every year. All year long we talk about this wonderful weekend and our stay at this location. One of our favorite moments is Ms Sue's breakfast! This will get you out of bed with with the smells that great you first thing in the morning. We take up a whole floor of rooms and are not bothered about our coming and goings and the ruckus we make. Try that at one of the fancy hotels. I cannot say enough good things about our stay here just go and experience this one yourself you will not be sorry. The Louisiana Group

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LATrailriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed at the Stonehouse for two nights (Saturday and Sunday) for a last minute get-a-way that coinsided with a Mark Chesnutt show at Billy Bobs. The rooms were small, with no radio or TV (even in common areas). This is fine if you want to 'turn off' the world for a while. We stayed in the Horse room, which shared a bathroom/shower with another room on the lower floor. The location is perfect for the Fort Worth Stockyards, Billy Bobs, or Downtown Fort Worth. Be aware of the 'low rent' apartments attached to the property. The breakfast buffet served by Sue was great. The sausage gravy, skillet potatoes and eggs were tasty with all the necessary extras available. I do not remember being made aware that no breakfast is served on weekday mornings. This would have been nice to know. We might have choosen somewhere else to stay the second night or gone home Sunday evening had we been aware that even a contenential breakfast was not proivded for Monday morning. Overall it was not a bad stay but a little pricy for the amenities provided. I would suggest to draw more of a crowd possibly providing a TV in a common area and a hot tub or jacuzzi available as well. A cold breakfast on Weekday mornings should be available as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susie4430, innkeeper at Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2009

We greatly appreciate and thank you for your input. All opinions help us to do a better job at providing good service to our guests.
I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast! Thank you from me to you.
And in reminder...
As posted on our web site, we are a 1900's cowboy boarding house where the cowboys working the Stockyards lived. In keeping things as historically correct, we don't provide television, saunas and Jacuzzis. Our rates are 1/2 off Sunday thru Thursday thus we don't provide breakfast during those days. I try to provide all information about Stonehouse on our web site, providing our potential guests a heads up on what to expect when they visit us.
IE: amenity page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Stockyards Hotel
#15 of 115 in Fort Worth
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen House Inn
#1 of 15 in Fort Worth
113 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
Etta's Place
Etta's Place
#5 of 15 in Fort Worth
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2401 Ellis Ave, Fort Worth, TX 76164-8141
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Worth
Price Range: £73 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1900's cowboy boarding house bed and breakfast located in the Historical Fort Worth Stockyards ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonehouse b&b
Stonehouse Hotel Fort Worth
Stonehouse Bed And Breakfast Fort Worth, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing