We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Poor Restaurant, Overpriced.”
Review of The Ashton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ashton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great Service, Poor Restaurant, Overpriced.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

On the whole, our experience during our weekend here last week was pretty good. First the good: The service in the hotel is excellent (attentive without being intrusive). The entire building is very clean. The location could not be better. The bed is very comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and quite beautiful. Now the bad: The service in the restaurant is awful, the food is mediocre, and it is way overpriced. The rooms are not very well furnished, particularly the desk, which managed to be both impractical and ugly, and the soft chair, which was so old it had lost all support. Parking is $20 plus tax a night (seriously?). Turn down service came in, left cookies and 2 bottles of water on the desk the first night we were there, then on my bill I noticed we were charged $7.50 for the water! Despite the excellent hotel service, we will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmichalski, General Manager at The Ashton Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and it is very disappointing to all of us here at the Ashton when we fall short. We appreciate the positive comments about our service and cleanliness. We will take your comments on what we need to improve on very seriously. We appreciate your opinions so we can use them to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    84
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
55
151
16
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jamesville
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We had been elsewhere in Texas for my son's wedding and decided on The Ashton since we enjoy Historic Registry Hotels. The Ashton did not disappoint. It was first class from beginning to end. If you travel to Forth Worth, this boutique Hotel is worth a stay. Outstanding service, impeccable dining experience and a first rate facility.

Room Tip: We did a room upgrade for our romance Package and the Chocolate dipped Strawberries and Champagne we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEV50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmichalski, General Manager at The Ashton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate your kind words and we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

At first appearance this place is beautiful and clean. Love the history of the two buildings and the downtown location. Cookies are great! Wifi comes and goes. Showers need redone; it wouldn't cost much too much to replace the shower heads and install shower curtains that swing out for room in the little tubs. The Ashton calls itself a luxury hotel, but no hotel can truly be a luxury when it doesn't provide a quality shower or strong basic wifi to its customers. (Anyone can provide aclean bed and flat tv nowadays.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmichalski, General Manager at The Ashton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We appreciate you sharing your observations regarding your recent stay with us. It sounds like your overall experience was positive which we are very pleased about. Thank you for your comments on the shower and wi-fi not meeting your expectations. Our wi-fi has been dramatically upgraded since your visit with more bandwidth and better access capabilities. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I was in Fort Worth visiting an old friend for the weekend, and I stayed at the Ashton. I live in Honolulu, and I travel quite a bit for business and pleasure. I can honesty say that this hotel delivers an excellent hospitality experience. The staff is professional and attentive without being intrusive. I would swear they could read my mind. The front desk agents were warm and made me instantly feel welcome. I can be a little demanding at hotels, and they didn't disappoint.

The room was tastefully appointed. The feeling of this hotel is classic, understated elegance. They supplied Gilchrist and Soames bath products, and the bed and linens were very comfortable.

The valets and concierge were on point. They were excellent at helping me arrange my evening out. When I came back to the hotel after a night on the town, they had the bottle of Pinot Noir that I wanted and brought it up to my room with glasses for me and my guests.

The restaurant, The Six 10 Grille, was also quite good. I had one meal there and ordered room service several times. I would recommend the scallops for an appetizer and the lamb for the main course.

I could keep speaking their praises on here, but if you are reading this, just know that you should stay here. You won't be disappointed. Excellent staff, excellent rooms, tasty food.

Room Tip: Select a room on a higher floor. I would recommend one of the suites on floor six.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was greatly disappointed. The room was small and not at all plush. The bathroom was cute and clean. The two chairs were not at all comfortable and one was stained. The staff were excellent. but that is all that was. Everything was way over-priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I had my wedding reception at this Hotel and everyone absolutely loved the hotel. The staff and speicfically the wedding coordinator Cindy are amazing and so helpful. The wedding package was affordable and manageable and we stayed in the Presidential suite to get ready for the big day and after our reception. I took my bridal portraits there as well, and the photos are absolutely gorgeous!!

Such a great spot for your wedding reception and for a good night sleep!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel is good, located not far from Sundance Square (which, in my opinion, isn't much and, thus, is quite overrated). Our room was large and had good style. The Wi-Fi connection was very weak, but they provided a on-spot modem, which improved it dramatically. Our room wasn't dirty, but not new and overly-clean either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#6 of 111 in Fort Worth
3,355 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
#12 of 111 in Fort Worth
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Worth Downtown
Downtown Fort Worth
Sheraton Fort Worth Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashton Hotel

Property: The Ashton Hotel
Address: 610 Main St, Fort Worth, TX 76102-4823
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Worth > Downtown Fort Worth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Worth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Worth
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ashton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where history meets luxury Timeless Style and Modern Luxury in an Historical Fort Worth Setting At The Ashton Hotel, in the heart of downtown Fort Worth, we understand the finer points of luxury and hospitality. Our guests are assured a truly outstanding experience - from accommodation and service, to dining and location. The Ashton Hotel is an elegant boutique hotel fully renovated from two buildings listed on the National Register of Historical Places. The historic buildings were meticulously restored to retain their unique architectural details, while the interiors were updated with the latest technology and amenities to please even the most discerning guests. LUXURIOUS COMFORT FOR WORK OR PLAY Our 39 spacious guest rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed to provide a restful retreat for work or relaxation. Custom-designed furniture, designer linens, our signature Ashton King-size bed dressed with down pillows and comforters provide plush comfort for a good night's rest. A separate large bathroom, custom robes, complimentary in-room coffee, complimentary Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations, and flat screen televisions are just a few of the deluxe in-room amenities that are standard features for your convenience. All our guest rooms are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ashton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Hotel Fort Worth
Ashton Fort Worth
The Ashton Hotel Fort Worth, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing