We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great Ambiance, terrific service, and sophisticated decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Sushi Sake Grill

Blue Sushi Sake Grill
Ranked #25 of 1,547 Restaurants in Fort Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh and energetic, Blue Sushi Sake Grill serves fun sushi! You will enjoy a dining experience infused with flavor and spirited atmosphere. A large maki, sashimi and nigiri menu complements Asian-inspired cold plates, hot plates, entrees, soups, desserts and an extensive premium sake menu. We offer weekday Sushi Lunch Specials and daily Happy Hour specials!
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great Ambiance, terrific service, and sophisticated decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Everything in last nights' dinner at the Blue sushi was good.

We tried many different menu items including different sushi rolls, Sashimi plate, Misu soup, and Crab soup.
Everything was tasty, fresh, and beautifully presented.
We had one objection with the Cali Roll - but I guess it is a great dish for someone who want a cooked sushi, or is a fan of tempura dishes. They have a big selection of cooked items for those who won't eat raw as well classic rolls, and house specials. I believe anyone can find something one like to eat in there.
The service was excellent, and the place is beautiful. We set at the coaches next to the front window at first and then we moved inside to a table at the restaurant. The host was very cooperative and accommodating finding us a table inside, although we did not reserve one ahead of time.
both sittings inside the restaurant, and at the lounge area were comfortable.

I took one star off because of the noise. At the beginning the noise in the restaurant was to much for us and made it difficult to carry a conversation, but after a few minutes (and a few drinks) we got used to it and weren't bothered by it any more.

Will definitely go back for the sushi as well as the decor and ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AStephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    31
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love me some Sushi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great restaurant! Nice atmosphere and staff very helpful and attentive. Tried several different rolls and they were all delicious. Some a little bit more delicious than others, but all were edible. My favorites were the Hawaiin Roll, the White Fish Ceviche, and the Fiesta Roll. Drinks were okay. I tried three different ones and none of them were a must have in my opinion. I think the best drink of the evening for me was the cucumber water.
I will go back again when in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jvmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On the edge!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Very modern and trendy atmosphere. The Sushi is fantastic! A must experience if sushi is your thing.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CuisineSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

It's possible that this review isn't fair. After having previously been stationed in Okinawa, Japan, I've probably had some of the best sushi that the world has to offer.

And Blue Sushi's offerings weren't BAD. In fact, I particularly liked one of the mango-flavored dishes that they served. The problem is that the sushi was just "okay." If an all-you-can-eat Chinese buffet offered this kind of sushi, I'd be impressed. I expected more from a highly-acclaimed sushi spot in Fort Worth, though.

They did have some creative offerings that I was initially puzzled about, but many customers might like it. Ever had sushi topped with a sauteed jalapeno slice? Not bad...just, not conventional. But that kind of goes with the concept of this place. They're looking to be modern, and this is apparent through the decor as well as through the food.

Go during happy hour, though, and pay a fraction of the price for many of the same items. Oh, and it's definitely an "adult-oriented" place. Not that it's a bad place to take kids, but it looks like it's more designed to accommodate couples and co-workers to blow off some steam after work.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's not Japanese!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Ok, it might not fair for them, but I'm Japanese and know what is real Japanese and Sushi about. Everything was eatable. Their sushi was little better than cheap Chinese all you can eat buffet. Far from of sushi restaurant level. I really hope they stop claim them self as Japanese restaurant, cause they are not. Contemporary Asian? Maybe...

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matsuai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Sushi Sake Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Sushi Sake Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing