We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, right in the heart of town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone
Ranked #28 of 114 Hotels in Fort Worth
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blackstone for our anniversary this year. Loved the historic qualities mixed with the modern day amenities. It's withing walking distance of anything downtown and a stones throw away form great dining. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsjones1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a weekend getaway planned and wanted to stay in downtown Fort Worth. Being a rewards member we've always been treated very well with Marriott. We checked into a "deluxe" king which was much smaller than the typical Courtyard. It had a bed, a desk with a desk chair, and ONE upholstered chair. Thinking it was an old hotel and this may be the typical room, we stayed the night although the a/c never really cool the room down (it was a west side room) and the wireless was iffy. My wife (bless her heart) asked me to go down to the desk and ask for the maintenance man to check it out. We came back after a long day and the room was still warm...it was hot. The nice lady at the desk said she'd upgrade us to another room. When we went in it was a suite (on the east side) and the air was much cooler and the wireless actually worked! Moral when staying at the location: ask for a room on a higher floor located on the east side of the building. And if it is below expectations, go to the desk and ask for an upgrade.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank texmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The negatives: this hotel was just ok. Outdated and felt cheap. Only 3 towels in the room, we had to ask for a 4th since it was 2 adults and 2 kids. Shampoo containers are very small. We asked for more and they kept bringing up conditioner. The comforter on the bed had disgusting stains on it. The tv didnt have good receiption which they immediately came up and adjusted. The bar closed early. The positive: The STAFF! They were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lspangenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stay at this hotel at least once a year for 4-5 days. The location in right in downtown Fort Worth so great food is just a block or so away. The hotel building is old but the rooms are well maintained. The convention center is 2 blocks away and a very short walk. The lobby bar is small but the staff is awesome! The front desk personal are equally as awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Attending a recent Texas statewide convention, we were booked at the Marriott Courtyard Downtown/Blackstone as overflow from the Omni host hotel. Six blocks away from the meetings was not convenient, but the streets were at least pleasantly walkable. We were guaranteed a late check-in which went easily enough. The parking was oddly peculiar. It was required of us to drive around the block to the backside of the hotel to another entrance marked "Hotel Parking". No mention of the Courtyard Marriott was on the marque, consequently other closeby hotels must use the same parking garage. We had to circle the block three times before we actually identified the appropriate parking garage entrance. A nice parking attendant then directed us into either a left lane or a right lane that literally faced a wall, with minimal parking spaces actually visible--and these had obviously been already taken. Asking myself out loud, what in the world was going on here?--when suddenly the previously impervious wall in the lane adjacent to ours magically opened--it was a car elevator! The attendant then took our car keys and he drove our car into the next elevator as we watched in disbelief, leaving us holding our luggage. We had never before encountered a car elevator garage before.... Thankfully there was a pedestrian tunnel passageway leading from the garage to the front desk of the Courtyard.

Nothing special about our room on the third floor. Street traffic noise was somewhat disconcerting especially late at night and early in the morning, despite the double pane windows and the thick insulated blackout curtains. At least the hotel had attempted to dampen the street noise as best it could. Perhaps a room on the south side rather than our northside room might have been less noisy. Next, there was no ice machine on our third floor nor the fourth floor above us. We aimlessly wandered around before finally discovering an ice machine on the sixth floor. There was no vending machines on any of the floors that we visited during our "ice expedition".

The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows. Also, an extra blanket was squirreled away in the small closet, which came in handy to combat the unexpected nighttime chill of our room. The showerhead in the bathroom was pitiful. Despite any setting on the variable shower control, there was never a significant "spread" of the water stream; ergo, one had to dance around in the shower to properly dispense enough water on all appropriate body parts for proper cleansing. The complementary shampoo was Paul Mitchell brand, which was rather nice. There were plenty of towels laid out in the bathroom for post-shower drying. The hair dryer was a commercial model with all variations of cool to hot that the perfect temperature for your hair drying was easy to select. However, there was dried shampoo on the shower wall--obviously not well cleaned from the prior occupancy before our arrival. Additionally, there were dirty cotton applicators in the trashcan by the sink; it too left over from a prior client to the room. Furthermore there were two bars of unwrapped soap, showing signs of previous usage, located in the bathroom. There were the more traditional (unused) wrapped bars of soap also available on the vanity as expected. Perhaps the maid had been interrupted during her bathroom makeover--never returning to finish the job.... At least the sheets and bed linens seemed clean. A nice feature was a small refrigerator placed on the floor of the room near the desk. Unfortunately there was no complimentary bottled water, nor was there a mini-bar in the room--not that we would have necessarily made use of it.

The elevators were small but prompt. The hallways were well kept. The decor seemed well-maintained and fresh.

The highlight of our stay however were the delightful front desk personnel. All clerks on all shifts went out of their way to be helpful, smiling upon our approach and eager to be of sincere assistance. Each seemed knowledgeable about the hotel and the surrounding area, more than adequately addressing each of our questions most satisfactorily. We were allowed an extended check out time due to our conference meetings of the last day not finishing until noon--yet we were allowed a 1PM checkout extension--especially thoughtful due to the required six block walk from the conference back to the Courtyard. Therefore we were not required to haul around our luggage on the final day of our meetings as is all too common on other conferences we had attended.

Weighing in on the positives and the negatives, we would consider this hotel nothing special--average for a large city downtown hotel. We had a much more enjoyable stay in the Omni during other conferences attended in the past. We will probably not return to the Courtyard Marriott in downtown Fort Worth unless there are extenuating circumstances again....

Room Tip: Ask about quieter rooms at check in. Also ask for a floor with an ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Texman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott offers comfort and convenience. It is ideally located on the edge of Sundance Square, and there are many restaurants and attractions within walking distance. The rooms are neat and clean and the staff provided excellent service. I love the charm of an older building. The hotel is beautiful on the outside and completely updated and modern on the inside. It offers the best of both worlds. Also, even though we were facing the street, it was very quiet at night and the bed was quite comfortable. My husband and I took our bikes and cycled along the Trinity River. The valet attendants at the hotel were friendly and cheerful about bringing our vehicle around, so we could get our bikes off the pick-up and helped us put them back when we returned. Downtown parking is limited, so it was nice to have a permanent parking spot for the weekend ($20 per night). The proximity of the river is a real bonus, and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccacharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nothing stood out as magnificent here.
Pros: Location - this hotel is located within walking distance to many great restaurants such as Cantina Laredo, Reata, Jake's Hamburgers, Ruth Chris' Steak House and Bob's Steak and Chop House (which is where we ate - this restaurant was about a 9 block walk). It is also located close to Four Day Weekend, which is an improv comedy show (absolutely hilarious) and Jake's Dueling Piano Bar (on your room key there is a coupon for a complimentary drink).
Another Pro: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: The parking! They only offer valet parking for $20 a day in their garage. There is no semi-circle driveway to pull up to and unload. You pull directly into the garage, where there is not very much room. So if 3 cars are in front of you, you are waiting in line in the street blocking traffic. The garage is very narrow for cars to pass through. If you have a wide vehicle, your mirrors might get scraped as the drivers pull through the narrow passage way. We saw this happen to another vehicle.
Another con: The pool! The pictures on the website are deceiving. This pool is really small and not in any way is luxurious or fancy. It is just a small, square, concrete pool with some lounge chairs. The pool area is also the smoking area. You have to be at least 25 feet from the door of the hotel to smoke.
Neither a pro nor con: The room size was small, but I feel this is typical of old downtown buildings. I'm used to the small hotel rooms in NYC and this is what it felt like. The TV cable was not very good either. You probably aren't staying in the hotel for the tv, but if you are used to having it on at bedtime or in the morning, you will have a fuzzy analog picture. There are digital channels, but they were not producing a good picture either.
Also, there is a Corner Bakery attached to the hotel for breakfast if you desire.
There is a bar in the lobby that opens at 5 p.m.
There is a free coffee bar in the lobby that starts at 6 a.m.
A bit of advice: We prepaid the room and saved $30 off the price. This $30 we saved ended up going toward the valet.
Would I stay here again?? Maybe if I needed a great location.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 5th floor. Ice Machines aren't on all floors, so you might want to inquire u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamivice2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Worth Downtown
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
Omni Fort Worth Hotel
#6 of 114 in Fort Worth
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
#10 of 114 in Fort Worth
1,387 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Fort Worth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone

Address: 601 Main St, Fort Worth, TX 76102-5407
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Worth
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Worth
Price Range: £102 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience old-fashioned luxury, fully updated with the latest technology, at the historic Courtyard Downtown Fort Worth Hotel. Marvel at the spires and terraces of the stunning 23-story, 1929 art deco building; a local landmark. Formerly known as the Blackstone Hotel, our establishment was a favorite of John Wayne, Clark Gable, & many of history's biggest celebrities. Our Fort Worth, TX hotel in Sundance Square is just four blocks from the Convention Center and ten minutes from the restaurants and shops of the famous Fort Worth Stockyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone Hotel Fort Worth
Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone Texas
Fort Worth Courtyard
Fort Worth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing