We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly service, okay rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone
Ranked #27 of 113 Hotels in Fort Worth
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly service, okay rooms”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As others have mentioned, the location of this hotel is great; very close to everything I needed to reach in downtown FW. The rooms themselves were mixed. They were fairly clean, and yes, the furniture has been replaced and the bed felt fine. However, the overall room was showing its age with a dated layout, older mirrors/closets etc. and loud air conditioning etc. These sound like petty complaints, but the general feeling is that you are in a 1990s hotel room that has been given a brand new desk.

I would complement the exceptionally friendly staff at the front desk during my stay. Attentive and chipper service throughout.

Room Tip: Good views on higher floors over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bookie A, Guest Care Supervisor at Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your recent stay at the Blackstone Courtyard by Marriott.

We are glad that you liked the great location of our beautiful historic hotel and enjoyed the services provided by our friendly front desk staff; however I am so sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to make every effort to ensure our guests satisfaction so that they can have an exceptional experience during their stay.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back again whenever travel brings you to Fort Worth. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,
Bookie Arogun
Bookie.Arogun@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    141
    87
    24
    21
See reviews for
63
107
16
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I just spent the weekend in Fort Worth to attend a performance at Bass Hall. The Courtyard is right in the middle of Sundance Square and only blocks away from anything you want to do in downtown Fort Worth, including free covered parking on weekends. Our check-in was great, the front desk staff was super friendly and efficient. Our room was on the 6th floor looking directly into a highrise, not much of a view. The room was OK, with dated furnishings and the bathroom sink outside of the bathroom. The bed headboards were on the same wall as the air conditioner and you could feel the unit running as well as hear it. We set the thermostat at 55 to cool off the room upon our arrival but it never got cold. The unit ran continually which was noisy but ever few minutes it would make a very loud noise that lasted for a few minutes but not in a rhythm that we got used to. It was always a little startling. The bed was very comfortable however, and we did sleep. For the price we paid we were disappointed in the lack of high end services--no valet parking, no bell staff, no concierge. But the location is great but i doubt we will stay here again.

Room Tip: higher priced bare bones in the heart of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlothiantexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I'm glad to hear that you liked the location of our hotel. It is right in the heart of Sundance Square within a short walk of anything in Downtown. I'm sorry to hear that the air conditioner was noisy in your room and it never seemed to cool down. I'm sure that was really inconvenient and frustrating.

We were fully renovated in 2012 and recently replaced all of our mattresses to increase the comfort level for our guests. We do offer valet parking though with our connected parking garage. While we don't have a dedicated bell staff or concierge our staff would be more than happy to assist with luggage or any questions on sights to see in the area. I hope that you'll return to Fort Worth and let us show you what our service is really like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The rooms are clean and the staff is pretty good. I stayed here every week (mon-thurs) for a year for work and it's a pretty standard courtyard. They renovated in 2012, so the rooms recently had a welcome facelift. The prices are decent and you're able to walk to many of the restaurants downtown. The front dest staff is great as are the valets.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ee978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I'm glad to hear that you've had so many good stays with us in the past. Our staff tries hard to make every guest feel welcome. As you mentioned, the location is perfect for walking to restaurants and nightlife. We truly appreciate your continued business and look forward to welcoming you back to Fort Worth soon. If there's anything we can do to help please let me know.

Reards,
Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

On the last night of our family vacation to Texas, we stayed here with a free Marriott Rewards certificate. I was a little hesitant because some reviews complained about parking, water pressure, and cold rooms. This was not our experience. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite, which was roomy and comfortable. The water and heat were in good working order. Little did we know, that we'd actually really need that suite when my husband became violently ill with a bad stomach virus later that night. The desk staff was really accommodating and let us checkout late in the mid-afternoon. I wish we could've enjoyed the hotel amenities and the area a bit more, but the room and staff were nice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRads_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
I'm sorry to hear that your husband became ill during his stay. I'm glad that in spite of his illness you were still able to have a great experience. My staff does a great job of taking care of our guests and doing all that they can to make sure you feel at home. We hope to welcome you back to Fort Worth soon, especially so that you get to experience the local area. If there's anything I can do to help please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRING
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Don't ever leave your car with these people. We stayed here on business for two nights and parked in the hotel parking garage, which is one of those car elevator arrangements. Upon check-out, we walked around our car and everything appeared fine. An hour down the road, we turned a corner and a piece of clear plastic slid slid into view on the dash. It was the protective lens from the light strip on the side view mirror, which was completely gone and therefore its absence was not noticed upon inspection. No one other than parking garage personnel had access to the inside of our car to place the broken part there. Upon calling the hotel, we were informed that once we are off the premises, they are not responsible for damage. The garage manager suggested that the damage happened while we had the car out and maybe someone hit it. Really? And then the culprit managed to get the broken part INSIDE the locked car? He further stated that "not to say you are lying, but who is to say you really found it inside the car?" Accidents happen, but Marriott's failure to notify us of an incident they clearly knew about is inexcusable.

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the elevator. We heard the doors ping until 1:00 a.m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxmimiSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
I'm sorry to hear that your vehicle was recently damaged. I've researched the incident and did see that you walked around inspecting your vehicle twice before leaving the garage without reporting any damage. If you had reported the damage at that time my valet team would certainly have taken care of any needed repairs.

I hope that you will be willing to stay with us again so that we can show you a fantastic experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We live in Fort Worth, but wanted a night out downtown. We had stayed in the Blackstone several years ago and enjoyed it, but this stay was even better. The young man at reception that evening we checked in was very efficient. He even recommended that we might enjoy a room higher up that had a better view. The bedding was very comfortable and there was even a small refrigerator in the room. It is a historic hotel - the last one that President JFK stay in before traveling to Dallas - so don't expect a real "modern" look to anything. But if you want a nice hotel, right in the mist of all the downtown activities, then this is it. The is also a corner bakery right off the lobby!

Room Tip: ask for a view of sundance square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I'm happy to hear that you chose us for your night out on the town and that we were able to make your second stay with us even better. Our staff tries to make sure to provide the best possible service to our guests. We have done a lot to preserve the history of the hotel, while still providing modern essentials to our guests. We hope to welcome you back to downtown Fort Worth soon. If there's anything we can do to help please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this property during our trip to the Armed Forces Bowl and had a great stay. The property has been updated nicely. My room had all of the normal amenities and was very quiet and comfortable. The lobby was warm and inviting and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. There are multiple restaurants within short walking distance of the multiple entry points. The lounge area is comfortable and the menu served serveral items for a quick snack. The breakfast buffet was very good with attentive wait staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stuwill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay with us while you were in Fort Worth for the Armed Forces Bowl. Our staff works hard to make sure that each guest is treated like family. We've also tried hard to incorporate the history of the hotel while still making sure that it is updated to our guests' standards. We'd love to welcome you back on your next trip to Fort Worth. If there's anything we can do to help please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Worth Downtown
Downtown Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
#11 of 113 in Fort Worth
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Sheraton Fort Worth Downtown Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
The Ashton Hotel
The Ashton Hotel
#13 of 113 in Fort Worth
380 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Worth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone

Property: Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone
Address: 601 Main St, Fort Worth, TX 76102-5407
Region: United States > Texas > Fort Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Fort Worth
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience old-fashioned luxury, fully updated with the latest technology, at the historic Courtyard Downtown Fort Worth Hotel. Marvel at the spires and terraces of the stunning 23-story, 1929 art deco building; a local landmark. Formerly known as the Blackstone Hotel, our establishment was a favorite of John Wayne, Clark Gable, & many of history's biggest celebrities. Our Fort Worth, TX hotel in Sundance Square is just four blocks from the Convention Center and ten minutes from the restaurants and shops of the famous Fort Worth Stockyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone Hotel Fort Worth
Courtyard Fort Worth Downtown/Blackstone Texas
Fort Worth Courtyard
Fort Worth Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing