We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, slow service unless you order a sandwich”
Review of Bavarian Bakery & Cafe - CLOSED

Bavarian Bakery & Cafe
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: German, European
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Springtown, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, slow service unless you order a sandwich”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

To the lady who complained about the missing entertainment, I think you meant to be reviewing Edelweiss, which has changed ownership or management. If you order anything beyond a salad or sandwich, be prepared to wait. The cookies are so-so but the cakes are amazing. I love their potato soup. We go there 2-3 times a month so they must be doing something right. My husband loves their chili bowl. The onions and shredded cheese are served separately so you can add to your preference.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, TX
Level Contributor
192 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Service”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This place is a bit of a hole in the wall. The bakery/restaurant are clean and well maintained. The baked goods are tasty and the food is good! The restaurant is rarely busy even at peak hours. When we have been there, there have only been three or four other tables. The downside is the wait staff. They are nice ladies and try very hard to meet the expectations of the customers. The problem is they only have two waitresses trying to deal with the bakery and the restaurant. They just don't have enough help. My husband and I do enjoy eating here despite the problems with the wait staff. Just be prepared to wait awhile for a drink refill.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scootersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW, TX
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great German Food & Baked Good”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Best German food in the Dallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex where good German food is hard to find.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lseldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The owner is "especial"”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Its sad that people support this place. As others said, the owner is rude. She mistreat employees And customers. Only think about your money. If you are there at closing time And dont hurry up, she will turn off the air conditioner so u feel terrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mad1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best true German Food in the Metroplex”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

After trying several restaurants in the Dallas/Ft.Worth area claiming to be authentic German food, we finally found it! The flavors were truly authentic, the portions were plentiful, the atmosphere was truly Bavarian and the Bakery was a nice added bonus. We would have liked a larger selection of German Beers, however that will not prevent us from returning for more delicious German treats.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PamRass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bavarian Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing