We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day with my son”

Vintage Flying Museum
Ranked #41 of 153 things to do in Fort Worth
Attraction details
Ft Worth, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day with my son”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very nice people!! They don't have any problems taking time to answer questions. Would recommend you take your son or daughter for a nice inexpensive afternoon. The restorations are cool to see. I had no idea the old planes took so much work.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

While visiting Ft. Worth for an extended weekend, we made a side trip to see this museum. We enjoy history and airplanes and it was convenient to our hotel. We really enjoyed seeing all the planes close up as well as looking at the exhibits and reading the history about aviation during the WWII. It just so happened there was a B-24 and a B-29 there on which was leaving for a tour the next week. When we arrived, the B-24 was just landing, so that was exciting enough to see, but shortly after, the B-29 also came in from its test flight, so we got to see it come in to land also! The host and hostess who run the museum were so very nice and took their time to answer any questions. The museum is a non-profit entity and it was worth every penny (tickets $8 for adults) to see it and help keep the history alive. Well worth a visit if you enjoy history and/or planes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTourist2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great! surpassed our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

If you love airplanes, airplane history, and seeing the real work of restoration on actual planes in a working hangar-this is your kind of place. The people working there are very friendly and willing to share their knowledge with you. We had a great time and could hardly leave. It may be small but they pack a lot of interest into a small space. For pilots or plane enthusiast it is a must see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cherlyn_burton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Working Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Vintage Flying Museum is a real working museum, staffed by dedicated volunteers who work to restore and keep vintage aircraft flying while telling the history of the aircraft and the men and women who flew them. This is probably one of the few museums that a new volunteer can find themselves working on a plane right away. For visitors in October have the opportunity to purchase tickets for the "Big Band 1940's Hangar Dance" Where a live orchestra plays 1940's music and most everyone dresses in period clothing and period military uniforms. A great place with great people!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Layne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This place is awesome! There is a B-24 one rarest war birds in the world. It is got tons of restoration on going at all times. A great place to bring your kids. If you love airplanes you will love this place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vintage Flying Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Flying Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing