We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene Getaway Worth The Experience.”

Duck Inn Lake Palestine Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frankston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duck Inn Lake Palestine Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Frankston B&B and Inns
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
“Serene Getaway Worth The Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We searched for a Bed & Breakfast on the water close enough to trip in from Austin, TX. When we
saw this place on the internet, we just had to book it for our anniversary weekend. The owner was very sweet and accommodating. The room was lovely. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. The view was breathtaking. The hot tub was relaxing and therapeutic. The breakfast wasn't the traditional breakfast but it worked perfect for us because it was ready when we were. The breakfast was home made, delicious, and plenty enough to feed the hungriest person and still enough for a late night snack. During the day if we weren't relaxing on the pier we did day trips. We tripped over to experienced the Cherokee Trace Drive-Thru Safari. We spent over two hours getting close to nature and feeding all the wonderful animals. After our stress free ride on the safari, we enjoyed an excellent catfish dinner just around the corner from the Inn, at the Lake Grill, at the Lake Palestine Resort, where the service was excellent and the staff was so friendly. The next day we enjoyed nature once again by visiting the Caldwell Zoo. Having been to many Zoo's in our past this was by far the best. The staff was so friendly. The animals were well cared for and the grounds we exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We spent a long weekend here and drove in late one Friday night. We stayed in the Garden room. In the dark, it is very dangerous to get down to the room. There are no "regular" stairs and I had to hold on to trees so I wouldn't fall. There was one little piece of rope lighting but did not help.

The room is normal size with old furniture. There is an old tv, old cabinet type stereo and radio. The flooring is 60's gold linolem. The bed is a king (comfortable) with a non matching queen headboard. Bathroom has been updated with a nice shower. There is an antique mirror on the wall covered by a dusty fake ficus tree. There is a great porch swing to enjoy. The picture above the bed is a framed 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle. ( No kidding! )

On the website it states: "Breakfast is in the fridge". I was a little worried about that! But, we loved it. There was a tub of pastries, breakfast pizza, quiche, a scrambled egg/sausage mix, fruit and orange juice. All dishes were very good.

The fridge, microwave and toaster was in the closet. You can't run more than one at a time or fuse will blow.

For 2 nights we did not have anyone lodging beside us so it was quiet. The 3rd night was quite different hearing everything the neighbors said/did.

We LOVED walking down to the lake. Loved pulling the curtains open in the morning and seeing the beautiful blue. Our fishing was not very productive, only 2 caught, but we loved sitting on the dock enjoying it all.

I read with interest about the "cold" hostess. Our preference is to be left alone. Our needs were met and we had the phone number if we needed anything. Believe me, we have been to B&B's where the owners followed us around talking our ears off. We prefer this hands down.

If you stay... go down the road to the Purple Pig. Great eating!

So, there ya have it.

Room Tip: Try upstairs... might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txfrmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

The Bed and Breakfast could not be nicer. Room was perfect, hot tub on deck overlooking the lake was Awesome! The Only thing that will keep us from ever returning was the attitude of the hostess. She did not attempt to be friendly or even take the time to meet us for the first 36 hours we were there. We felt like we were intruding or something. We were not made to feel welcome at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

What a great trip for unwinding! My husband and I need some time to relax and reconnect so we tried out this Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the terrace room which is upstairs by itself. The room and bathroom were larger than I expected and the bed was king size and comfortable. The best part was the balcony with a hot tub. My husband went down to the peir to fish and I watched him from the lake view hot tub. The lady who owned the place was very nice and accomadating. I would recommend this to anyone needing some stress free time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammysue64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Duck Inn Lake Palestine Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Inn Lake Palestine Bed & Breakfast

Property: Duck Inn Lake Palestine Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22565 Pine St, Frankston, TX 75763-3211
Region: United States > Texas > Frankston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frankston
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing