We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Angels Lodge Above the Creek
Ranked #8 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We recently stayed 2 nights in the Angel's Nest. The room was lovely, the bed was big and comfy. Make sure that you have a step stool, they will provide one for you if it's not in the room already. The only negative was the bath didn't have a shower, and was difficult for me to use the sprayer. If you have mobility problems, getting in and out of the tub is an issue. Ask for a room with a shower. We enjoyed sitting outside at the fireplace in the evenings. We were there during the week, so they gave us breakfast vouchers for restaurants in town. They should increase this amount or have specific items that are free for guests, as the amount they gave us wasn't sufficient, and we are not big eaters. The location was great, walking distance into town. I would stay there again, overall is was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelsinn, General Manager at Angels Lodge Above the Creek, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hello,
Thank you for you kind words and Wonderful feedback!
We strive to make your experience at Angel's Lodge above the Creek
a unique and special experience!
Thank you Sheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    44
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
23
143
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here with lots of family and friends while in a Fredericksburg for a family wedding. Our experience couldn't have been better. The staff is most attentive and friendly. The rooms are very nice and spacious. The porch with fireplace was a great gathering place for all of us. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It was a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: That's hard. They are all different. If you want your bathroom on the same level as bedroom, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelsinn, General Manager at Angels Lodge Above the Creek, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments!
We strive to make each visit to
Angel's Lodge above the Creek a very unique and special experience!
We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to see you all again!
Thank you
Sheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutto, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved our stay here. The room is very quaint and clean. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice relaxing place after a day of wine tasting. The breakfast was great on both days and there was always plenty. We stayed in Angel's Loft. The bed was very comfortable. The pillows could have been better, but that is a small complaint. The balcony is very small and there are no chairs out there so no sitting outside to sip your wine. However, you probably wouldn't want to anyway because the chimney for the downstairs fire place is right outside so the smell of smoke was prevalent. The weather did not lend itself for us to make use of the pool, but it looked adequate considering there are not that many people staying there. We would stay there again as the location is very convenient to everything you could want to do in Fredericksburg.

Room Tip: When it says interior view that means the view is of the parking lot. Creek view means you look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelsinn, General Manager at Angels Lodge Above the Creek, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the wonderful comments.
It means so much to use that you have enjoyed your stay.
We are always looking for possible ways for improvements.
It is our goal to make each guest experience unique and special.
And we truly hope you have had a nice time!
Thank you
General Manager
Sheri Walls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We enjoyed this stopover with a very tall kingsize bed, 2 person Jacuzzi tub, and rockers on the tiny porch. The bed was very comfortable, the room is just big enough for all the furniture, comes with a fridge and coffeepot. I guess I'd say it was exactly what you'd expect spending $140 for the room and taking a coupon for $14 towards breakfast at your choice of 4 local places, since we wanted an extra early start and they weren't serving until 8:30 a.m. We could walk from there to the museum and the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastravelers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelsinn, General Manager at Angels Lodge Above the Creek, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your kind words and the very nice review.
We appreciate all of the feedback.
We are always looking for new ways to improve.
As we our biggest priority is to insure guest satisfaction.
But truly we are always trying to make sure our guest have a unique special experience.
Thank you
General Manager
Sheri Walls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Angels Lodge was okay, front desk person was friendly, but it was NOT a Bed & Breakfast experience. The room was pretty small and only had a small chair to sit on. The TV was probably 20 years old (an old style big box) so there was very little space to put your belonging on or comfortablly sit. It was basically a motel style m layout that you drive up to your room. The furniture was nice but for the price of $498 for 2 nights it was pretty beat-up. I guess what was the most surprising was the breakfast. I thought I was at a La Quinta - the biscuits and pastries were from Wal-Mart and the eggs and bacon were average. It was not the experience we expected from a B&B. Very disappointed and not worth the price.

Room Tip: Go one the second floor because the 1st floor is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westcleveland1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelsinn, Manager at Angels Lodge Above the Creek, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello,
I'm sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay at Angels Lodge.
As we strive to make sure each guest experience is Special and Unique .
We have our Lodge mainly furnished with Antiques and specialty items.
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy breakfast as we strive to for excellence.
I have reviewed your reservation and unfortunately the time of your stay our normal Breakfast Chief was out sick however that is not a reason for any type of substandard breakfast. As well you were staying in one of our smaller suites. But that is not a reason for any discomfort.
I'm sorry for any disappointment..
And would like to speak with you a little more about your stay
to see if there is anything we can do.
I really do appreciate you review.
Thank you
Angels Lodge above the Creek
General Manager - Sheri
email - angelsinn@austin.rr.com
Office (830)997-1615
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORPUS CHRISTI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a great little lodge...the bed is probably one of the most comfortable I've stayed in away from home. We stayed in the Archangel (Room 5). My only recommendation for the owners would probably be to get a luggage cart...other than that I cannot complain about a thing! So impressed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelsinn, General Manager at Angels Lodge Above the Creek, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for you thoughtful review.
We appreciate the kind words And we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with Angles Lodge.
We will look into Luggage Rack as we can see how this would be helpful for our guests.
Thank you,
Sheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have been staying at this B&B 2 or 3 times a year for several years, and we love it. We always come here when we are making a trip to Luckenbach. In the summer, we spend the day around the wonderful pool, and in the winter months we enjoy hanging around the outdoor fireplace.

We have seen lots of ups and downs over the years. Last year it was evident that the people who were leasing the place were letting it go downhill - lots of issues. But, I understand from the new manager that the owners took the property back over last summer, and I am seeing some improvements in the upkeep of the place already - it will take some time for them to get it completely back on track.

The beds are very comfortable, but I never have liked the fact that they are so high you have to have a stepping stool to get in and out of the bed. I am pretty uncoordinated and I'm always afraid I am going to slip and fall. But, I do understand that these enormous high beds are all the rage and most people like them - but just be aware!

Also as some other reviews have stated, there are limited places to set things. Yes, there is a closet and there are now some hangers, and there is a chest or armoire with drawers. Most rooms have a dining table and a couple of chairs, and some have a nice bar area with coffee pot, and counter space under the microwave. The biggest problem seems to be in the bathrooms where there is not counter space for placing your toiletries and dop kits. There is only one room with a walk in shower so we always stay in this one as I have trouble getting in and out the big jacuzzi tubs in the other rooms. There is no shelf or table in there, so we have learned to bring our own folding TV type table to put in the bathroom to place our toiletries on.

The is also a problem with the leaking roof over the sitting area by the fireplace. The roof has been leaking for at least a couple of years, and has ruined some of the furniture. The owners have already replaced some of the ruined furniture and seat cushions, but the weekend we were there it rained, and unfortunately the roof is still leaking badly. Hopefully fixing this is on there to-do list.

The current staff is very friendly and helpful, but I think they are having a little trouble with housekeeping staff. We stayed Friday to Sunday and our room was never serviced on Saturday. That's not the end of the world for us, as we never really need anything accept maybe to have the trash emptied and some fresh towels. And I am sure that someone would have come if I had called the front office, but I felt kind of sorry for the office manager that day - as she was actually trying to make up some of the rooms herself because she had no housekeeping staff! Don't let this dissuade you though! The place if kept very clean, and we had never had this happen before.

And the breakfast on the weekend is back to be being absolutely divine!! (It had gone a bit downhill under the previous folks who were running the place). But beware that the onsite breakfast is only served on the weekend now - during the week you get a voucher for a place in town, which is a bit inconvenient for those of us who like to eat breakfast in the comfort of our room with our house shoes on! But again, this is not enough to keep us from staying here during the week.

And you can't beat the location if you want to walk the downtown area of Frederisksburg - it's only a block to Main Street.

We do love this place, and we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelsinn, Owner at Angels Lodge Above the Creek, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your repeat business. It is very much appreciated and noteworthy. We do have a couple of rooms with walk in showers...room #5 and #11. Room #11 has an extra large walk-in shower and larger vanity than #5. When we bought this property...it was an existing building and at one time was a chocolate factory. We worked with what we could to utilize as much space as possible. While it is true that some vanities are smaller than others, it was what worked for that particular room. Each room has much of the same feel with slight twists. We are trying very hard and are dedicated to making on going improvements to our property. For one, the leaking roof has been a problem and is due to be hopefully, finally repaired this December. I also want to apologize about the housekeeping not getting to your room on Saturday during your stay. That is something that never should have happened and we regret your room being neglected. It is our hope that you do come back and we look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
837 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.4 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Lodge Above the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Lodge Above the Creek

Property: Angels Lodge Above the Creek
Address: 415 E Austin St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angel's Lodge above the Creek A Little Peace of Heaven, awaits you at Angel's Lodge above the Creek which is located only a block off Fredericksburg's Historic Main Street shopping district. Don't let it's location fool you.. Town Creek flows year round through the beautiful one and a half acre wooded grounds. Relax after a day of adventure in our Creek side pool. Let the Waterfall sooth your sense or retire to your private Jacuzzi tub. As evening approaches, plan for a sunset stroll to some of the best dinning and music the Hill Country has to offer. Back at your suite, feel free to light a fire and snuggle in the Comfort of luxurious linens of your King sixe bed. Mornings at Angel's Lodge are casual... Fresh Country Breakfast buffet is served on Weekends with our Executive Chef Robert. And Weekday Breakfast Vouchers are supplied for some of our Wonderful Area Restaurant's. A Coffee maker and Microwave is located in your Suite to enjoy at your leisure & Of course, Historic Downtown is Only steps away. Conveniently Located to so many wonderful Art Galleries, Museums, Restaurants, and Great shops. Our central location is ideal for not only exploring Fredericksburg but all of the treasured sites of the Texas Hill Country.. Enchanter Rock State Natural Area, the Texas Wine Country, Luckenbach, LBJ Ranch, Nimitz Museum and many more, all only minutes from our doorstep. Join us and experience the perfect blend of German Heritage and Texas Hospitality. Ownership managed effective April 1, 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angels Lodge Above The Creek Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing