We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but cold!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Angels Lodge Above the Creek
Ranked #9 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I'd like to start this review off by explaining that I did a lot of research before going to this bed and breakfast- I read reviews and such, which i found very helpful! My boyfriend and I were very excited about our stay and reserved room 13, "the Cherub Suit".

Upon arrival we were stunned by how beautiful the room and surrounding areas were. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the fire place was delightful and the bathroom looked VERY welcoming. I was sad to find that all was not as it seemed.

Our first night in, we were looking forward to taking advantage of the 2 person jucuzzi tub and over head rain shower. We we quickly put out by the fact that there was NO HOT WATER!!!!! Upset at this we both took quick cold showers and decided to visit the information center the next morning.

When morning arrived we went down for breakfast which was very nice- not much in the means of variety but it wasn't bad food. Then ready to go out and shop, we stopped in the information center to complain about the lack of hot water- and low and behold, no one was there. From what we gathered there is never any staff on site to assist you.

When we returned at noon- my boyfriend was determined to take a bath and once again we found no hot water. And we also realized that even though we had placed the "please clean room" sign on the outside of the door when we left, not much was really done to the room. The bed was made- and new towels were placed in the bathroom and that was all. The used coffee cups were not replaced, new coffee was not left, the bathtub was left in a mess, and the bedroom trash had not been emptied.

When we checked out at the main street bed and breakfast the next morning we spoke to the lady there about our stay and the problems we had encountered. She was very rude, and told us it was our own fault for not calling. She treated us as though we were no concern-

So all in all this place was beautiful but not worth the money spent. Nothing is worth cold showers and dirty rooms in my book!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caitlintlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 212 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2008

We were hesitant to stay but then realized we were being foolish to do so based on one review so we took a chance and booked a reservation. We did wait until the last minute as the hotel - and most other B&B's - have a reservation policy that you must cancel 10 days in advance or be charged for your entire stay. So we booked on a Monday for a Tuesday - Friday stay.

Our room was the Angel's Loft.

We thought the room was great! Nicely and tastefully decorated. Had a small ironing board, iron and hair dryer in the room along with a mini-fridge, 4-cup coffee machine and microwave. A wine tool & 2 wine glasses are left in the room to enjoy all those great TX wines. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice treat at the end of the day of wine tours, though at 4'11" a step stool in the bathroom would have been nice. There is an overhead shower as well but be careful as water does go everywhere. FYI, if you've never used a jacuzzi tub, a little bubble bath goes a long way.

Based on the other review we did check for cleanliness. The only dust we found was on top of the door frame of the front door. The ceiling fan, knick-knacks plants and ledges were all pristine.

We found directions on how to operate the jacuzzi tub in plain sight on the bathroom sink, we didn't have issues with a ring in the tub. There was also a sign explaining that housekeeping was only on site until noon, so if we didn't put the card on the door asking to have the room made... well it wasn't going to happen. No big deal for us we were up and out by 10:30 or so everyday. Most wineries close by 5 so you need to head out early.

The location is fine for walking about 1/2 of the town and you are closest to the Auslander Biergarten, Nimitz museum, and Tourist center to give you an idea of location. The hotel offers a exit from the "back" of the property onto the main street so you don't have as far of a walk.

A full breakfast was provided on Thursday & Friday AM of our stay and I believe it's offered through Sunday and was delivered directly to our room. Mon, Tues, Wed is a continental style that is only open until 9:30 so we missed that on Wednesday AM. Thursday, a breakfast burrito was a little salty for our taste, Friday a egg popover? was very good and plentiful. OJ was also provided.

My only negatives were - Housekeeping should clean up the coffee stain left after we had our morning coffee and refilled the regular creamer. Buy some plastic hangers for the closet and replace the bent dry cleaning wire hangers. A full length mirror in the bath would be nice as would be small chairs and table for the patio. A small loveseat, or bench in front of the bed to lounge on while your partner is in the bath, shower, toilet, would be more comfortable. (yes, space is limited in the room) A luggage rack in the closet that could be pulled out so we wouldn't have to sort through our things on the floor would be nice as well. A menu pre-printed or given on the day breakfast is served describing the main dish would be a nice touch.

All that being said we would definately stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family for a Monday - Friday stay. For those higher weekend rates, well the Devil is in the details.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scales18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed here over Valentines weekend. I found the place using Google and was enthused that I'd get a good rate for Thursday for the suite called Angelic Bride.

You get your keys at an office a block or so away from the lodge. There are not employees at the lodge at all times and none at night. A housekeeper comes once a day, and there is a management type named Penny who we saw only briefly one day.

The location is great - one block off Main street easy walking distance to many restaurants and most all of the touristy shops.

The website is pretty accurate in it's depiction - we wanted a fireplce in our room and this place had a great big fireplace.
They provide wood and firestarters, but they don't bother splitting the wood for you which is a bit of a problem in trying to get the huge pieces started. The decor was very much Texas Hill Country - rustic and fun. The bath tub was great, but they don't bother giving you any info on how to start the whirlpool which took us a while to figure out.

One problem with this room in particular is that the bed is upstairs and there is no toilet so you might have to negotiate an unfamiliar spiral staircase in the middle of the night.
On weekdays, they give you breakfast in your room. We were very surprised - it was terrific. On the weekend, they open a little breakfast room and it's nowhere near as good.

Here's my chief complaint - the place seemed like it hadn't had a thorough cleaning in a year. It was like the housekeeper would do the very minimum and move on to the next one. There was dust that looked very old anywhere that wasn't going to be touched through normal use. And the tub (perhaps it hadn't been used in a while) it looked clean, but when we used it with bubble bath, you cold see the nastiest ring forming and when we drained it, it was perfectly disgusting. All of the dust was floating up on the bubbles.
So there we were cleaning it out the next day because the housekeeper evidently makes her rounds and if your "do not disturb" is out, you're SOL. We didn't leave the room 'til about noon and had to call the office for new towels when we returned at 5 - the housekeeper hadn't checked back.
They either need a new housekeeper, or they need to train her better.
Would I stay again? If I did, I'd call management before I did to make sure the place got a good scrubbin'

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robg9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelsinn, Manager at Angels Lodge Above the Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2008

Our guests are top priority at Angels Lodge! We are committed to quality staff and the utmost level of attention to the pristine conditions of our suites. We think you will find our changes most satisfying.

Each suite is unique in design and decor. The luxury of materials, from granite kitchens to Ralph Lauren linens, is designed to ensure your stay is a pampered experience.
Please note, however, that privacy and solitude is paramount at Angels Lodge. We are not a chain hotel. Our guests prefer having their needs met without constant intrusion of 'rumbling maid carts'.

Let our expert staff make your stay at Angels Above the Creek Lodge your vacation home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 82 in Fredericksburg
888 reviews
9.2 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 82 in Fredericksburg
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angels Lodge Above the Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angels Lodge Above the Creek

Address: 415 E Austin St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angel's Lodge above the Creek A Little Peace of Heaven, awaits you at Angel's Lodge above the Creek which is located only a block off Fredericksburg's Historic Main Street shopping district. Don't let it's location fool you.. Town Creek flows year round through the beautiful one and a half acre wooded grounds. Relax after a day of adventure in our Creek side pool. Let the Waterfall sooth your sense or retire to your private Jacuzzi tub. As evening approaches, plan for a sunset stroll to some of the best dinning and music the Hill Country has to offer. Back at your suite, feel free to light a fire and snuggle in the Comfort of luxurious linens of your King sixe bed. Mornings at Angel's Lodge are casual... Fresh Country Breakfast buffet is served on Weekends with our Executive Chef Robert. And Weekday Breakfast Vouchers are supplied for some of our Wonderful Area Restaurant's. A Coffee maker and Microwave is located in your Suite to enjoy at your leisure & Of course, Historic Downtown is Only steps away. Conveniently Located to so many wonderful Art Galleries, Museums, Restaurants, and Great shops. Our central location is ideal for not only exploring Fredericksburg but all of the treasured sites of the Texas Hill Country.. Enchanter Rock State Natural Area, the Texas Wine Country, Luckenbach, LBJ Ranch, Nimitz Museum and many more, all only minutes from our doorstep. Join us and experience the perfect blend of German Heritage and Texas Hospitality. Ownership managed effective April 1, 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angels Lodge Above The Creek Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing