We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Rockbox Theater

Rockbox Theater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YOUR TICKET TO THE BRIGHTEST STARS Imagine seeing and hearing George Strait, Elvis Presley, Marilyn Monroe, Willie Nelson, The Eagles, and even The Beatles -- live, up-close in concert right here in Fredericksburg! The Rockbox Theater brings you an ever changing cast of world-class Tribute Artists in an intimate setting with state of the art lighting and sound. Our unique variety of wholesome entertainment includes spot-on tributes to Alan Jackson, Rod Stewart, Brooks & Dunn, The Rolling Stones, Aretha Franklin, Buddy Holly, Johnny Cash, Elton John, Reba McEntire, Neil Diamond, Shania Twain and many more! We're Texas Hill Country's premier live music theater located just 99 steps off historic Main Street in Fredericksburg, Texas.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The theater was well designed, roomy, clean! The show, Pure Platinum, was fun, well produced and the performers extremely talented and comfortable with a close audience and small venue. We can't wait to return!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boernetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    66
    32
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yoakum
1 review
“A place that makes me feel like a teenager again!!!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My Husband and I started to going to the Rockbox with our dear friends about 3 1/2 years ago. We always had a blast. Since then my husband has passed away but I still go with the same dear couple and we have added more to our group. The shows just transport you back to your teenage years and it makes us old folks feel young again!!! Just went to the Pure Platinum show Sat. Night, Aug. 16 and had a blast!!! Can't wait to go back. I highly recommend this venue to everyone I talk to. Go experience it for yourself and be prepared to have a great time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nonnie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda H, Front Office Manager at Rockbox Theater, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Nonnie1953:

We are so glad that you had a blast! The Pure Platinum show is really good. It had the best variety of songs that we all remember. It takes you back and revive those great memories of days gone by. Thank you for the sweet review. We appreciate your thoughtfulness. Please come back and see all the wonderful things we have in store for the fall/winter.

Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun time”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have been walking by the Rockbox for years and never ventured in. This time we were staying at the Sugarberry Inn just across the street and dropped in to see what it was all about. We bought tickets for that evenings performance of "Platinum". It was so much fun. The singers had really good voices and presentation, think Broadway style. The venue was comfortable and the sound quality was good. The band was really good, especially the lead guitar who just before intermission did a couple of George Strait songs, almost as good as George did them. Great place to take a family, no beer or wine but some really good cookies at the intermission. We are definitely going to make this a regular stop on our trips to Fredericksburg. The price for value is really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda H, Front Office Manager at Rockbox Theater, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ronald B:

Thank you so much for the 5 stars! It's nice to hear that you will be coming back to see us when your in the area. We have so many great things coming up. The lead guitar band member that you mentioned is a very good "George Strait". So, starting Sept. 12 until Nov. 22nd we will be having a "George & Friends Variety Show". This show will have our own tribute to George Strait along with other tribute 'friends' that will be joining him. This is going to be a 'must see'. There will be tribute celebrity performers that you would never see together anywhere but here. Also, Rockbox Christmas Celebration show will be a show stopper!! : D See you again.

Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
901 reviews
243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“George Strait & Friends”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this show. It was opening night and it was a packed/sold out house. We had been to this theater once before to see Boots & Roots and the show was okay but this performance of George Strait & Friends was much better. The entertainers dressed the parts and performed them too! If you are short, might be obstructed by taller people especially in the back rows. The theatre is smaller, seating only 300 or so people, but it is clean and well kept. It is located right off the main street and close to shopping and eateries. The only concessions I think they sell are baked cookies, water and soda pops. I've not bought any but lots of people seem to enjoy the cookies. No alcoholic beverages sold that I saw. They will be presenting another series of George & Friends from Sept. to Nov. and we just may go back and see who else they entertain us with. If you are looking for some fun, light-hearted entertainment then give them a try. They do other performances through the year. You can book online or call. The show lasted about 2 1/2 hours which including about a 20 min. break. The bathrooms were nice and clean.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda H, Front Office Manager at Rockbox Theater, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear LAH28:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. The George & Friends show was a blast! You were right, we are going to be running the "George & Friends Variety Show" from Sept. 12 until Nov. 22nd. George will be hosting a wide variety of 'friends'. It is going to be so fun to see who will be here!! After that we start our Christmas and New Years shows. Lots of great things going on here at the Rockbox. Please come back and see us again, soon.

Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not The Same / Just Average Now”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Six years of going to the Rockbox. We have always enjoyed the shows and encouraged everyone we know to go to the Rock Box and see this amazing talent! Things have changed though. None of the old cast was there! Don't know what happened to everyone...but they are gone! The new "Boots and Roots" show is good, but does not compare to the talent, the performers, the music, and shows of the past. Not sure I would go back, or suggest this venue to anyone at this point, since it is just an average show now. Just couldn't say "wow" to any of it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xpressions2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda H, Front Office Manager at Rockbox Theater, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Xpressions2004:

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the show. As you know we strive to source the best talent and productions possible to keep an extremely high standard of entertainment for those visiting Fredericksburg. The cast you saw perform Boots n' Roots were hand selected from the stages of Las Vegas, New York, Austin and even Fredericksburg. We are very proud of this show and we are sad that you did not enjoy it. As you know, our shows change frequently so there may be something in the future that you would really like. Please come back again and try us again.

Lynda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockbox Theater also viewed

 

Been to Rockbox Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing