We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great museum”

National Museum of the Pacific War
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.99*
and up
San Antonio Haunted Legends Segway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Formerly the Nimitz Museum, the complex is now America's only museum centered on World War II's Pacific campaign. Since 1968, the Museum has expanded to occupy a six-acre campus and gained a reputation as one of the premier military museums in the nation. Over the years the Museum was upgraded and enlarged, and the campus grew to accommodate the Memorial Courtyard, the Plaza of Presidents and the Japanese Garden of Peace. We opened the expanded George H. W. Bush Gallery in 2009. The Gallery's state-of-the-art 33,000 square foot exhibition features 40 media installations, approximately 900 artifacts in 97 climate-controlled cases, 15 macro-artifacts, and hundreds of photographs. Two blocks east of the main campus is the Pacific Combat Zone. Recently reopened after an $8 million renovation. The PCZ is also home to our popular WWII Pacific Combat Program that takes place on set weekends throughout the year.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

to much to see and absorb in just one day, must go back for more

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scottsdale_azStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,908
    223
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This non-war/history fan was truly impressed by the museum! While this is not a kid oriented museum, ours (5 and 8) remained interested. There is an outdoor component that will break up the visit for the kids to stretch their legs. Amazing historical display that is well presented! Would recommend that 6+ kids would think some of it was "pretty cool". warning though that it is a bit pricey however your "pass" is good for 48 hours. didn't even see 1/4 off it in our pre-lunch visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cdngirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best war museum that I've been too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The museum is a large state-of-the-art expansion to the old former site of the Nimitz Hotel (Admiral Nimity was born across the street. It has lots of war artifacts including a full size fighter plane; weapons; and military field equipment. The gardens are well manicured with rows of flowers and hundreds of memorial plaques set into the stone fences.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank donauschwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“War Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

especially for veterans is very interesting. I have always liked visiting Nimitz and the Japanese Gardens but this is a great addition. We also liked the Viet Nam Wall! We are lucky to have this in our area....

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Davis, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Save lots of time for this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is a very good museum of the War in the Pacific, starting with exhibits of pre-war conditions in the world, through Pearl Harbour and exhibits for every island battle on the way to victory. Excellent!! Allow lots of time. They give you a ticket that's good for 48 hours. We were there for 3 hours and only got through to 1943 island hopping. Just a wonderful museum.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob79734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of the Pacific War also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of the Pacific War? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing