We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take at least a whole day”

National Museum of the Pacific War
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.33*
and up
Hill Country Magic Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Formerly the Nimitz Museum, the complex is now America's only museum centered on World War II's Pacific campaign. Since 1968, the Museum has expanded to occupy a six-acre campus and gained a reputation as one of the premier military museums in the nation. Over the years the Museum was upgraded and enlarged, and the campus grew to accommodate the Memorial Courtyard, the Plaza of Presidents and the Japanese Garden of Peace. We opened the expanded George H. W. Bush Gallery in 2009. The Gallery's state-of-the-art 33,000 square foot exhibition features 40 media installations, approximately 900 artifacts in 97 climate-controlled cases, 15 macro-artifacts, and hundreds of photographs. Two blocks east of the main campus is the Pacific Combat Zone. Recently reopened after an $8 million renovation. The PCZ is also home to our popular WWII Pacific Combat Program that takes place on set weekends throughout the year.
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Take at least a whole day”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Fantastically well arranged. Inside and out very very interesting especially for someone like my pal and I who are military historians.Very well laid out. Very good standard of exhibits. Visit the living history outdoors if you can!! Highly recommended as one of the best museums of its type that I have visited .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank borak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,982
    230
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A national treasure...and a real Flame Thrower demonstration !”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I had the pleasure to tour the museum with my grandparents, a WWII veteran who served in the pacific. The museum was full of memorabilia that took my grandfather back to the pacific. He drove LTV's and served on Destroyers while fighting the imperial Japanese military in the pacific. the PT boat and its mock pacific setting was fantastic and gave you an idea of what they would look like in the environment that they were deployed. The tour guides were veterans with great knowledge and experiences that they share with you. I enjoyed standing in the belly of a buffalo transport the king of beach breaching! The sheer size of the Buffalo and many of the other WWII artifacts staged in combat ready position leave you with a new respect for the veterans and what hell they went through for our freedom. The demonstration of the BAR and a working flame thrower put the experience over the top and turned up the heat. The actors were engaging and some crowd participation added to the whole event. This museum is worth the time, and the staff gives this museum life!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tacticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, much to my surprise!”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I'm not a big war buff; at least I didn't think so. Was "dragged" in by friends, and was absolutely fascinated!! This museum is beautifully and creatively done. I will bring guests there as often as possible.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank shalsey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Modern Museum for the Greatest Generation”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Who would have thought you would find the national museum for the Pacific War in the middle of Texas Hill Country? We visited the various National/Smithsonian museums in Washington DC earlier in the summer, and you would have thought this Fredericksburg gem was in DC!! Great modern multimedia displays will keep the attention of ANY visitor! Also the balance of the displays was a welcome site... From the back story of the conflicts between Japan, China, and Russia in the 1800s leading up to WWII, to the Japanese internment camps during the war, and then an account of every campaign in the Pacific in the war with recorded accounts from some of those who experienced them - all moving, thought provoking, and appropriate tributes in them all.

Do NOT skip this if you're even near Fredericksburg, and/or can make the diversion up from San Antonio or Austin!!

Helpful?
Thank R_C_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well organized”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

It takes a lot of time to view the museum. I suggest you take advantage of the audio. It is a lot of reading.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CiciDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of the Pacific War also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of the Pacific War? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing