We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Ranch Resort - Best of everything!! Don't miss out!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bunkhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“River Ranch Resort - Best of everything!! Don't miss out!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My wife and I visited on our anniversary and had an outstanding experience. We planned on doing many things in town but once at the RRR Silo we stayed to enjoy the property. The animals are great (it's like living on a farm years ago). Bring your kids and they will have the time of their lives or bring your spouse for a truly outstanding stay!! We will be going back very soon. BC

Room Tip: The Silo is very unique and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank crutcher002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have a group of girl friends and we return to BUNK house every fall/ November for girls trip! We have been coming here for years and absolutely LOVE/adore the place we stay as well as the owners! It is also awesome for family fun!!! Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Very welcoming host and lots of room to roam around for our 2 year old boy. Bunkhouse is very spacious and atmospheric, and the setting is relaxing yet just a couple of miles from town. We really enjoyed meeting the ranch animals and the outdoor fire pit. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GavinRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the Bunkhouse at the River Ranch Resort. We absolutley loved it. It was one of the highlights of our tour of Texas, if not the highlight. Smitty and Natalie are really friendly and really helpful. Smitty came each night and lit the fire pit for us. They supplied us with goodies for 'Smores' and also made some texas chilli poppers for us to cook on the fire.
They have a dog called Boots who became our companion for the stay, which was quite a surprise as my wife is scared of dogs but loved Boots. They have an array of animals which are all tame and can be fed with carrots etc.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geordies_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Oh my gosh!!!!!!!!!! It was so much fun staying at the River Road Ranch. The Bunkhouse was wonderful and we loved the great variety of food. P E R F E C T... even fresh eggs. It was also great having two huge bathrooms.

We loved all the old timey wagons and equipment. My husband especially loved the old cars. Everywhere you look you'll see something interesting that catches your eye.

One night my husband and I sat on the porch, played cards and had a glass of wine. Just the two of us and the two sweet donkeys standing next to me. It was a memorable sight.

I took so many pictures of all of the animals. I almost felt like Noah. Two donkeys - two horses - two baby goats - etc. following me. They are so tame and sweet.

We can't wait to go back and we've been telling our family and friends all about this wonderful place.

Fredericksburg was so much fun. We had wonderful German food and the shopping was great. You have to see the "Rockbox Theater's Live Show".

Smitty is the owner and such a sweet person. He made sure our stay was the best.

We'll be going back as often as possible.

The Hills' from Texas.....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ndmiller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We recently stayed at the River Road Bunkhouse in Fredricksburg with two families, which included two husbands, two sisters, three cousins, age 16,18,28. We had plans for all three days there. BUT no one even wanted to leave to go to the grocery store. Smitty the owner gave the "boys" gun safety lessons and let them have target practice which they absolutely loved. He also brought and placed in the morning fishing poles with baits for us. The girls rode bicycles on the country road. At night we had campfires with smores and super fantastic cookout with the local sausage from Fredricksburg. The best part of the whole thing was the animals. Smitty has the most loving animals I have ever experienced. As we are unloading our cars on the front yard was two horses, two donkey , two baby goats, The most wonderful dog "Boots". They all came up to us and the kids and welcomed us there. Boots was the guard dog and really "owns the place". We had so many memories from our three days there. Your kids will BEG to go back. Also he has a very romantic place called the "feed mill" that we took a peek at......Perfect for a couple....Thank you Smitty for the smores, antique jars, the wonderful tour of your property and spoiling us !!!!! Also his wife Natalie is a wonderful decorator. The Bunkhouse is such a treasure....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Love2vacation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KodakCat
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

May '09
My four long time college friends and I spent four nights at The Bunkhouse at the River Road Ranch where we had a wonderful time. The owners made a fire for us in the huge fire pit right outside our door and provided the goodies for Smores. A couple of times we even cooked hot dogs out there. Food is provided for do-it-yourself breakfast - fresh eggs to cook, bread, pastries, cereals, milk and juice. That was great for us because we could eat when ever we wanted to.
The porch is perfect for relaxing, day or night. There is much to do in the area - shopping, LBJ tour, Luckenbach, Wildseed Farms, a bat cave, Enchanted Rock, and lots of scenic backroads. Leave some time for just hanging out at the ranch.
The Bunkhouse is done in a fun rustic style, so don't expect frou-frou Victorian decorations and ruffles. We bought carrots and had a wonderful time feeding some of the very friendly animals. The donkeys hung out with us on the porch, and the horses also loved the carrots. We enjoyed the cats, dogs, alpaca, goats (well, not so much - ha!) and even the peacock. Bring your camera, because photo ops abound. Oh, and thanks for the jars, Smitty. Great hosts and accommodations. I definitely recommend The Bunkhouse and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KodakCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.0 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
833 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bunkhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bunkhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bunkhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9401 US Highway 380, Fredericksburg, TX
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Bunkhouse b&b
The Bunkhouse Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing