We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Truly loved staying here. Every dwelling is different, so it's possible some might not be as delightful as ours--the Von Heinrich home. It was roomy and comfortable with an amazing array of antique furniture. Having a fully equipped kitchen was especially nice. It was uniquely fun to stay in such an old house in such a bucolic setting. Beautiful live oak and pecan trees everywhere, sheep grazing in the yard, deer passing by in the evening. Really a magical place.

Room Tip: Von Heinrich was fantastic. Some places seem smaller, maybe not as comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipperxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was out 5th visit and we are trying out each cabin as we go! The charm is awesome and it is very peaceful, which is why we keep going back!!! Love that we can go to Fredericksburg, or drive down to Boerne or up the road to Llano, giving us a great taste of the Hill Country. This was for our anniversary and even though Fredericksburg was busy with Spring Break folks, it was still an amazing trip. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakeviewloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We booked a last minute weekend at Settlers Crossing B&B, (not your traditional B&B though) & were not disappointed. When we saw our cabin, the Kusenberger (built 1850) all I could say was "wow". It is a teeny tiny cabin (so if you want space & ultra modern amenities this is not for you) but has everything you need...including the most important, peace & tranquility.
The weekend turned out to be cold & rainy but when we got the fire burning it was bliss & we enjoyed every minute of it & only a short drive to Frederickburg for all the amenities. I originally wanted to stay in F'burg but I am so glad that we didn't.
Perhaps a couple of things could be improved on. It is advertised with 'continental breakfast delivered to your door". In fact 3 muffins were already in the cabin when we arrived...in a zip-lock bag..I didn't find this very appealing & not the best breakfast for such a highly rated b&b. I know that privacy to guests is one of the attractions but surely there are better ways to provide breakfast. This cabin is also advertised as having a jacuzzi tub with hand held shower. This was not the case, it is a fixed shower over a bathtub. Perhaps the info needs to be updated. We also found the bed to be a little small (more a double than a queen) & quite soft. However these things didn't distract too much from our stay as we still had a great time.
My advice is to sit back with a glass of wine, soak up the history & enjoy the setting. We wanted to stay longer. Oh & say 'hello' to Bob the dog.....& the donkey & the pony & the sheep & the deer...

Room Tip: The Kusenberger Cabin is for 2 only, very compact but has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DottyCazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My husband and I have been out here 4 times, and we love it more and more each time. Our goal is to stay in each cabin! We have referred many of our friends here and cannot say enough good things about this place. It is so unique and with so much history and feels great to sit back and relax. My children and I loved the donkeys, the kitchen in the Von Heinrich and the jacuzzi tub. We hope to be back for another trip soon. Thank you Mr. Estes for having such a great place to visit!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed in two bed room restored cabin built in the 1800's. My wife loved it. Sheep and Donkeys came around for breakfast. Never saw the owners, but Bob the dog was around. Great place to go for some tranquility.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I had heard of this place from my husbands work friend and we talked about going for years but with the kids it was hard to getaway. Now they are in college and my husband was turning fifty and it was our anniversary so I thought it would be the best surprise. We loved it!! We stayed in the barn and it was clean and comfy. We liked coming in to our own getaway each day. We actually liked the pastries that were delivered and shared them every morning, it was the perfect amount. Every evening we walked the trail saw dear, sheep, donkeys and sat on the sunset swing and just talked and enjoyed the peace and quiet. We loved it, just wish it was a little closer. For being original buildings, no bugs, very clean, peaceful and romantic can't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texcsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was our first visit to Settlers Crossing, but will not be our last. I plan on booking for our anniversary today. It was quaint, rustic and utterly charming. The surrounding property was great for strolling and exploring. We loved the donkeys, sheep and friendly dogs. It was close to Fredericksburg but far enough away to get the peaceful feeling of country living. David, our host, was very friendly and agreeable. We would recommend to friends and family!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
5.6 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
862 reviews
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 82 in Fredericksburg
888 reviews
5.6 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 82 in Fredericksburg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
155 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
3.7 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#13 of 82 in Fredericksburg
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Settlers Crossing Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7451
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £97 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Bed and Breakfast offers guest houses with history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Settlers Crossing b&b
Settlers Crossing Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing