We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, outstanding value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was an excellent B&B that the missus and I have stayed at a few times before. This was the first time in the Indiana House. Always spotless and easy to live in, it's just a few minutes drive from Fredericksburg. The site is well maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to travel to the area.
Sincerely,
Paul & Shirley C.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulC127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I don't know how I missed reviewing this wonderful place on previous stays. My wife her sister and a friend stayed there the first time in 2008 in the Indiana House and they loved it. There is no sit down breakfast like some B&B but they bring you cinnamon rolls, muffins and danish every afternoon for the next morning breakfast. You also have milk and juice in the fridge. Since that first visit our family has stayed there 5 times. My wife and I stayed in the Indiana House and the Kusenberger Barn. We have also stayed in the Indiana House and the Kusenberger Barn with our Daughter-in-law and our Granddaughter. Our Granddaughter was 6 when she visited the first time and she loved all the animals. The owners had a new puppy named "Bob" the first time she went with us and they were constant companions. Our Granddaughter loves feeding the horse and both donkeys carrots out of her hand. This last visit July 2-6 this year(2014) we stayed in the Pioneer Cabin for the first time. On this stay my wife and I and our Son, Daughter-in-law and Granddaughter made the trip. This cabin is a 3 bdrm with full kitchen nice bathroom with plenty of big fluffy towels as do all the cabins and a wonderful front porch that runs the full length of the cabin complete with 5 rockers and a swing. I have wanted to sit on this porch since I first saw it. Everyone loved it every time we stayed at Settlers Crossing. The place is all ways clean well maintained and thoroughly relaxing. The owners David and Melissa Estes live in a restored home on the property and could not be nicer or more accommodating. You will love the sheep, horse and donkeys that live there and the deer that roam through the property. If you want a place that is away from the hustle and bustle of the city and where you can actually see the stars at night you cannot beat this place. By the way "Bob" the dog has grown up and now has a companion Lab named Layla. They are the sweetest dogs and our Granddaughter now 12, has 2 companions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This little enclave is a great find. Several charming old houses, some original to the land, some brought in. Great details, with antique furniture and decorative items. Each different. We stayed in the "pioneer house", one with 3 bedrooms, sitting room, small kitchen,and a modern bathroom with shower -- a great porch with rocking chairs and a busy group of hummingbirds. The grounds are well maintained. There were free roaming sheep, walking trails, and great quiet "nature" time. Close to Fredericksburg. They provided pastries in your kitchen for breakfast, and had coffee, with milk in the fridge. Great, private getaway spot. Fireplaces for winter use. Entry to the property was hard to find--just a small street sign, no "property" signage--difficult to see especially at night. The owner, Dave, is very helpful and personable. We'll be back.

Room Tip: All the houses are different, ask about size of "common" space and if bedrooms are upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank definiteopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family and I stayed here after friends of ours had recommended it. It's a great place for a romantic getaway or to just bring family with you. You have nice walking paths and great scenery. All homes are well separated as can be seen from photos. The home we stayed was nicely decorated and fully furnished, full kitchen, stocked with milk and juice as well.
The only thing that I was not too crazy about was the lack of a shower. You have a shower wand, but if you're not careful you'll make a big mess. Basically, you either bathe or hover low to rinse yourself of soap.
Daily, you get an assortment of sweet breads which come in handy when wanting to have your morning coffee out on the back porch that's got a trellis covered with grape vines I believe. Makes for nice shade.
The one thing my 7 year old really enjoyed was watching and feeding the sheep and donkey that roam the grounds.
If you've never been out to this area you may need a gps to locate it because the entry to the grounds can be a bit difficult to find and there is no clear marker.
As a whole, I'd recommend this place for couples and family alike.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southtexastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This isn't your normal B& B. You have your own house and there are several homes to choose from. We chose The Indiana house, a house built by German's in Indiana in the 1800's. It was small but had two bedrooms, the master has a queen bed and the guest room a double. Germans in the 1800's must have been tiny people and we are "Long Tall Texans" so really didn't fit very well. This particular house was the close to the highway so there was some highway noise. I would probably try a different house next time for those two reasons. It is a charming little house, though.

The grounds are beautiful and very peaceful and in fact was my favorite part of our weekend getaway. They have a beautiful little walking path (about a mile around) and you will see goats, a horse, a donkey and many deer. I spent many hours just sitting on our little patio reading a book, sipping wine and listening and watching beautiful birds.

The Breakfast part of the package is minimal. The proprietors deliver sweet rolls or muffins each afternoon for the next morning. Each house has a little kitchen with a coffee pot, coffee, cream and any other necessities.

Another unique part of this B&B is that you never see...anyone. The key to your house is under the mat when you arrive and then when you leave you just lock up and place the key under the mat. I saw several families there staying in one of the larger houses so it is "little kid" friendly!

If you are looking for the Four Seasons then this is not the place for you. It is charming and peaceful and like stepping back in time but isn't luxurious and you aren't pampered by a staff.

This property is 5 miles out of Fredericksburg and a very easy drive into the town. You will love this little charming town!

If you need a break from the general challenge of life then this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank texas1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Settlers Crossing for our 1st anniversary last fall. My husband picked the Kusenberger Barn to stay in since it is original to the property. We enjoyed walking around the property and sitting outside on the patio. Our only dislikes were with the bathroom of the barn. The jaccuzi tub is very narrow, hard to get in and out of, and when you use the hand held shower, because it is difficult to move while seated in the tub, you make a wet mess everywhere. We aren't super skinny but not large people and we definitely aren't old. The tub is just really small. Also there are uncovered windows in the bathroom. Nobody came by but they face the driveway. (Husband did enjoy scaring me though.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aggiebobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This property has several buildings so you can choose which is best suited for you and your needs. We stayed in the Kusenberger Cabin which is the oldest and is original to the property. It was built in 1850 and it's very authentic inside. This cabin was perfect for 2 people. It was very private and quite comfortable. (The owner has upgraded modern conveniences without taking away from the historic authenticity of the property). However, because of the age of the building the ceilings and doorways are quite low. Doorways are probably about 5'8" and the ceilings are probably on about 6'0. That might be a drawback for some. The only other possible drawback is that the breakfast is not a full hot breakfast. It's several fresh pastries that are wonderful, along with a mini kitchen stocked with coffee, milk, tea, hot chocolate, OJ, popcorn and oatmeal.

The property is located just about 5 miles East of Fredericksburg and only 1/2 mile off of Hwy 290. It's very conveniently located to see Fredericksburg, Luckenbach and many wineries along Hwy 290 to Stonewall.

The grounds are quiet and comfortable and a lot quieter than the B&B's in town above shops along the main drag. I will definitely plan on booking here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txsoccerref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
5.6 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#10 of 82 in Fredericksburg
61 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
146 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 82 in Fredericksburg
887 reviews
3.7 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#13 of 82 in Fredericksburg
141 reviews
5.6 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Settlers Crossing Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7451
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £102 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Bed and Breakfast offers guest houses with history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Settlers Crossing b&b
Settlers Crossing Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing